We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Guest Ranch!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of 320 Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
320 Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Guest Ranch!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

I have stayed at the 320 Guest Ranch on several occasions in the past and most recently this last February for a short winter ski break. The cabins are great and the scenery can't be beat. The ranch offers about any service you can think of, including sley rides - which are fantastic! The staff is super friendly and I can't say enough about the rustic ambiance of the main lodge, not to mention the excellent food (my hat is off to the chef). I have another trip planned for this October to get in a bit of fly fishing and horseback riding before winter. I can't wait!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubbaBear42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    69
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
140
86
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

We had dined at the restaurant in 1997 on our drive to Big Sky from Yellowstone. It was that fantastic meal along with a very professionally laid out website, that made us think this would be a great place to lodge with a large multi-generational family vacation. We were celebrating my inlaws 50th wedding anniversary. Having booked and paid in advance for a 3 bedroom "luxury" log home, we were a little upset when they put the 8 of us in a two bed single room cabin. I went backed to the office and they said that the 3 bedroom cabins were not available but that they would call the manager and see what they could do. We got the 3 bedroom cabin but not before the ranch hands came down and removed their things out of it. Obviously they had been partying in it. Breakfast was included and again the meal and service were great. We spent the morning walking the grounds which are beautiful. That afternoon we booked a tote ride for the two seven year olds in our party for 10:00am the next morning. All appeared to be fine as there was no one else on the schedule. The next morning we enjoyed another great breakfast and walked to the river and back the the office for the 10:00am horse ride for the children only to find out that a large group of adult riders had booked a two hour trail ride and that our children would be bumped to later that afternoon. We packed up and left and decided we could enjoy the great Montana hospitality elsewhere and sure enough we did.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank str8sh00ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

Sorry I'm late on posting, but just now got around to supporting 320 Ranch with a review. We lucked into this place when we were looking for a room for the night after arriving in Yellowstone National Park via Jackson Hole. We thought we could find a place easily since we were travelling after the long weekend in September. All accommodation in Yellowstone National Park is booked solid so you have to plan ahead. We phoned the 800 number for tourist accommodation in the area, and because we had a small bichon schituze dog, we needed a place that accepted animals. They booked us into 320 Ranch which is 30 minutes north from the west entrance of Yellowstone Park. A beautiful scenic drive up the valley and I must admit I was worried about the accommodation since it is a dude ranch. We were pleasantly surprised to get a cabin backing on the hill overlooking the valley. Big porch and very roomy. Absolutley no complaints about the room. What I did find amusing was my question about whether there was a restaurant on the site. The owner when he checked us in said sure, do you want me to make a reservation. I thought he was kidding since the place did not look booked up but I said sure. We got to the rustic cabin that has the lounge on one side but through leads into the main dining area. We had a super waitress, Annie?, who chatted us up the whole night and was a lot of fun. I'm very pleased to advise that we had a 4 star meal at that restaurant. From a really good wine list, appetizers and main plus a fantastic desert and coffee, everything was superb. This is not a sandwich place or a hamburger joint, this is a hidden gem of a fantastic restaurant with some very talented chefs. Due to the off season, and a minor mixup with our reservation via the 800 number, we got the room for $100 night. The dinner tab was $160 with the two bottles of great wine we had. No regrets at all, we woiuld have paid more. And then we found out that the room came with breakfast in the morning. Another great meal with eggs, bacon, sausage and all the cold stuff and cereal you would want. We drove away back into the Park for one last day and left via the north entrance. We kept talking about what a fantastic surprise and jewel 320 Ranch is for days. Frankly I would go out of my way to stay there if I was travelling in the area. You would not be disappointed. My wife is alergic to horses, but we had no problems since the horses are kept at a distance from the cabins and the area is very large and spacious. We are planning on returning for a short vacation wherein we can rent some quads and go fly fishing back in the hills. And then enjoy dining in that fantastic restaurant each night. Thanks 320 Ranch for the best surprise and night of our holidays last year. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappycampersCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Recently stayed at the 320 for a wedding. We shared a riverfront cabin with another couple and there was plenty of room. The cabin was clean, well appointed, and was definately in the best location on the ranch. Breakfast was included with room, and was always hearty! (not lo-cal!)

The ranch is in a great location just outside of Yellowstone, and minutes from Big Sky. Two area's for improvement- there is no cell service at the ranch (this may be beyond their control), and the only wi-fi is at the resort office.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelShopGirlVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the 320 Guest Ranch. The location seems remote but is a 15-minute ride to "town" (Big Sky). The countryside is gorgeous with mountain and canyon views along the Gallatin River for miles and miles. The rooms were cozy and the food was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. There are plenty of activities to enjoy or you can just sit back and take it easy. Don't miss the Monday evening BBQ or the Wednesday evening hayride/cookout cowboy-style down by the river. The only down-side for me is that there is no internet access and no cell phone coverage until you get to Big Sky. So, it's really a place to get away from it all!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

For some time we have wanted to visit a dude ranch in Montana but were put off by the high per person pricing and the requirement that you spend an entire week, which is the norm at so many of the ranches. I am not a horse lover (although other members of my family are) and it just did not make sense to me to pay up to $3,000 per person for a week at a ranch.So, the 320 was a perfect compromise for us.

Recently we stayed at the 320 Ranch after a week in Jackson Hole, and it really worked out well and we had a good time. We only stayed for three days, and were able to do fly fishing and horse riding on an "a la carte" basis which suited us fine.

We stayed in one of the two bedroom riverfront cabins, and there was plenty of space and clean, somewhat basic but comfortable furnishings. We had a very good time on the trail rides (it's true, the horses only walk but that's all I could manage anyway - my kids did a private lesson wherein they trotted and did more but that is way more than I wanted from a horse!) - All of the staff was friendly and nice and it felt very comfortable and not too fake or overly commercial. It's in a beautiful setting (although right off the road) and gave us just what we were looking for.

  • Liked — Lovely setting, nice people
  • Disliked — Beds could be more comfortable.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RdSxfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

Loved it! My husband,18 year old son, 20 year old daughter(now living in Missoula) and I went there for 3 nights. Great place and great people, from the trail guides(Becky was very good)to our fly fishing guide(David)and all the staff in between, They all seem to genuinely love this place(can't blame them)and have a personal interest in making it suceed. Nice breakfast with some hot food in the morning included in the price, one morning it was eggs bacon and sausage along with the usual fruit and cereals and the food was wonderful altho only open for breakfast and dinner. Had a great sandwich for dinner one night in the bar area and a fantastic steak another. Our lodge was beautiful, with a full kitchen and plenty of room for all(rams head lodge, I think was the name)and included a grill which we made some fantastic steaks we picked up in West Yellowstone one night. We did the half day trail ride and it was beautiful!!!Also fly fishing on the pond was perfect for us beginners, especailly as the Gallentin was too rough and high for good fishing. Great whitewater rafting tho.Good luck to the 320 and the staff(Annie you were great, and Daniel in the bar is a very nice guy)you would be hard-pressed to find a nicer place with a nicer bunch.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank deadguppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallatin Gateway
10.0 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
11.9 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
32.0 mi away
Canyon Cabins
Canyon Cabins
#1 of 2 in Gallatin Gateway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 320 Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 320 Guest Ranch

Property: 320 Guest Ranch
Address: 205 Buffalo Horn Creek Rd, Mile Marker 36, Hwy 191, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730-9606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gallatin Gateway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 320 Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're Montana's premier year-round guest ranch, where you can horseback ride, hike, fish, ski, snowmobile, sightsee, raft, and just plain have fun, all in the warm and friendly atmosphere of a classic Western guest ranch. The 320 is perfect for everything from family vacations, weddings and romantic getaways, to hosting your company's next event or meeting. Flexible accommodation options and activity programs ensure that everyone will have the trip of a lifetime. Stay a day, a week, a month, or anything in between. Take whatever time you need to relax, rejuvenate, and escape from the stresses of your busy life. You deserve to spend some time at the 320 Guest Ranch ... more   less 
Also Known As:
320 Guest Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
320 Guest Ranch Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing