We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible rooms, service and beauty at the 320 Ranch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 320 Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
320 Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible rooms, service and beauty at the 320 Ranch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed one night at the 320 Guest Ranch. My daughter loves riding horses and my husband runs trails so it met both of their needs being near so many great trails. The rooms were plush, clean and peaceful. We stayed in a smaller cabin not near the river but it was backed up to a bubbling creek. We fished in the Gallatin River nearby on the property. My daughter and I paid for a half day horseback ride with Amber across the freeway to a ridgeline with incredible views. Amber was a perfect wrangler who talked horses with my 10-year-old daughter the entire way. My husband got his 18+ mile run in by running to a nearby peak and back. The breakfast was amazing and included in the already reasonable price for one night at the ranch. The service was exceptional at the front desk, in the restaurant and in the horse barn. We will come back!

Room Tip: Book a horseback ride! It was so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
320GuestRanch, Manager at 320 Guest Ranch, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and your ride - the best place to see Montana is from the back of a horse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    69
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
140
85
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of five stayed for four nights in the Madison cabin. It was beautiful, spacious and immaculately kept. The floor plan worked great for us - one bedroom on the main level and two on the lower level for our teenagers. The kitchen was well supplied and the common space was comfortable and welcoming. With the windows open at night, the sound of the stream going by was the perfect background noise for a deep sleep.

The people at the ranch were very friendly and helped us plan activities in the area. We ate breakfast at the lodge every morning and enjoyed the pig roast ($10 all you can eat - what a deal!) and had one fancier meal in the restaurant. Our waiter, Laurent, was very attentive and well-informed on the food and wine choices.

Two of my children did the trail ride and really enjoyed the guide who kept them both entertained. It''s about 15 minutes to Big Sky (and the grocery store), 40 minutes to Yellowstone park entrance. Our stay couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
320GuestRanch, Manager at 320 Guest Ranch, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. The three bedrooms homes are some of our most popular accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family, 2 kids ages 13 and 10, stayed in early July 2013. Large riverfront 2 bedroom cabin with good access for flyfishing on Gallatin river in front of the cabin and all up and down the main roads. Four hour trail ride into the mountains had a good time, rode through a group of grazing Elk. Nice basic, breakfast. Many organized family activities available. 36 miles north of West Yellowstone entrance and 10 mi. to Big Sky. Would be nice if kids activities were offered.

Room Tip: Book early to get good deal on a riverfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoHeels93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

As a family of 6 from Australia (three couples) we stayed in 320 Ranch in mid December 2012 and can say nothing short of the fact that we fell in love.

Seeing that our Australian Christmases are hot and dry, it was absolutely magical to stay in the snowy ranch just before Christmas. All of the staff at the ranch were friendly, helpful and conversational, which was lucky as we had a million questions for them about life and culture in Montata and the Big Sky area. While saying on the ranch we skied at Big Sky Resort and had snow shoe tour through Yellowstone, and while these were wonderful activities there was really nothing that I looked forward to more than coming back to the ranch and spending the night in the warm, cheerful dining room where we played pool, drank cocktails, sat by the Christmas tree and the fireplace and enjoyed some of the most AMAZING food - the hot wings and the watermelon glazed ribs? To DIE for. I still tell people about them in Australia.

Breakfast was always satisfying and a nice array of hot and cold items, plus all sorts of teas and of course coffees. There is always a friendly staff member floating around the dining room or doing jobs around the ranch and we quickly became friends with many of them. Our night time dessert sleigh ride was magical and like nothing i've ever experienced before - huge Clydesdale type horses and a real old rickety wooden sleigh led us out to a remote corner of the property where we enjoyed berry cobbler, popcorn and your choice of warm nightcap within a wooden-floored tent around an old stove. I had hot chocolate laced with peppermint schnapps and while it was an absolutely FREEZING night outside the tent this warmed me up and felt like a truly authentic and magical christmas experience.

Finallly the most amazing thing was of course the scenery. 320 ranch must be absolutely stunning in the spring, summer and autumn months but in winter it really looked like something from a christmas postcard. It was absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed gazing at the crisp, cold, blue scenery from the warmth of the outdoor hot tub. An amazing juxtaposition.

320 Ranch is a MUST for ANYONE going to America - I fell in love and will be back. It was one of the happiest and most magical times of my life. To put it in a nutshell - we spent the actual week of Christmas in New York a week later... and wished we were back at 320 Ranch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed in the Lewis & Clark lodge which was spacious (sleeps about 12 in the 3 bedrooms) and a great location for us to enjoy big sky (12 miles) and Yellowstone both. We did not utilize riding services as the minimum age was 8 for their trail rides. We enjoyed hiking around the grounds and their food was great

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WIM0m0f4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went on a two hour ride prior to BBQ dinner by the riverside.
Trail was mostly easy to simple grades.
Scenery is beautiful as most of Big Sky will be.
Tack was good and horses were well mannered for most of the ride.
For some reason my horse did not like me rubbing my hat and proceeded to bolt thru the picture meadow.
Fortunately I am an experienced rider and hauling this guy in was an attention getter!
He settled in afterwards and remained fine.
My wife's horse for some reason about 3/4 of the way into the ride began tossing his head forward.
Many attempts to resolve and correct this proved unsuccessful, she opted to walk the remaining 1/4 mile to the BBQ.
Horses are a finicky lot and we understand that trail horses can have their quirks.
The staff was splendid as this lot should have no quirks!
The setting at 320 is very nice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband, 8 year old grandson and I stayed Monday thru Friday at the ranch. We had a wonderful time! The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in river cabin 12 and it was very lovely. You could tell that it had just been updated as everything looked new. The cabin was clean and quite inviting. My grandson was quite taken with the fireplace and had to have a fire every night. The staff made that quite easy by providing split wood stacked on the porch and wood shavings to start the fire. The breakfasts were quite good. On Monday they had a pig roast and it was very tasty. We only ate dinner there once, but it was very good. We spent most of out time on tours of Yellowstone. We went on tours with Alpen tours in West Yellowstone who were recommended by the staff at the ranch. The staff of the ranch accommodated by grandsons desire to fish in their pond by providing him with a fishing pole. The whole property is beautiful. Visiting there from the San Joaquin valley, the scenery is very different, green everywhere and the incredible blue sky. The horseback ride we took allowed us to see parts of the property that we would not have seen otherwise. As we were riding, the guide was giving us a history of the ranch and it was very interesting. They also had a volley ball net and horseshoes that you could play. My only regret is that it was too cold to open the windows at night and listen to the sound of the Gallatin river rushing by, I would recommend this ranch to all. If I ever get back to Montana, I would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: On this place, I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallatin Gateway
10.0 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
11.9 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
24.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gallatin Gateway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 320 Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 320 Guest Ranch

Property: 320 Guest Ranch
Address: 205 Buffalo Horn Creek Rd, Mile Marker 36, Hwy 191, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730-9606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gallatin Gateway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 320 Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're Montana's premier year-round guest ranch, where you can horseback ride, hike, fish, ski, snowmobile, sightsee, raft, and just plain have fun, all in the warm and friendly atmosphere of a classic Western guest ranch. The 320 is perfect for everything from family vacations, weddings and romantic getaways, to hosting your company's next event or meeting. Flexible accommodation options and activity programs ensure that everyone will have the trip of a lifetime. Stay a day, a week, a month, or anything in between. Take whatever time you need to relax, rejuvenate, and escape from the stresses of your busy life. You deserve to spend some time at the 320 Guest Ranch ... more   less 
Also Known As:
320 Guest Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
320 Guest Ranch Montana/Gallatin Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing