We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good house and location, but the owner...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellowstone Suites B&B
Ranked #5 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2009

The house itself is nice and the location is very convenient to the North entrance of Yellowstone. However, the owner (Julie) acts as if she's doing you a favor by taking your money. She seems to be annoyed every time you have a question or need something. I would understand if we were being pests, but we weren't. Asking for a recommendation of good restaurants in town is a pretty reasonable request, but she was pained to give us a suggestion. On the flip side, when it came time to ask us for payment, she was very attentive and engaged. Maybe she should hire someone else to interact with her guests, because she is not up to the task. (At least her dog was friendly.)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Dr_Katz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2008

first let me disagree with 2 earlier posts - we found julie to be a pleasant, helpful host! - i enjoyed hearing about her journey to gardiner and her life there..

the inn is in an early 20 century home with 4 bedrooms - the place is on a side street and our first impression was not the best - but once inside things brightened up considerably - our room was on the 3rd floor and overlooked the back yard - it was pleasant, bright and clean - the bed was comfy...

breakfast was early - 7:30-8:30 - that was fine with us as we wanted an early start to enjoy the day - the food was good (and hot) - there were 9 for breakfast and we had a lively discussion on a mirid of subjects - hated to leave the good company...

we've been on the road 9 nites and i enjoyed this place best...

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank beth_19a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Yellowstone Suites. The room was charming, very clean, and quiet. The breakfast was nice, a hot entree and a selection of cold items. The hostess stays in the background, but I think that's more to give her guests privacy and peaceful relaxation. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed here at Yellowstone Suites for one night as part of a week-long trip in Yellowstone park. It was easily our least favourite guest house throughout the whole trip, and this was entirely due to the appalling attitude of the owner, Julie.

As the previous reviewer mentioned, we found the innkeeper to be very unwelcoming and almost rude. When we arrived, she wasn't there but had left a note. We duly made ourselves comfortable, but when she turned up she barely said a thing, yet stood there silently while we were drinking our tea! We had to really make an effort to chat and it made us uncomfortable. Breakfast we were instructed, was laid out from 6.30am (very early, especially considering we were the only guests!). She made no appearance at all throughout, and we wondered if we would see her to pay before we left. As we were putting the bags in the car, she finally made an appearance, but didn't bother even to say good morning - just asked us to settle up and that was it. (She was hung over, but it's very unprofessional to make your guests feel so unwelcome.)

The good points are that it's a great base to stay before exploring Yellowstone, it's a very nice house, and her dog is lovely! However, her attitude ensured we'll never return and we certainly won't recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Skikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed at Yellowstone Suites for 2 nights in July and were very disappointed. We were made to feel an inconvenience by the Innkeeper. Breakfast was fixed on the first morning at 8.00, a little early when on holiday! We duly arrived at the table at 7.50 to find the breakfast already on the table and virtually cold! The Inn keeper did not apear at all throughout the meal to check if everything was okay as you would usually expect. We were infromed that breakfast on the second morning would be at 7.30 as the Innkeeper had a dental appointment! We bought breakfast elsewhere that day!
I was asked to settle payment on the evening before we left; there was no please or thank you!!
The house has a lot of potential in an area where choice is limited, but we felt we paid far too much to stay here, particularly given the poor attitude we encountered.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinnyStaffordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2007

I had never stayed at a B&B before, so I was very nervous. Our family of ten booked the whole house, and we had a great time. The rooms were all decorated so nice. The owner, Julie, and her black lab were so sweet. We felt at home (only more pampered). The breakfast was great. We picked wisely. We also took the Flying Pig Vacation Company paddle/saddle day trip rafting and horseback riding while we were there, and had a blast doing that too.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totalimage446b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2006

We just returned from a week long stay right outside of Yellowstone Park. Yellowstone Suites Bed and Breakfast was fabulous. Julie is the proprietor and is helpful, thoughtful and a really fine cook. There are four rooms to rent, or do as we did, and rent the house for the family for the week. Everything is taken care of and you have about a 5-10 min. drive into Mammoth Hot Springs. I highly recommend it - games to play in the evening, meals available to go, very comfortable beds, all in a beautiful house with western touches.

5  Thank hanid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.4 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Suites B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Suites B&B

Address: 506 4th St, PO Box 277, Gardiner, MT 59030-7770
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range: $47 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Suites B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yellowstone Suites B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing