We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic amenities but what a view from the balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Marlborough CT
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very basic amenities but what a view from the balcony”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Clean room, free wifi, beds were fine but not a lot of extras. Coffee available in the lobby. Walls are a little thin as we could hear our upstairs neighbors showering in the middle of the night and it seemed as if they were right in our room. Seemed a little expensive for what you get but the location right next to Yellowstone is really convenient. Every room comes with a small but comfortable balcony overlooking the Yellowstone River. Gardiner is small enough that you can walk to all the restaurants and shops. Saff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us this summer and we're glad you enjoyed the views and property. We do now have the number one in room coffee maker on the market in all of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    111
    68
    22
    13
See reviews for
107
114
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here because Park lodges were full. Location on river only asset. Pricey for a minimalist room. 12 channels of analog TV.
Cancellation policy is SEVEN DAYS notice. Even with a credit card they give away your room if you arrive after 7PM. Wierd policy!
No senior or AAA discounts.
Reading light bulbs are 25 watt. A 13 watt CFL would give triple the light and use half the power.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your business. I wanted to point out that we're actually one of the cheaper options in Gardiner for the quality and views we offer as a property. Many of the hotels are a good $50 higher than ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A friend recommend we stay here knowing we were interested in photography. Very clean with best access to the north entrance since we wanted to be in the park sunrise and sunset. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The little balcony was an added pleasure. The only negative for us was that there wasn't a coffee pot in the room, though coffee was always available in the office. Clay even said he would make us a pot of decaf for the evening. We stayed 4 nights and felt the price was right because of the location.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you'll be happy to know that we now have the number one in room coffee maker in all of our rooms. They've been a big hit so far and it's a great cup of Columbian Coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Yellowstone. The property sits right on the Yellowstone River, the sound of the rushing water is magnificent. The property is clean and well kept up. I enjoyed the free coffee and the kids enjoyed the free hot chocolate and free hot cider. There is an onsite cat and a dog that looks like Lassie on the premises. The cat would come out by our patio every morning to be petted, it is the sweetest and calmest cat I've ever seen. The dog sits out front with the owner and is a well behaved dog.

The furnishing is functional but not much pizazz. The sheets and bed are not super comfortable but a decent place to lay your head after a long day of touring Yellowstone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our property and we're glad you enjoyed the sounds of our river running by:) One thing I want to mention too we've always had great coffee in our lobby but now we have the number one in room coffee maker in all of our rooms for your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We've stayed here numerous times over the years with our children, but this past May was the first time my husband and I were on our own. We've always received friendly service, a clean and comfortable room and a fantastic view. The Absaroka is our favorite place to stay while visiting Yellowstone - in fact we always plan our trip around their availibility. :)

Room Tip: All rooms look out over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our property and we look forward to serving your family for many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I'm not sure I stayed at the same hotel as the other reviewers of this property.

The location is excellent, on the river, and the room was laid out nicely. We had a balcony and kitchen. The room was large as well. From there things go downhill fast.

Tired is not an adequate description of the place. I think the bed and toilet may be new but the sheets and blankets were so bad my wife refused to touch the spread or blanket. There were stains on most of the kitchen chairs and the rug. We had room 235, I think. Our coffee maker was a real antique and the filters in the room did not fit.

We could not get the room cool. The outside temperature at night was in the forty's but even with the A/C on and the windows open we got as low as 69 by morning. With the windows closed and the air on the temp rose above 80 inside our first night.

If this property does have a new owner it may be just in time. This could be a great property with a little TLC, But right now I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We thank you for your point of view but I think the saying you can't please all of the people all of the time definitely applies here. We've had the same wonderful ownership for over 20 years who have been in Gardiner for over 40 years. Sadly we lost my Mom last year but the tradition of running one of the best hotels in Gardiner continues on. We are currently in the process of renovating the entire hotel with many amenities. As stated in previous posts brand new this year beds, toilets, deck chairs, lamps and hallway carpeting. Coming soon flat screen TV's, chairs, coffee makers and much more. The vast majority of the reviewers here are 100% correct. This property has breathtaking views, friendly staff, very clean rooms and is the most recommended hotel in all of Gardiner by locals which speaks volumes. Long story short you won't be disappointed if you stay at the Absaroka Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We arrived into Gardiner looking for accommodation and by chance found Absaroka Lodge. Staff were very helpful and there was a room available even though we had arrived quite early. They just finished off cleaning the room. Room was lovely and clean, fresh and what a lovely balcony we had all looking over the river. I dont think it would matter if you were on the balcony or the lower floor both very excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We're so glad that we could make your trip to Yellowstone all the way from Australia an enjoyable one. Thank you for writing such a kind review and have a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,975 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#2 of 6 in Gardiner
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge

Property: Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Address: 310 Scott St, Gardiner, MT 59030-7793
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is strategically located directly on the banks of the Yellowstone River.... right at the North Entrance of Yellowstone National Park, two blocks from Roosevelt Arch.Our rooms are extremely clean, come with free wifi and stunning views. In January of 2012 we renovated adding plush new beds to every room, new toilets, and new carpeting in the hall ways and office. Most rooms have a private balcony which is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views.We have Satellite TV, AC, outstanding hospitality and complimentary in-lobby tea, coffee and hot chocolate.We encourage you to stay with us and make your trip to YNP a trip to remember.Sincerely, Absaroka Lodge Ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone`s Absaroka Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing