We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic American fare outside of Yellowstone” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town Cafe & Gift Shop - CLOSED

Town Cafe & Gift Shop
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Classic American fare outside of Yellowstone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We ate a lunch at Town Cafe, trying to escape the awful restaurants in Yellowstone NP. This place offers standard American diner fare, and is kitchy--from another era. We had yummy BLTs on wheat toast, and chatted with our server, Ashley. She is a gem, and had worked inside the park for several years, but Xanterra was not her cup of tea. We talked about the park choosing another concessionaire in the future, and her experiences in Yellowstone.

This is a fine little restaurant, give it a try in the tiny town of Gardiner!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BerkeleyBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    43
    26
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Out of a Country Music Video!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Two Bit Saloon stopped serving breakfast at 10:30am so we wanteded over to the Town Cafe and we're glad we did so! It's exactly what the name says it is...a town cafe! Many locals were sitting around drinking their coffee and enjoying their breakfasts and everyone was so friendly to us! Our server told us a little bit about the Elk in the area and gave us some safety tips.

They had a very large selection of food to choose from. You could choose off of your menu or a large chalk board on the wall. They had country music playing in the back ground and it was a cute little experience to hear the music, drink our coffee, and look outside and see the mountains. I'd eat here over Two Bit for breakfast anyday!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
171 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Good place for breakfast before you hit the park. Very busy so get there early. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful in answering your questions about the park and surrounding areas.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank letsdotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast for Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had the French toast special. Everything was cooked exactly to our request. Service was quick and our server (I think her name was Ashley) was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gawildcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Staff was great!! There burgers are amazing and the price was good. Would definitely go back there again!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raeann1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Cafe & Gift Shop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing