We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Yellowstone Basin Inn. The location, just north of Gardiner was perfect for our visit to Yellowstone. Our room (Ridin' High) was comfortable, clean and expansive. We savored Montana's Big Sky as we soaked in the hot tub the first evening. A home-made breakfast got us off to a good start each morning. The best amenity offered by the Inn is undoubtedly Greg's travel advice. Both evenings he sat with us and helped us plan the next day's visit to the park. Given our limited time, that advice helped us to efficiently see and do the things we wanted. His restaurant recommendations were spot on as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 725 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Yellowstone Basin Inn in Gardiner, MT for two nights in mid-September, but certainly wish we could have stayed longer. Immediately upon our arrival, Greg, the innkeeper, extended his hand for a welcoming handshake. Not only did Greg recommend restaurants in Gardiner, but he was eager to share tales of his special experiences in Yellowstone to help us create our own . . . from where to watch wolves to which trails to hike. The morning that my husband and I ventured early to the Lamar Valley, Greg insisted that he would hold our breakfast if we decided to return after breakfast hours. And, the organic breakfast was delicious and served in the next door house, with expansive views of the mountains across the River. Our "Riverview" room was complete with a vaulted ceiling, skylight, writing desk, private bathroom, fine toiletries, guest book, satellite television, and comfortable bed. The Inn is about 5 to 10 minutes north of Gardiner, and only about 10 minutes from the north entrance to the park. During our stay, it was evident that Greg and his wife take great pride in operating a distinguished, unique, personable, and memorable inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PisgahForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were here for 3 nights as we explored Yellowstone. What a wonderful place--truly a gem. We were made to feel welcome from the beginning. The room was very clean. The location was quiet, making for a good nights rest. Greg was very knowledgeable in helping us plan our visit to the Park. The breakfast prepared by Jean each morning was not the usual hotel breakfast but homemade and very tasty. She greeted us each morning with a smile. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormaRae03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We found the room very nice! There was plenty of room for 3 of us. I was traveling w/ my brother (54) and mother (79). Greg (Owner) was very nice. Loved the breakfast in the morning. It was easy access into the park and loved the restraunt he recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greghou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Everything from first class accomodations to friendly host and excellent home cooked breakfast made this a plus for our trip. It was close to the north entrance of the park but away from the crowds. Nice to have AC, a beautiful vista and a quiet and secure place to return to each day after exploring different areas of Yellowstone. The host was helpful with tips about the park and good places to eat in the area. Luxury in the midst of the wilderness.

Room Tip: We were traveling with another couple and rented the two bedroom, 2 bath unit with kitchen, living r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank housphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our two night stay. In fact we stayed here eight years ago. We spied the Inn as we were nearing Yellowstone and decided to give it a try again. The owners were welcoming and very helpful.The room was spacious and comfy. The decore was interesting. I wondered whether the fishing pole could be used. The breakfasts were superb home cooking. Thanks for helping to make our trip fun. guests from Ontario.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights here and choose it largely because of trip advisor comments. It was a great place just a few miles from the north entrance of Yellowstone. From the minute we drove up we were instantly made to feel right at home. The rooms were spotless, roomy and very comfortable. A home cooked breakfast was included and they were very accommodating with special requests. They had an in depth knowledge of the park, road closures, suggested routes, recommended restaurants, etc. overall a very pleasant experience and certainly a place I recommend.

Room Tip: Bring your bathing suit, no pool or fitness center but a wonderful outdoor hot tub with amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
4.3 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,065 reviews
4.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
374 reviews
4.8 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Basin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Basin Inn

Address: 4 Maiden Basin Drive, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range: $107 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Basin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run Inn just a few miles north of Gardiner. Our first priority is to welcome you as friends and help you have an unforgettable Yellowstone experience. Comfortable, clean and inviting rooms. This is the Yellowstone you came to see: quiet, scenic mountain views, with wild animals roaming freely. •Enjoy our complimentary hot local/organic breakfast buffet May-Oct. •One-on-one personal Yellowstone itinerary planning included. •Smoke-free and pet-free property •Certificates of Excellence 2011-2016 •Free Wifi, HDTV, private bath, air-conditioning. •Some kitchenettes and full kitchens • Incredible views of the park • Porch with bistro tables/rockers (May-Oct) • Free calf roping lessons on the front lawn (May-Oct) •We make green choices: We recycle. We use earth-friendly laundry soap and natural cleaning products. Free organic toiletries in room. Duvet-style bedding for extra cleanliness. Sustainable bamboo towels. Eco-harvested Made in Montana log furniture. We are active in our local area to help keep the Yellowstone ecosystem loved, cared for, protected and valued. Savor your time with us: Relax and watch a mountain sunset. Calf roping (lassoing) with the owner right in our front yard. Tell stories to other guests on the front porch and listen to theirs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Yellowstone Basin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Basin Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing