We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Union Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$85
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ski's Western Motel(Great Falls)
$70
$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Greystone Inn(Great Falls)
$80
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midtown Motel(Great Falls)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'Haire Motor Inn(Great Falls)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Great Falls(Great Falls)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Great Falls(Great Falls)
$99
$89
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Motel(Great Falls)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Plaza Inn(Great Falls)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
167
52
8
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
52
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmissouri riverbeautiful historic hotelgreat fallsmontana historycentury hotelmodern convenienceswalk along the rivergreat view of the riverhistorical markerslewis and clarkhotel restaurantcomfortable roomsthird floorroom was largecomplimentary breakfastfresh fruitrestoration
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 229 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed in the off-season and the dining room wasn't open on that particular evening, so we ate at another local establishment, somewhat of a disapointment. The room we had was small but clean, quiet and had a nice view. It was quite warm in this upper level floor and we had the window partly open all night.
There are historical photos and items scattered throughout the hotel, which we spent quite a while viewing. The morning breakfast was fantastic, and a couple of special requests were no problem for the staff.
One odd item was that there must have been some shifting of the building over the past hundred years, as the floor in our room was off-level by several inches from one side to the other. Enough so that you could feel it walking back and forth, and the cabinets were oddly setting at an angle with respect to the walls

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelRockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Union Hotel in August of 2009. The hotel is located beside the river and our room also had a river view. The room was small and did not have a closet so we were a little cramped for space. However, we did not spend very much time there. We enjoyed a leisurely stroll along the river and through the small town. There are three very good museums just blocks from the hotel. The county fair was in town during our visit and it was a real slice of local life to visit the exhibits and the rodeo. The hotel's location is very convenient for excursions into the surrounding areas, including river trips. We ate dinner each night in the hotel restaurant and were never disappointed. The service and food is superior.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMcColes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Union Hotel recently after hearing about this historic hotel for several years. It was a wonderful experience and certainly lived up to the recommendations we had heard from our friends. The hotel is beautifully restored and has a wonderful location overlooking the Missouri River in Fort Benton. Highlights of our stay included the beauty of the hotel itself, the friendly staff, and a great dinner in the restaurant followed by a leisurely soak in the large claw foot tub in our room.

A small disappointment for me was that although the master suite we booked for the night was very nice, it didn’t quite live up to my expectations for a “most spacious and luxurious room.” Having stayed in other suites in historic hotels, I guess I imagined special features like a fireplace, historic antique furnishings, and captivating art on the walls. Our suite was spacious, pleasant, and comfortable, but not inspiring.

This small disappointment was more than made up for by the rest of our experience at the Grand Union and we will certainly be back for another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

As per other reviewers we enjoyed staying in a junior suite , in actuality a large room, overlooking both the park and the Missouri river. The included breakfast was excellent. The items for sale in the gift shop are perfect for this historic hostelry. The town is small ,historic and definitely worth exploring. We enjoyed a "homecooked" dinner at Bob's. For lovers of history the place to stay in Fort Benton

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Historic old hotel on the banks of the Missouri River. Small, but nicely appointed rooms. (air conditioned) Five star dining in restaurant or on the patio overlooking the Missouri River. Also a great "bar menu" with varied choices.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twodot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews