We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loooong wait for breakfast”
Review of Two Bit Saloon

Two Bit Saloon
Ranked #12 of 33 Restaurants in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Irondequoit, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loooong wait for breakfast”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We were there before the previous review, Sept 8th, and had a slightly better experience. They had just hired a guy as a waiter, so we did get some extra attention. There is only one griddle that all the food is cooked on, so you can expect a wait, but compared to a couple other restaurants we checked out the night before for breakfast, this place looked the best.

The blueberry pancakes were huge and loaded with berries. My husband and I shared two and also shared a plate of sausage gravy and biscuits that was great. You didn't get a lot of butter, but plenty of syrup. Unfortunately, our plates came out first, so the couple we were with watched us eat, then theirs came out and we watched them. All the meals were hot and cooked through. Luckily it was bottomless help yourself coffee - but we were anxious to get back on the road and more coffee isn't really what we needed. We did get an apology for the long wait, explaining that there was only one griddle (and one cook).

The prices were fair. My major complaint - besides having to wait so long - is that the cook was either getting over a cold or had allergies because she kept trying not to cough over the griddle. I kept my eye on her and she left the griddle a couple times to have her coughs, so I wasn't hesitant to eat.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    54
    27
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NW Indiana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Food was o.k......when we finally got it”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stopped for breakfast the day after Labor Day. Just two tables there when we came in. Sat down, waitress came promptly, took order and didn't see her again at our table until 45 minutes later when she said our food was next. It was serve yourself coffee from a communal urn, no biggie except we discovered that was your entertainment while you waited an extrodinarely long time for your food.

When we finally got it just under an hour later, my food was hot, my husband's omlette was luke warm, veggies inside the omlette were just warmed up, not cooked at all. Hashbrowns were ordered well done, but arrived at the table barely warm let alone cooked crispy. When he mentioned this to the waitress, she literally didn't say anything! Just tipped her head and mumbled "Hmm" and stared at him for a few seconds, then walked away. After waiting this long, we weren't going to wait another second to have them remade.

This was one of just a few times in my life I didn't leave a tip, and I usually way OVER tip. We watched a couple who came in just a few minutes after us tell her that they couldn't wait any longer for their food, please box it up or forget it, we felt bad for them. Who plans on breakfast taking over an hour to get?!? They had one server, one cook, that's it for the staff. And really, that should have been sufficient based on the number of guests they had at the time. But it wasn't. The cook appeared she was capable of making just one ticket at a time, and very slowly. Too bad it went so poorly. It is a cute place and looks like it could be a neat bar to hang out at night. But NOT a place for breakfast, and especially NOT if you want to get your day started in Yellowstone anytime before noon.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank racegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
147 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Stop in for a cold one, but you'd better get over yourself”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

You'll get the same service as everyone else does. Basic bar and grill fare with bison on the menu for a bit of regional color. Lackadaisical servers were preoccupied with all sorts of things except paying attention to customers.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank betsywuebker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not many places were open, but we're glad this one was"”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Culinary options in Gardiner are limited even at the height of the vacation season. In February, though, the choices are few. My husband and I had just stumbled off of an all-day snowcoach tour of Yellowstone, and were starving, so we decided to sampl e the limited "bar food" menu at the Two Bit. Everything about theeplace was friendly - the owner (a fellow Western Pennsylvanian) and the patrons at the bar. We sat in a back room with tables, booths, pool tables, and tv's and enjoyed one of the best burgers we have ever eaten. The place was bright and clean, and and we returned the next day to watch the Super Bowl. It was mostly a Steelers "crowd," but even the Green Bay fans were great, tolerating the exuberant waving of our terrible towels. It was a sad night for Pittsburgh, but we were happy to cry in our beer at the Two Bit.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lawmom611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlehurst
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Steak EVER!”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

As we were browsing the local shops, we smelled something cooking on an outdoor grill. We followed our nose around the corner to a lil fenced area, looked like someone cooking in their backyard. They told us to place our order, take a seat in the saloon and they would bring it when it was ready.
The large tasty steak came with corn and beans.
The only problem we have now is how to get back for another steak!
My husband is still shopping for the lowest airfare for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Bit Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Two Bit Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing