We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean clean clean”
Review of Riverside Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Cottages
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was my second time staying here and loved it once again. it is super clean and quiet. I will recommend this place to anyone that is traveling in and out of Yellowstone park or just looking for a get-a-way place. You are right next to the river and if you are one to sit in the hot tub it looks clean also. (I didn't have time either stay for this).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for returning to stay with us. The Hot Tub is a popular spot to unwind after a day in Yellowstone, maybe you will have a chance to enjoy the Hot Tub on your next visit. We are about to expand our deck and hope you will return in the future to see our new updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 274 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Riverside Cottages is a unique place to stay in Gardiner and better than a boring hotel chain. The hosts were wonderful, so sweet and accommodating and the location on the river is very cool. Inside my actual room, while clean, it felt a little old, small, and not as cute and charming as I expected. I love finding unique places so wanted to love this place, but fell slightly short to feeling comfortable. I would come back if I had to stay in Gardiner, this is a great place to stay in Gardiner and to explore Yellowstone, but its not much more than just a place to stay for a night, I was glad I was only there for one. Maybe stay more nights in W Yellowstone next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. While we have remodeled all our rooms they are old. I am sorry you felt the room was too small. Perhaps a larger cottage or one of our new rooms with a river view would be more suitable. We are staring construction in a month or so to offer two rooms overlooking the river.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It's hard to find places that can accomodate a family of five. This is a good choice if you can get the Bison Cottage. We stayed there for 3 nights and spent one night in the Sheep Cottage which turned out to be much smaller. The Bison Cottage is spacious and the a/c and ceiling fan work well. One tip is to turn the fridge to the maximum setting (any lower setting is not cool enough.) As for the Sheep Cottage, I had to turn off the ceiling fan because it was too noisy. You also have to watch your head if you're on the bottom bed--overall space is kind of tight in that cottage. The location is great. It's very close to the Yellowstone entrance and you can walk over to the grocery store. It's nice to have the kitchen; you can save a lot of money by eating breakfast in and packing lunch (food in Yellowstone is expensive.) You're also next door to Montana Whitewater--you get a 10 percent discount if you let them know you're staying at Riverside.

Room Tip: Bison Cottage is biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazytrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

The Bison Cottage is more spacious. Sorry you had issues in the Big Horn Sheep. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you are traveling this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Escape those boring hotel chains and stay in one of these charming cabins. They have been recently updated with themes like bison and elk. We stayed in the Elk Cottage, which was great for our family of five. The bathroom was exceptionally nice. The area by the river affords a scenic view with tables and chairs and there are stairs down to the river. The hot tub was an added bonus. The location was also convenient to the grocery store and many shops and restaurants. On check-in we were given a little tour by the owner with lots of tips, which we really appreciated. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank a1trvlagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We do enjoy being able to walk to the grocery store and restaurants. Stay tuned to our website or Facebook page - we are about to expand our deck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself and 3 friends were booked into the Big Horn Sheep Cottage for one-night during our 3 day visit to Yellowstone. We found it easily and Simon was very welcoming and filled us in on all the information we required for our stay. It was an easy, accessible walk into Gardiner for our meal in the evening and when we returned the sunset was beautiful as we walked over the bridge. Admittedly it couldn't be seen from the cottage window - but we didn't need that - we were ready to fall asleep after our long day. Although none of us actually used the shower, it looked amazing and the whole place was clean and fully equipped. It was handy to have a fridge for us to stock with bottles of water for the next day and a coffee machine for our early morning brew.
The location was so accessible to the North Entrance of the Park and we were able to leave at 6.30am and still get to Lamar Valley at a good time for watching wildlife. Whilst we had initially planned to have breakfast in Gardiner I am so glad we left early - because we then had it at Roosevelt Lodge and this was just delicious with a fantastic ambience.
So, back to Riverside cottages - I would recommend - clean, friendly, comfortable and ideal location.

Room Tip: Although able to accommodate 6 people the Big Horn Sheep Cottage was perfect for 4 single travellers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basilio_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy you found the Big Horn Sheep cottage comfortable and relaxing - a great way to start your day in Yellowstone. It is nice to be able to walk to restaurants, grocery store, and shops from our location. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you are traveling this way in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Riverside in July 2013. My husband, 3 teens, and myself. We were loaded down with stuff for our 10 day vacation and this was our first stop. The rooms were very clean but small, suited our needs which was a place to crash after hiking in Yellowstone for the day. Great access to the park! Laura was very friendly and offered great advice on hiking options for us. My only complaint the fridge was to small, we had to keep many items in our cooler, not sure where they would fit a full size fridge in the kitchen.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Buffalo room the first night (this was a handicap room and had loads of space) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcdonough6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We are pleased you had a restful evening after hiking in Yellowstone. Sorry the fridge was not able to accommodate your needs. I enjoyed hearing your hiking adventures and hope you will consider staying with us if you are traveling this way in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

As I was rafting with the outfit right next store the location was great and it was easy to walk across the bridge to the other part of town for dinner.

I loved the little cottage style room but they only have windows on the driveway side and not on the river view side. Which really defeats the purpose of the location sitting right on the river's edge.

Room was clean and sufficient. Probably the least comfortable and smallest of all the rooms I have in my Yellowstone/GTNP trip. But it was clean and I had no problem with plumbing as described in other reviews. I was only there one night so it wasn't a big deal.

AC was loud, filled the entire window and the only way to ventilate the room was to open the window in the front door.

Manager was friendly and the foreign students cleaning my room were great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleogreeneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. The efficiency rooms are small but we do try to provide all the basic comforts of a comfy bed, hot shower, microwave, mini fridge, satellite TV, and wireless internet. Unfortunately the design of the room many years ago did not allow for a window on the river side when the shower and bathroom was added. We are looking to add two rooms facing the river with a private balcony overlooking the river. We have enjoyed participating in the Work Travel program inviting foreign students to our country to experience our culture and we are glad you found them friendly and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.4 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
4.6 mi away
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Yellowstone Basin Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottages

Address: 521 Scott Street West, Highway 89 & 2nd Street, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the North Entrance to Yellowstone National Park in Gardiner Montana. We have efficiencies, cottages, studios and one and two bedroom suites that offer something for everyone. Our cottages and suites have full kitchens. Our efficiencies are smaller like traditional motel rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing