We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bozeman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Yellowstone Gateway Inn in mid February for 2 nights and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and prices. Our 2 families of 8 total booked a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen. The place is newly remodeled very tastefully, and the small kitchen is very nice with all the pots, pans and dishes we needed to cook for everyone including a dishwasher! We really appreciated the small touches such as organic coffee for the coffee pot, fruit in the fruit bowl and wine glasses in the cupboard, and the use of all environmentally safe cleaners. There was a large flat screen TV in the room (which we never did turn on) with DVDs available (if you really want to watch a movie instead of being outside in this beautiful area), and the bathroom was very well appointed. The bedrooms were decorated individually like at home, and the bed linens were all cozy individual pieces, not some generic hotel blanket and spread.

Overall we were expecting the same kind of homey but simple, and maybe a bit old and worn, accommodations that you tend to find in small towns in Montana for that price, but we were really surprised at the quality. It was truly a "vacation" just to stay there. The crowning touch was when my daughter left a library book there, and the owner actually brought it to our town 1 1/2 hours away the next week when he came here to run errands.

I'd recommend them to anyone and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forthesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    43
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
126
147
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013. The price was right, we had the Deluxe room, and we were very comfortable. The room is large, a queen bed in the front, with a king bed in the back bedroom, full kitchen for longer stays. The little touches by the owners really show they care. Fair trade coffee, organic soap, shampoo and conditioner. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiMasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here in February 2013. It was the perfect place to stay. You are close to everything and close to Yellowstone Park. We had our 2 dogs with and it was perfect for them. The rooms are beautiful inside. It's like you are in a house. The décor is beautiful and the beds were very comfortable. Newly remodeled and the open floor plan for the kitchen and living room was perfect. We would definitely stay here and recommend this to anyone. The staff is very helpful and friendly. You won't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonDog2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Thank you so much fellow travellers who have written their reviews about this place. I relied on these when choosing our place to stay close to north yellowstone. A bit of a shaky start when we couldnt rouse the office to check us in but after that it was brilliant. We could not believe the size of the interior of our room (112). From the outside it just looked like an average motel (as per other reviewers). We had a very comfortable 5 nights with full kitchen facilities and a separate king bedroom (great to spread out on when youv'e been married for other 30 years (sorry hubbie)
Sitting area was great with tv and dvd useful as nightlife quiet (February).
Great value for money which was reinforced when we returned to Jackson Hole for 6 nights at the Rustic Inn (over rated in our view but I guess its the skiers that inflate the prices here).
The furnishings and fixtures looked really good compared to what we usually find. The location is great for exploring Yellowstone (north entrance corner). We had a great stay and would recommend this establishment in an instant. Only one "would be even better if" the heating was noisy even though it was welcome....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnsleyOzzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights in Feb 2013 while visiting Yellowstone. What a great deal! we'd stay here again in a minute. Large room(s), full kitchen, newly remodeled, clean and very friendly staff. Grocery store across the street. Fair trade coffee to make in the room each morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speaks1Language
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Yellowstone Gateway Inn is truly a hidden gem. Gardiner, Cooke City, and West Yellowstone are full of shabby, dated, and overpriced chains with no incentive to improve thanks to the droves of tourists that fill the rooms year round for one and one reason only: proximity to the national park. With this in mind, this privately owned property was a breath of fresh air. The suites (I do mean suites, as there is a distinct living area, kitchen, and bedroom) are impeccably clean, spacious, and inviting. Management is friendly and even took the time to show me around my room and inquire whether I had any questions. The grounds and exterior are well kept, a clear sign that the owners care about and take pride in their property. In fact, while the manager was giving me a tour, he noticed some standing water on a walkway and minutes later an employee was cleaning it up with a shop vac--certainly contrary to the attention to detail I've come to expect out of the service industry. To provide one final testament to the customer mindedness of the management: we originally booked three non-consecutive nights at the hotel, two in a row and a third night several days later. We ended up not staying the third night due to a change in plans. I didn't even bother calling to ask for a refund on my deposit as the policy on the website clearly stated 72 hours advanced notice was required. However, when we didn't arrive that evening the manager actually called me, and when I informed him of my change of plans he offered me a refund for the night. Obviously, the Gateway Inn is not the Four Seasons, but in terms of a similar class of hotel (which is all you'll find in the gateway towns) the Yellowstone Gateway Inn can't be beat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

FULL KITCHEN! My friend and I are staying at this place right now on a winter trip to Yellowstone. We are both pleasantly surprised with the quality of the place. Very nice one bedroom. Comfortable bed and pull out couch. Large screen TV with DVD player and free DVDs in the Inn office. Lots of updates and touches like a Kholer fixtures in the bathroom and granite topped dining table. Beautiful place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.2 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,974 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
4.4 mi away
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Yellowstone Basin Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Gateway Inn

Property: Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Address: 103 Bigelow Ln, Gardiner, MT 59030-7779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Yellowstone Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing