We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy inn outside of Gardiner.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We selected this inn based on TripAdvisor reviews/ratings and glad we did. It is 5 miles from Gardiner and well worth being away from the mass of tourists who exit Yellowstone and stay in town. The place is well maintained and nicely decorated. We stayed in the La Duke room and it had plenty of room to spread out luggage and move around. Breakfast is offered in the house next door which had a nice layout with a beautiful open kitchen, plenty of seating and great views. They strive to provide fresh, organic food which was very tasty. Each morning they offered a hot item such as a breakfast casserole along with homemade muffins/scones plus the usual continental breakfast fare. The owner Greg makes himself available to answer questions and help plan your day. He is very knowledgeable of the local area and Yellowstone. We would definitely stay here again and strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_RAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 729 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for three nights and felt that we had made an excellent choice. The room was top quality with two very comfortable beds and an excellent bathroom. The breakfast was freshly cooked and was of a high quality. Each morning we went through our itinerary with Greg and he provided excellent and very detailed advice on where to stop and what we could expect to see. On all three days we found this service to be invaluable and really made our visit to Yellowstone so good. The Inn is situated a little way out of Gardiner but it only takes a few minutes to drive. There is an excellent restaurant, which we used on two occasions, a bit further up the road (The Lighthouse) so it is not necessary to drive back to Gardiner for an evening meal. If we make it back to Yellowstone we would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeLBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked this inn through bed&breakfast.com and were pleasnatly surprised. Although almost 5 miles from town (tricky when you arrive after dark), once we got there it was easy. Greg was friendly and helpful and our room was HUGE. The view was amazing and breakfast was quite good, with the opportunity to visit with other travelers. The best part was how close it was to the North Entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Of course, the fact that we had a Senior pass and could make multiple entries without charge added to the convenience.

Room Tip: Greg will teach calf roping, if you'd like:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy11Owensboro_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in mid-September and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Our room was very clean and cozy with a rustic log bed. The views right outside your window are spectacular! Wonderful, homemade, organic breakfast each morning. Far enough outside Gardiner to be quiet, but close enough to be convenient to the North Entrance of Yellowstone. The hosts, Greg and Sabina, were warm and welcoming. Greg was a fantastic source of information and gave us great suggestions about what to do in the park and where to eat in town. DO NOT miss driving towards Lamar Valley at sunrise....at Greg's suggestion, we saw some amazing wildlife. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our suite was large and very comfortable. The separate living room with kitchen was an added treat. The bathtub was the largest I have ever seen. What ever you want Greg was there to take care of you. The lunch they made for us to take into Yellowstone was good, particularly those cookies and it was packed with an ice pack to keep it fresh. Greg goes out of his way to provide any advice on where to go and what to do and he marks it on the map and gives detailed explanations of how to get the most out of each site in Yellowstone. We are glad we chose Yellowstone Basin Inn for two nights. I usually find something to "improve on" but in this case I am having trouble recommending any improvements. Here is one - At the price charged we do feel that the decorating and furnishings could be upgraded to a higher class western style.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Yellowstone Basin Inn. The location, just north of Gardiner was perfect for our visit to Yellowstone. Our room (Ridin' High) was comfortable, clean and expansive. We savored Montana's Big Sky as we soaked in the hot tub the first evening. A home-made breakfast got us off to a good start each morning. The best amenity offered by the Inn is undoubtedly Greg's travel advice. Both evenings he sat with us and helped us plan the next day's visit to the park. Given our limited time, that advice helped us to efficiently see and do the things we wanted. His restaurant recommendations were spot on as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Yellowstone Basin Inn in Gardiner, MT for two nights in mid-September, but certainly wish we could have stayed longer. Immediately upon our arrival, Greg, the innkeeper, extended his hand for a welcoming handshake. Not only did Greg recommend restaurants in Gardiner, but he was eager to share tales of his special experiences in Yellowstone to help us create our own . . . from where to watch wolves to which trails to hike. The morning that my husband and I ventured early to the Lamar Valley, Greg insisted that he would hold our breakfast if we decided to return after breakfast hours. And, the organic breakfast was delicious and served in the next door house, with expansive views of the mountains across the River. Our "Riverview" room was complete with a vaulted ceiling, skylight, writing desk, private bathroom, fine toiletries, guest book, satellite television, and comfortable bed. The Inn is about 5 to 10 minutes north of Gardiner, and only about 10 minutes from the north entrance to the park. During our stay, it was evident that Greg and his wife take great pride in operating a distinguished, unique, personable, and memorable inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PisgahForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gardiner hotels
4.4 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
4.5 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#2 of 6 in Gardiner
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
4.5 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.2 mi away
Dreamcatcher Tipi Hotel
Dreamcatcher Tipi Hotel
#1 of 17 in Gardiner
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Basin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Basin Inn

Address: 4 Maiden Basin Drive, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range: $107 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Basin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run Inn just a few miles north of Yellowstone and Gardiner, MT. Our first priority is to welcome you as friends and help you have an unforgettable Yellowstone experience. Comfortable, clean and inviting rooms with quiet, scenic mountain views and wild animals roaming freely. We have earned TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence for 7 consecutive years. Enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet: homemade from scratch using local, sustainable and/or organic foods. Our Inn is smoke-free and pet-free. One-on-one personal Yellowstone itinerary planning included in your stay. We are earth friendly with natural laundry soap and cleaning products, sustainable bamboo towels, eco-harvested furniture and recycling. We are active in the local community to help keep the Yellowstone ecosystem loved, cared for, protected and valued. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Basin Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing