We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”

Yellowstone Raft Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Yellowstone Raft Co. pioneered rafting on the Yellowstone River in 1978 and continue to provide exciting, fun, and safe trips for families and visitors to Yellowstone National Park. We offer a variety of whitewater, scenic, kayaking, horseback, and hiking trips that can accommodate all ability levels and acquaint you with the greater Yellowstone area. Offering trips May-September, call about group discounts.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

We loved our "paddle and saddle" experience at Yellowstone Raft Company. The rafting was really fun and the staff was great. My two kids (11 and 13) had a great time during the rafting. The staff provided all the gear we needed and even though the temperature was in the 40s we felt fine with the wetsuit, fleece, and splash jackets they provided. After the rafting, we had ample time to change our clothes and head over to our horseback riding portion of the day. Our horses were great and the staff there gave us some quick pointers on how to ride the horses. The area which we did the horseback riding was beautiful (along a mountain side)... I would definitely recommend this experience.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Gus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the river"
in 76 reviews
"day trip"
in 21 reviews
"whitewater experience"
in 3 reviews
"guide eric"
in 3 reviews
"longer trip"
in 3 reviews
"great scenery"
in 3 reviews
"enjoy the scenery"
in 3 reviews
"first timers"
in 7 reviews
"felt safe"
in 7 reviews
"splash jackets"
in 5 reviews
"great trip"
in 11 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 9 reviews
"adults and kids"
in 4 reviews
"great personality"
in 3 reviews
"other companies"
in 3 reviews
"raft company"
in 3 reviews
"yankee jim canyon"
in 5 reviews
Filter

75 - 79 of 237 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

Our guide Adrian was very informative about all the scenery along the river. He made the trip a fun experience and would recommend anyone looking for a trip to go here.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

This was our first family experience whitewater rafting. The staff were incredibly helpful and inclusive. Our tour guide Adrian accommodated to an unsure and slightly nervous passenger to make it a more enjoyable experience. The price was overall definitely worth it. Staff were very knowledgeable about surrounding geographic points, and even suggested local markets and eateries. All in all, an excellent first experience.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Kourtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

We went down the river in mid-June when it was just coming off high water, and the river was moving fast. Did both sections - town and Yankee Jim. Our party of 4 was in one paddle boat with Derrick, our guide. He was very friendly and enjoyable company for the day.

If going early in the season, realize the river is quite cold. If a sunny and warm day, you might be ok, but the neoprene botties, splash jackets, and wet suits were not unwelcome.

The town section is nice and wavy but nothing technical. Yankee Jim will require some maneuvering, so realize you will really have to paddle in that section - it's not just a ride.

Would definitely do the trip again!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2018

The raft company itself was very good. Our guide was relatively new to the area, so he wasn't all that familiar with the history, geology, etc., but he was great on the river -- we felt safe and he had a great personality and spirit. Similarly, the twenty-somethings that got us registered and all geared up (with appropriate gear on a cloudy and chilly day) were great. But just a couple of comments on the trip/day itself --

-- We booked the 'full day' trip. Full day was a bit over four hours from getting onto the water and the take out point, including a stop for lunch. So it's really a half-day trip with a lunch.
-- This is not a whitewater rafting trip as much as it is a float trip with a few rapids. Now, the float was in the midst of some absolutely spectacular scenery, so it was very worthwhile. But the rapids were pretty tame/simple -- still quite a bit of fun, and we certainly got doused. But don't book this if you're looking for wild and wet adventure. On the other hand, for families with kids, it might be viewed as a positive.

Overall, a gorgeous trip with a solid company. We were glad we took the trip.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowstone Raft Company also viewed

 

Been to Yellowstone Raft Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing