We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nestled by the Yellowstone River just minutes to park entrance.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This accommodation was perfect for us. Located on the banks of the Yellowstone River it is within a very short walking distance to downtown Gardiner with restaurants and shops. Less than a five minute drive to the north entrance to the park as well. Our unit had a kitchenette, two queen beds and a sitting area. We could walk out our door and sit viewing the river. On the down side, there is not an elevator so lots of steps to carry luggage if you are not on the ground floor. This is not a fancy place, but a great value as well as a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for the kind review and we appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 339 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have now stayed at this motel twice in the past two years. It is very clean. There is a nice individual outside deck. It is a short distance from restaurants. Love the sound of the river.
Only thing lacking is a hot tub!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for the kind review and the repeat business. Look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location on the river and proximity to Yellowstone National Park. It was clean and the views were beautiful from the porch right off our room. Loved hearing the river at night, very peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott and Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in August in a kitchen unit. The unit was very clean and the staff was very friendly. An excellent value right on the river! Kept all the windows open at night and fell asleep to the sound of the river.....never heard any noise from any other guests during our entire stay. I selected the Absaroka Lodge based on Tripadvisor reviews and I am very glad that I did! I found it to be very affordable compared to every other hotel in town----combine that with cleanliness, the quiet setting, and the extremely convenient location to Yellowstone and you just can't beat this hotel! This was our first trip to Yellowstone and when we return we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheGoFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We really strive to make sure every guest that stays with us has an awesome experience. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night in order to catch our wildSide LLC wildlife tour at 5:30 AM. The hotel is laid back, clean and well cared for. The town was very pleasant despite being extremely small. Our room was a nice size and had a hair dryer (upon request) and a coffee maker. Hearing the river running during the night was extremely pleasant.
The original park arch and entrance is in Gardiner and the hotel was about 4 minutes from there. the National Park Foundation had a visitor center in the town and there were several very nice places to eat. We tried to get a donut to go with our coffee in the morning but there was no bakery in the town. This is also a great place to stay if coming into the park in the winter as the roads at this end I believe are open . Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We appreciate your kind review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Where a lot of the other hotels in town have decided to raise there rates to close to $200 a night we've decided to keep ours affordable with clean rooms, great service and the best location in town. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We chose this because of the beautiful pictures we saw of it online. I was expecting it to be kind of fancy, but it is actually a motel with very small, plain, but clean rooms. The balcony view is breathtakingly gorgeous--Yellowstone River rushing by and snow-capped mountains as a backdrop. Wow, the view and location make this place. The manager was pleasant and helpful. Definitely the best place to stay in Gardiner to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and the kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge because our favorite lodging at the Best Western was over $225 a night compared to the $135 for this property, was out of our budget for this trip. The lodge is located right outside the northern most entrance of Yellowstone National Park providing easy access to the park. Except for the fact that we had to climb one and a half flight of stairs to our top floor room, it was an excellent choice. The double queen bed room was small but clean and comfortable. The balcony with its view of the Yellowstone River and surrounding mountains was the best feature.

Room Tip: No matter where your room is located you must first go down some steps. Ice machine is on ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pig_daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

We appreciate you choosing our property this time for your Yellowstone trip. I'm biased but I think we have one of the best properties in Gardiner and we've chosen to remain affordable at the same time. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.6 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#2 of 6 in Gardiner
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Yellowstome
Park Hotel Yellowstome
#5 of 17 in Gardiner
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge

Address: 310 Scott St, Gardiner, MT 59030-7793
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Gardiner
Price Range: $105 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is strategically located directly on the banks of the Yellowstone River.... right at the North Entrance of Yellowstone National Park, two blocks from Roosevelt Arch.Our rooms are extremely clean, come with free wifi and stunning views. In January of 2012 we renovated adding plush new beds to every room, new toilets, and new carpeting in the hall ways and office. Most rooms have a private balcony which is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views.We have Satellite TV, AC, outstanding hospitality and complimentary in-lobby tea, coffee and hot chocolate.We encourage you to stay with us and make your trip to YNP a trip to remember.Sincerely, Absaroka Lodge Ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone`s Absaroka Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing