We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're expecting fancy, it's not!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We chose this because of the beautiful pictures we saw of it online. I was expecting it to be kind of fancy, but it is actually a motel with very small, plain, but clean rooms. The balcony view is breathtakingly gorgeous--Yellowstone River rushing by and snow-capped mountains as a backdrop. Wow, the view and location make this place. The manager was pleasant and helpful. Definitely the best place to stay in Gardiner to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and the kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 336 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge because our favorite lodging at the Best Western was over $225 a night compared to the $135 for this property, was out of our budget for this trip. The lodge is located right outside the northern most entrance of Yellowstone National Park providing easy access to the park. Except for the fact that we had to climb one and a half flight of stairs to our top floor room, it was an excellent choice. The double queen bed room was small but clean and comfortable. The balcony with its view of the Yellowstone River and surrounding mountains was the best feature.

Room Tip: No matter where your room is located you must first go down some steps. Ice machine is on ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pig_daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

We appreciate you choosing our property this time for your Yellowstone trip. I'm biased but I think we have one of the best properties in Gardiner and we've chosen to remain affordable at the same time. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Clean rooms most of which have a great balcony deck overlooking the river in a good location in Gardiner. Close to everything with stunning views. Pleasant and very helpful management. No frills, but no problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duewestboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the positive review. The next several months are a great time to visit the park and we look forward to hosting many of you. Our rates are lower than most of our competitors and we're the only hotel that you can look right into the park from the comfort of your own balcony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stay here every trip that we aren't camping, which is becoming more and more as we feel so spoiled after a stay. Great prices, especially in the off season, excellent location, every room has a balcony, and wildlife in the backyard. I have never stayed when there wasn't deer, and often elk and the occasional bison, on the grounds. We also watch wildlife in the park from the balcony with our binoculars. The sound of the river drowns out traffic noise and lulls you to sleep at night. Wifi can be a bit slow at times, but we're at Yellowstone, who needs it? Only thing that would make it better is a mini fridge in the standard rooms (hint, hint). The owner and employees are great people and always friendly and willing to help. I always recommend it when I hear someone is going to Yellowstone.

Room Tip: The kitchenettes are great! They are all located on the corners so they are quieter as you only hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlnMaria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate you being a loyal customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We spent the last four nights at the Absaroka and like always, we didn't want to leave. Clean and comfortable rooms with the best view to be found. It's so nice to be able to hear the river running by while enjoying the view from the balcony. On our last trip the Lodge had added new mattresses to the rooms. This trip we noticed that the rooms had new flat screen TV's plus free WiFi. Great customer service too!

Room Tip: ALL of the rooms have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Christy we always are appreciative that you guys choose to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location of this lodge is wonderful with views (from your deck) of the river and the Absaroka Mountain Range. The rooms are very simple and plain BUT clean! There is a flat screen tv, two comfortabe double beds, a small bathroom(sink on the outside), and free WiFi. It takes about a total of seven minutes to get to the Roosevelt Arch/enterance to Yellowstone. This is a great base for anyone adventuring into the park each day.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 122
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thanks for your kind review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

While the decor on the inside is nothing special, the queen bedroom and bathroom was spacious enough for us. The rooms are clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. The lodge is well located on the main road in town near restaurants and close to the Yellowstone entrance. The nearby Cowboy bar and grill just over the bridge is a good bet for dinner and breakfast. Each room has a balcony overlooking the river with a couple chairs and a table - perhaps better to use when the temperature is a bit higher than -7 C in the storm which occurred during our stay. At $50 a night for a double, it represents excellent value compared to the chain motels in town.

Room Tip: If you want to self cater or pop a bit of corn, choose a room with a kitchenette, rather than the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay especially since you traveled all the way from Down Under. Thank you for the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.6 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge

Address: 310 Scott St, Gardiner, MT 59030-7793
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Gardiner
Price Range: $106 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is strategically located directly on the banks of the Yellowstone River.... right at the North Entrance of Yellowstone National Park, two blocks from Roosevelt Arch.Our rooms are extremely clean, come with free wifi and stunning views. In January of 2012 we renovated adding plush new beds to every room, new toilets, and new carpeting in the hall ways and office. Most rooms have a private balcony which is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views.We have Satellite TV, AC, outstanding hospitality and complimentary in-lobby tea, coffee and hot chocolate.We encourage you to stay with us and make your trip to YNP a trip to remember.Sincerely, Absaroka Lodge Ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Orbitz so you can book your Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone`s Absaroka Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing