We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Back Again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Columbus, Montana
Level Contributor
183 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Back Again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I stayed here about 20 years ago. There was a ex cop from LA running the place, his name is Clay. The Place is getting a bit of age on it but if you are doing Yellowstone Park and are looking for the best rate in town this is your spot. Just on the other side of the river, close to the few restaurants that are open downtown in the off season. The rooms are, and most over look the river itself. You can hear the rushing water from the room. Rooms have a balcony that overlook the river. It's rustic in a 70's sort of way but everything works and they have WiFi. The beds are okay, plumbing is good. Carpet needs replacing and another blanket would be nice. The air conditioner/heater is one of those that sticks through the wall but is operated by a thermostat on the wall. Confusing as there are two set of controls but they have thoughtfully taped instruction to the thermostat. This must lead to many complaints that the air does not work. Lighting could be better but they have powerstrips which is good if you are recharging for the park. Can't say enough about Yellowstone National Park. Makes me proud to be an American. Beautiful and the Asaroka is convenient after a day in the Park. Office closes at 7PM and the reccomended restaurant closes at 8PM but it gets dark at 5:30 in the fall. You should be able to make it from the Tower or the Lake. This is still a keeper, barely.

Excellent Rate!!! No discounts, you don't need one.

Room Tip: Ground Floor, River Balcony. You can go look at the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    93
    59
    16
    12
See reviews for
96
85
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stopped here one night and were not that impressed. Our room was cheap and moderately clean, small and lacking all the amenities that you might expect in other hotels, like a hairdresser. The rooms are dated and could do with modernisations, especially the beds which are well used. The view over the river is impressive, and the location ideal for walking into town, just across the river. Unfortunately we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RC62Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
You'll be happy to know that in January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office among other things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The only thing going for this lodge is the view of the river. No coffee maker, no hair dryer, no kleenex, air conditioner didn't work, linens were very cheap and thin, stains on the carpet and chairs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. Although we don't have coffee makers in the rooms we have all the free coffee, tea and hot chocolate you can drink in our hotel lobby.

We do typically have kleenex in the rooms but sorry to hear it wasn't refreshed on your stay. We don't have hair dryers in the rooms but do have them available upon request at the lobby.

We are constantly buying new linens and we pride ourselves on one of the cleanest properties you'll find anywhere.

In January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office.

I'm sure if you make it back you'll have a much more enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

One storey block with standard rooms, all clean and comfortable and basic, but redeemed by the situation and the view, and for me, the sound at night of the river rushing by.

The bed was large and comfortable, and Gardiner itself is a gem of a small town - more of a village, really - and a lovely walk from the hotel, across the river bridge, to find dinner. Several small bijou shops selling Indian and Wild West memorabilila and artefacts.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The Absaroka lodge is within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants in Gardiner, MT, which is great after a long day of driving through Yellowstone. Great view of the Gardiner River, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Gardiner is a stone's throw from the park entrance and only 10—15 minutes from Mammoth Hot Springs. We saw the whole park from this area, and it was more reasonable than staying in the park. Would recommend it and would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PorterFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The biggest problem was the toilet DID NOT flush and holding the handle down, as the management suggested did not work. We had to go to the local food establishments if we had to necessitate the facility. I complained to management immediately after checking in and he sent a person over with a plunger which did not help. I complained again later that day and the "manager" came over with the plunger and plunged for several minutes and the toilet still did not work. He suggested to "hold the handle until the tank emptied". I complained again at check out and notified him that we had no alternative but to use the toilet this morning and it is not going down at all. He said he would check on it and to have a nice day.... not even a discount on the room, nothing for such an inconvenience/necessity. We definitely will NOT be staying there again on our next visit to Yellowstone!

Room Tip: The window blinds, fridge & microwave were covered with a month of dust (if not more), hair in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience during your stay.

You'll be happy to know that in January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile/high flush toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office among other things.

We normally are praised for our cleanliness so sorry to hear you had the dust problem. I did a complete property walk through yesterday and it's spotless.

If you make it back I'm sure you'll find your next stay a lot more enjoyable. You especially won't have the toilet problem because we bought the toilets that can flush a dozen golf balls:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great location along the river, good views to enjoy morning and evening. Simple, clean, functional rooms. Recommend and would stay again if visiting Yellowstone.

Room Tip: The rooms with a kitchen have a private deck, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schwanewede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 1,847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Gardiner
5.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge

Property: Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Address: 310 Scott St, Gardiner, MT 59030-7793
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is strategically located directly on the banks of the Yellowstone River.... right at the North Entrance of Yellowstone National Park, two blocks from Roosevelt Arch.Our rooms are extremely clean, come with free wifi and stunning views. In January of 2012 we renovated adding plush new beds to every room, new toilets, and new carpeting in the hall ways and office. Most rooms have a private balcony which is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views.We have Satellite TV, AC, outstanding hospitality and complimentary in-lobby tea, coffee and hot chocolate.We encourage you to stay with us and make your trip to YNP a trip to remember.Sincerely, Absaroka Lodge Ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone`s Absaroka Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing