We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream of a Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellowstone Village Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting Yellowstone for a few years now, but this our first time at Yellowstone Village. It is one of the nicest places in Gardiner. We were very comfortable with nice bedding and towels. Very clean and owners very kind folks. Continental breakfast is space, but we stopped at store and kept some things in our refrig.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KyTraveler2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 403 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed there one night on May 21st, and had a great experience. Maybe it was because it was still low season, but it deserves to be mentioned nonetheless.

First of all, we learned when we arrived that the hotel had
1) an indoor heated pool
2) breakfast included
I hadn't even expected that since the price was below most other accomodations ($127 all included total for a room with 2 queens). My parents even asked me "how much are you paying for this??" It was the only place we stayed at in Yellowstone AND Tetons who had pool & breakfast... and it was one of the cheapest places !

Secondly, the location is good: away from the main road, and many rooms have great views of snow-capped mountains ! Plus remember Gardiner is right outside of Yellowstone and offers you much better dining options than Mammoth.

Finally, that place is CLEAN. And I mean "Wow the pool looks so inviting that I want to swim even if it's May" clean. We are far from neat freaks, but in this case we really noticed it. Maybe it was because the rooms looked new (recently redone ?) or that it was low season.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the road: you are far from the road but will see the valley and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CaliforniaBelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My family stayed at the Inn for the second time in the past two years. We had a two room suite in the annex building to the left of the main building. There are two large beds and a convertible sofa which easily accommodated our party of three adults. The suite was very clean and comfortable. The free breakfast is very limited so if you have a big appetite you should plan on eating elsewhere. It is located about 15 minutes from Mammoth Hot Springs. The staff is very helpful and pleasent.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the sleepy town of Gardiner near the entrance to Yellowstone. There aren't many nice places to stay in Gardiner, and I think this is one of (if not the) best. It was extremely clean which is my top priority. It is not a luxury hotel, but I don't think that can be expected in this area. We were very pleased we selected the Yellowstone Village Inn and would not hesitate to choose it again the next time we are in Gardiner. Also, the lobby has some beautiful polished wood pieces--be sure to check them out. Breakfast was okay and consisted of coffee, teas, juices, muffins, bagels, toast, and apples. I would have appreciated a better variety of fruit and perhaps some packets of oatmeal, but it was more than sufficient for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a very late checkin for only one night after a long day of driving. The hotel isn't staffed all night, but help arrived after calling the main number. They got us in and left a concerned note with our bill about any trouble we might have had since they were just opening up for the season. This shows a flexible and personal response typical of an establishment that cares. Our room was on the first floor in the center building and was comfortable and clean. A quick drive through the small town strip of Gardiner and you are at the Yellowstone park entrance. Looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Booking has you choose between a room or a room "with view" (same price). Mine was a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

[Forgot to enter review here; wrote it last year during the trip.]

Nice, clean place for a few days (we stayed 4 nights) with very friendly staff. [The nice lady who checked us in sympathized with our struggle to find pet-free accommodation because she also has allergies.] This is a good close location to visit Yellowstone.

We had a full-size fridge in our big king room and even a full-size table with chairs, but only one nightstand, even though there would've been space for two. The sink was conveniently outside the bathroom. The fan inside the bathroom is always on and strong, which could get chilly in winter/early spring/fall with heat only available inside the main room. The shower was very nice with a pre-set lever for the temperature, so you don't have to go through the cold water phase when turning the shower back on. Water pressure in the shower was very strong; toilet was still of the old wasteful kind, too. The lighting in the room was rather odd, with overly bright, almost industrial strength spots.

Don't count on the breakfast, unless you're a very light eater: fresh mini-muffins, very thin bagels, english muffins and some fruit. However, free coffee (regular and decaf) was provided at basically all time, and the toaster and microwave in the breakfast area were always accessible. Styrofoam cups a definite minus point - for taste and non-recyclability. But a plus point for the paper plates.

For the squeamish or otherwise opposed people: know that there are various animal heads mounted on the walls in the lobby area; but you can also enter through the back door, once you're checked in. On the other hand, if you didn't manage to get a close-up of a pronghorn, you can get a good look at one that way. ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A2H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at this motel for 2 nights and the Yellowstone Village Inn was a pleasant surprise in the middle of a remote and sleepy town like Gardiner. The rooms were spacious and clean and to my delight there was an in house laundromat which was extr. Its well located close to the north entrance of the park and we could see deer grazing in the compound.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pritikhimsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.2 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gardiner at Yellowstone Park North Entrance
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.8 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Village Inn

Address: 1102 Scott St, Gardiner, MT 59030-7796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range: $69 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property has been completely renovated and is very clean and comfortable. Yellowstone Village Inn closes every year during the winter months for deep cleaning and renovation, so our property is clean and inviting to our guests during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Yellowstone Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Village Hotel Gardiner
Yellowstone Village Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing