We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for weddings/receptions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
“Great for weddings/receptions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had our wedding weekend and reception at Rainbow Ranch this August. On top of it being a gorgeous venue, the staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful.

Going into our wedding, all of our friends and family told us to be prepared for something big to go wrong, and to just take it in stride. I'm happy to report that absolutely nothing went wrong! Mollie, the GM, and her staff were very professional, and made sure that everything ran smoothly at every step of the way.

It's not only a lovely wedding venue, but any time you're in the area during the summer or during ski season, it's a lovely vacation getaway situated right on the Gallatin river. They offer multiple activities for all occasions that will meet a wide variety of interests. And the rooms.... ALL are amazing! You really can't go wrong.

Thank you so much to everyone there for making our wedding a success! We hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great- we had people stay in every type of room they have, and everyone was very i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrysR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    37
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
72
125
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
309 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in the rooms with the river right behind our back patio. The wonderful sound of the river going by created a beautiful melody which to sleep in the evening, but we had a lumpy mattress unfortunately. The afternoon cookies were incredible! The room was clean, but plain, but the view made-up for what the room lacked. We had a fireplace, but it was not cold enough to put it into use in September. The lodge and restaurant were a great surprise and very nicely decorated. Breakfast was included, buffet style and it was all one really needed; fruit, cereal, yogurt, quiche, bagels, toast, sausage, coffee, tea, and juices. I would recommend that they spruce-up the rooms a bit.

Room Tip: River view is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DayDreamer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowranchlodge, General Manager at Rainbow Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Rainbow Ranch! We have to agree, the views from the riverside rooms are breathtaking! We are also very proud of our pastry chef and the magic she creates with her cookies and breakfast pastries! Good news, we have new mattresses, we hope you will come and give your approval the next time you are in the neighborhood!
Until then take good care and thank you for your kind review!
Mollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
141 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 665 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Considering the lack of luxury accomodation in a big radius from Yellowstone, apart from very expensive working ranches or fly fishing places, this place is probably the safest bet around.

We were originally put off by the situation litterally off US191, but knew what to expect. Honestly, you completely forget about it. The rates are admittedly high for the location and and the area, but the lack af alternative made it a deal, eventhough it needed to be prepaid.

Apparently booked almost to capacity, the place was really quiet. We had a Riverside room, and a Pondside luxury. We were surprised that the Pondside was more luxurious and newer, although the Riverside has a better location in my view. They will be redeigned shortly, or so I have been told.
Pondside was nice : nice porch, logs everywhere, excellent king bed, good lighting, inside fireplace. Huge bathroom with separate toilet, separate shower stall, dressing area. A little oversized compared to a smaller bedroom, I would say. No aircon, but an open window would already make a really cool room in August. I would only miss an outside fire place, which is only for the suite.
Did not stay in the Riverside myself, but I understand it is just as comfortable, only older.

Good dining room. A bit hit and miss in the sense that the starters were small and flavorless and bland, while the mains were delicious. Very good service, who moved to another table as we had neighbors with unattended and noisy kids.
Breakfast is buffet, with a good selection, and staff working hard to keep it replenish, despite shinese customers raiding it as if they never saw a buffet before (who knows, might be the case).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowranchlodge, General Manager at Rainbow Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for coming to visit and thank you for the review!
Yes, we do have plans to remodel the riverside rooms, AND I am happy to hear that you & your family enjoyed the property as is! You mentioned one of my favorite attributes of the Rainbow Ranch, the fact that we can be at fill occupancy and it is still a peaceful oasis....
We will look forward to your return, please be in touch and I will make sure you have the suite with the outdoor fireplace!
Until then take good care!
Mollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Staying at Rainbow Ranch was like going to sleep away camp as an adult, with excellent, though simple, accommodations, incredible grounds, and amazing Gallatin River access. We stayed at RRL after driving from Jackson Hole through Yellowstone, and it was the ideal place to spend two relatively quite days after many hikes / bikes. The staff was incredibly polite and helpful, but at no point smothered you. We enjoyed full access to the grounds, including the great hot tub with fire place, the trout pond, and many hours in the river, just 20 yds from our porch. We enjoyed a meal at the restaurant, which was as good or better than top restaurants in any of the major ski towns. The wild game selection was mostly locally sourced, with excellent variety and preparation.

We will certainly return to RRL in the coming years for more R&R, which it is ideal for. I would highly recommend for a couple looking to spend some quality down time together, and especially for the fishing enthusiast.

Room Tip: Pick a room close to the river. River access is incredible, world class fly fishing 20 yards from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was a mixed experience. There was much to like, but it was not the luxurious Montana ranch experience the website led us to expect.
As the website uses words like lodge, ranch, paradise, etc, we were also surprised to find it on the US191, just yards from the fast road. 

Good things: the main building is good, with decent quality decor etc; dinner was excellent; staff all very helpful, especially the breakfast chefs who enhanced a decent continental breakfast with freshly cooked eggs; sitting on our little verandah overlooking a lovely stretch of the Gallatin river; free WiFi.

BUT, at $325+tax per night, the room needs a significant upgrade. The website uses words like "world class resort", so we were disappointed to find: only a queen size bed; lighting so poor that the room appeared gloomy even when sunny outside, making reading impossible; no room safe, no air con; two hangers each, no drawers or shelves to store clothes apart from shelves in the bathroom; fraying and threadbare bath mat one day, rather small bathroom with old style unenticing whirlpool bath and billowing shower curtain over; bed linen high quality but not ironed so crumpled looking; and perhaps worst of all, no refrigerator and no room service, when the restaurant and bar were closed for two nights of our three night stay.  We had been informed of the lack of dining, by email, and booked into a restaurant elsewhere, but on arrival, when we asked about a taxi, as we both like to drink wine with dinner, we were greeted with hesitation and a bus timetable which proved useless. Amazingly, no mention was made of a bar over the road, which we discovered for ourselves to be great hospitality with excellent food. This bar, the Corral Bar, saved our stay.

To end positively, the general manager, Mollie, was great when we explained our disappointment. She refunded one night, which made the price about fair value. She also suggested that it is best to phone and book, so that our needs can be discussed and she can then indicate other options (turned out they have a few rooms now with king size beds and higher quality).

So, given the lack of luxury hotels in the area, this may be one of the best places to stay, but do understand that the rooms are highly over priced at full rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowranchlodge, General Manager at Rainbow Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
I wanted to follow up and again thank you for your feedback!  Your comments are being discussed and our team is doing its best to prevent future issues as what you expressed, we have already purchased additional refrigerators for rooms! I know that does not change your experience and I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concerns. 
I am glad that you did enjoy a few things Rainbow Ranch offered you.... Our friendly staff, a lovely breakfast, a sunny deck, free wifi, and our wonderful neighborhood bar across the street.
I apologize again for the problems, and thank you for taking the time to let me know about it. Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services.
I do hope you will give us a second chance and please CALL me personally to discuss options for your next stay. As explained on our website we do have rooms with king beds!
Thank you & safe travels! 
Mollie
406.995.4132
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
441 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our check in experience was tops in every way, the very pretty young lady was pleasant and so welcoming, could not have asked for better. A welcoming glass of wine was brought to our room, very nice touch and really nice to sit on our balcony and relax as we sipped our wine. There had been a wedding so we had the neat experience of watching the photo taking. What a serene setting for a wedding. Our room had two bedrooms, nicely appointed with oh so comfortable beds. Bath room was clean with very nice toiletries. Classical music was softly playing in the room on our arrival, I always enjoy being greeted in that manner, very soothing after a long day of driving.
Unfortunately their restaurant was closed that night, it has wonderful reviews. The receptionist recommended a place just up the road and made reservations for us.
Breakfast was good.
We had reserved three nights but on the day of our arrival our West Highland White Terrier had to be moved from our vet hospital where she was being treated to the vet school for more testing. We learned late that afternoon that she was terribly sick. The next morning I called the vet school, they had tried to call during the night but I didn't have cell service but did that morning. I was told that she was not making red blood cells and was not doing well at all so we had her put to sleep. I went to the office and told the receptionist our situation and that we were driving to Bozeman so my husband could fly back home to take care of things. this was July 31 and I to remain in Bozeman for a program at MSU until August 10. I could not have asked for better treatment by the receptionist, I am so sorry I can't remember her name but I was so upset. She was wonderful, and her hugs were most welcomed. They did not charge us for the remaining nights of our stay due to our circumstances. I really can't say enough about how graciously we were treated. Thank you for caring!
Great property and wonderful staff in a serene setting. Highly recommend Rainbow Ranch Lodge, you will so enjoy the experience. I hope to revisit during a happier time and also have the opportunity to experience their restaurant.

Room Tip: The two bedroom was very comfortable with good space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowranchlodge, General Manager at Rainbow Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review and for your kind words. We are happy that while at Rainbow Ranch you enjoyed our hospitality and the scenery! We were sorry to hear about the loss of your dear Terrier and feel confident in saying that she lived a rich and joyful life in your care!
Please be in touch as you have plans to head our way and we will make sure you have our BEST! We are looking forward to it!
Until then take good care and enjoy the beautiful fall!
Mollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place was just amazing. Little cottage on the river - private and very relaxing. The food was outstanding as was the service- but I didn't feel imposed on like when your at the Ritz. Very private_ loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentucked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowranchlodge, General Manager at Rainbow Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Friend of Rainbow Ranch,
Thank you for coming to visit!!! It was lovely to have you stay with us and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the time on the Gallatin as well as the food and service!
We will look forward to your return!
All my best!
Thank you,
Mollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallatin Gateway
3.6 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
10.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
10.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Ranch Lodge

Property: Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Address: 42950 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gallatin Gateway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainbow Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Ranch Lodge is an intimate twenty-one room hotel and gourmet restaurant located on the banks of the Gallatin River in Big Sky, Montana. Whether riverside or pondside, accommodations at Rainbow Ranch Lodge provide a sanctuary for post-adventure relaxing or a romantic getaway for two. Located in a sweeping valley in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's location is ideal for both summer and winter activities. Our proximity to Yellowstone National Park affords our guests endless opportunities for outdoor adventure and exploration, including world-class fly fishing, horseback riding, hiking, whitewater rafting, and kayaking. Whether you choose an experienced local guide service or venture out on your own, the breathtakingly rugged, natural beauty of southwest Montana will restore and rejuvenate your senses. One of the top 10 winter destinations in North America, the Big Sky area offers a variety of winters activities including downhill skiing at Big Sky Resort, Moonlight Basin and Lone Mountain Ranch, as well as cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, and winter fly fishing. If your winter preferences lean more towards comfort and warmth, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's spa services and luxurious guest rooms provide the perfect alternative to a day spent outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Rainbow Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Ranch Montana
Rainbow Ranch Lodge Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing