We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Steak”

Cowboy Lodge and Grill
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Gardiner
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Yummy Steak”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

After a long day in the park we got food to go here and take back to our room. They forgot silverware, the sides and gave me berry instead of peach cobbler (it was still delicious)... and even with all the mistakes, the food was sooo good and just a steak for dinner isn't that bad in Montana. :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank My4doggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    232
    132
    44
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hamburgers shouldn't "moo"”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stopped in for lunch (our second visit this year). My husband's chicken fried steak was good, but my burger was bloody red ("medium" according to waitress). We quibbled a bit about what a medium cooked burger should be, but it comes down to not even being asked how I wanted it cooked, a standard question when it comes to meat. The waitresses were helpful and brought me another. The fries were apparently from the bottom of the bag, over cooked little pieces of potato. I'll give the staff a great rating, the food mediocre at best.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic cowboy theme”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The waiter and service was great. All of the servers pitched in and got the job done. My fries were cold and they sent me out a new order right away - I hate cold fries. I had the beef brisket and it was pretty good. My husband had the pulled pork and that was pretty good, too. I would go back. Don't expect anything fancy. The inside theme was well done.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hilltownmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
408 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Tourist Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Food was ok, but pricy. The cowboy stew was disappointing with hardly any meat and freezer vegetables. The BBQ the rest of the family had was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BevoBurn96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Prompt service, hot, freshly prepared food and an interesting decor!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Gas station nearby which was the initial reason for our vist to the location; we thought the exterior looked appropriate for it's name so decided to give the restaurant a try. If you are a fan of "big critters" the shooting trophies may be somewhat unsettling, but I found the enormous cougar fascinating!

The BBQ chicken was tasty and freshly prepared; the meat fell off the bone. One sever was dashing around serving multiple customers, but despite this there was never a long wait or impatient response to any of our requests. Exceptional value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowboy Lodge and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cowboy Lodge and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing