We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Mt. Vernon, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Loved the size of the room....more the size of a mini apartment than a hotel room. Great view of the Yellowstone river from the balcony and the small town of Gardiner. Very friendly staff and easy check in. Kitchen room that we rented had a microwave, cook top, and mini frig. Television was a little small and had a remote that was a bit antiquated. We stayed three nights while touring Yellowstone and loved this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiling-4-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a positive review. We strive to make every guest's stay memorable. We're in the process of upgrading many items in our hotel and the next one on our list is flat screen TV's. Should be coming soon.

Have a great summer!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    102
    67
    22
    13
See reviews for
103
104
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Church, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in June, right as life was gearing up for the busy season! Room had a back porch that faced the Yellowstone River so I could sit outside and watch the rafters go by and I could also see the town from the lodge. Room was clean and comfortabe. Nothing fancy but a good basic room for a relatively decent price. Wish they provided in room coffee makers, but they did not. They did offer free coffee in the office which was right across the parking lot but it did not open until 7:00 AM. Free wi-fi was included in the room and was reliable. The town of Gardiner is charming and right at the North Entrance to Yellowstone National Park!

Room Tip: I would stay here again but I think these rooms could be improved by adding a coffee maker and condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait for you to visit again. We did a big remodel this spring and are doing things in stages. Coffee Makers and new TV's are most likely next on the list. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at the Absaroka Lodge for one night during the last week of June. The motel is located right outside the North entrance of Yellowstone in the town of Gardiner. The rooms are very basic but clean, which was important to us. It is located across the Yellowstone Bridge and sits above the Yellowstone River, this was my favorite part about staying here. You have beautiful views of the river, the town, the rolling hills, the sunset and the sound of the river... all of that combined makes for a nice experience.

My only complaint is that each room's balcony all basically sit right on top of each other, so if lots of people are out, there is absolutely no privacy, it's like one big party (good sometimes, other times, not so good). Your conversation will be heard by your neighbors who are also out sitting on their patio. We had a group staying next door to us who sat out on their patio drinking and talking loudly well into the night. We ended up having to close our window and turn on the A/C to block out the noise which was unfortunate because I was really excited about sleeping to the sound of the rushing river below us.

Because of the location right on the river and the $ value, we would stay here again and I would recommend the Absaroka to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneworldmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. We also appreciate the fact that you would refer your family and friends. We take pride in having a clean and relaxing property. We wish we could make all the balconies private but space is so limited in Gardiner you have to make the most of it.

Have a great rest of the summer!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our first trip to Yellowstone and not really not knowing what to expect this hotel was not a disappointment. Our room
Was clean, comfortable and so relaxing right on the bank of the river. We were close enough to walk to restaurants and shopping. Considering the location to Yellowstone the price was reasonable. I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyna52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we're extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in have a very clean and relaxing property. Enjoy the rest of your summer and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I visit Yellowstone several times a year and the Absaroka Lodge is my home away from home. The staff is always pleasant and helpful, rooms clean and grounds well kept. With the exception of running into a Bull Elk in rut very early one morning (LOL), I have always felt very safe.

The Absaroka isn't fancy (if your looking for fancy don't bother looking in Gardiner) but I consider it a great value. The location is minutes from the park, and there are several dinning options in Gardiner. If you like, you can always pick up something at the grocery store, sit on your balcony, sip some wine, and enjoy the view. A great surprise in June was they just got BRAND NEW BEDS! My only complaint is that I am not there right now!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
We're honored to hear that the Absaroka is your home away from home and really appreciate your business. I hear you on the elk story. I grew up in Gardiner and on many occasions leaving the house or walking to school would run into buffalo, elk or deer. It became something we took for granted but was a very cool part of growing up in Gardiner. On several occasions we even had bears in our yard eating out of our apple trees.

We're glad you enjoyed the new beds and thank you again for staying with us. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were on vacation to Yellowstone with my family and stayed at the Absorka in Gardiner (second time). Gardiner is a small town with fun stores to shop in. The hotel was very clean and the view from our balcony overlooking the Yellowstone River was beautiful. I noticed some newer upgrades from our last stay in 2010. Talking with the front desk they mentioned they were in the process of updating. We were not expecting a 5 star hotel in this small Montana town, however, for the affordable price (one of the cheapest in town), we were very pleased! We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your business. We've worked hard this spring to bring many upgrades to our property so it's nice to see that you noticed.

Hope you can make it back soon and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Went to Gardiner to enjoy all the outdoor opportunities that the area has to offer and used the Absaroka as "home base" - so to speak - for our tremendous-outdoor-experienced-week. After days spent walking around our national treasure - Yellowstone National Park - it doesn't get any better than relaxing on the properties beautiful balconies and reflecting on what will become one of life’s many new valued memories by gazing back into the park with indescribable and unobstructed views. Try and make it back "home" each night to enjoy the spectacular sunsets with a mind full of new memories and bottle filled with a cold beer.

Rooms are clean, beds are awesome, and the owner is both very tall and gracious.

Close in proximity to some nice restaurants and taverns - great location.

Room Tip: make sure your on the river side and let the yellowstone river put you to bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.5 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge

Property: Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Address: 310 Scott St, Gardiner, MT 59030
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is strategically located directly on the banks of the Yellowstone River.... right at the North Entrance of Yellowstone National Park, two blocks from Roosevelt Arch.Our rooms are extremely clean, come with free wifi and stunning views. In January of 2012 we renovated adding plush new beds to every room, new toilets, and new carpeting in the hall ways and office. Most rooms have a private balcony which is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views.We have Satellite TV, AC, outstanding hospitality and complimentary in-lobby tea, coffee and hot chocolate.We encourage you to stay with us and make your trip to YNP a trip to remember.Sincerely, Absaroka Lodge Ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone`s Absaroka Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing