We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Above the Rest Lodge
Reviewed August 18, 2005

Steph's Cabin was nothing like the information we found on the internet indicated. Old beat up house. The front yard is full of weeds. No TV as indicated (broken?). No pillow cases, no bedding for the extra cot we requested. Coffee pot full of mold. The only bedroom was full of flying bugs from the torn window and slider screens. We checked out quickly.

Stayed: August 2005
3  Thank jancox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 23 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore
39
Reviewed July 4, 2004

During a recent jaunt through Grand Teton and Yellowstone we were in awe at so many vistas of surpassing beauty. But the best was saved for last. On our last day - May 19, 2004 - we overnighted at Above the Rest Lodge (in "The Nest"). All I can say is that the vistas from the huge deck are spectacular! I don't know if it can get any better.

Don is a good host and there is a real "family" spirit that makes this place special. If you ever do this tour of Yellowstone, do yourself a big favor and stay a few nights at Above the Rest. I wish I had spent more time there!

But maybe it'll be the incentive to return....

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2004

These cabins have what must be the best view of and in Yellowstone. However, our cabin was not clean, smelled like eggs (commented on in the cabin many times in the guest book!) and the water was undrinkable and not even good to shower with. A good cleaning and water filters would go a long way to making these a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Chico99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cullman, AL
13
Reviewed June 3, 2003

We spent our favorite family Christmas at the Mansion. It was fantastic for a large family. There were breathtaking views of the mountains, hotsprings and wildlife wherever you turned. We plan to vacation here again very soon!Don was very informative and helpful. The snow was wonderful for us Southerners too!!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lawrenceburg, KY
13
Reviewed May 15, 2003

Privacy, seclusion, beauty, and trout fishing to boot with all the conforts of home. The cabins all have lavish appointments and the views from the decks, overlooking the Yellowstone River and Mammoth Hot Springs, are as good as it gets. Don, and his boys, are excellent hosts and are a wealth of fishing and hunting information. To paraphrase an old cereal commercial, "Try it, you will LOVE it." Steven Sensenig

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
1.1 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
1.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Rest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Rest Lodge

Address: 8 Above the Rst, Gardiner, MT 59030-9332
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Gardiner
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing