We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary trip didn't dissapoint” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Union Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Certificate of Excellence
Bozeman, Montana, United States
1 review
“Anniversary trip didn't dissapoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Union for our anniversary weekend. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was great. We ate at the restaurant one night and enjoyed the best meal we have ever had! The steak was amazing and worth every penny! Breakfast was much more than a continental spread. My only suggestions for improvement was that the bed wasn't difficult for me to sleep on (I have some back issues, though only 21 years old) and the coffee in the morning had a weird taste (maybe the machine needs clean)...but all minor details that only I would probably notice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 331BrookeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    47
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
118
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hugo, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We wish we could have spent more time here, for sure. Lovely old hotel, lots of history, fantastically comfortable room/bed. Staff was friendly, efficient, energetic. Breakfast was amazing. Unfortunately we were there on an evening when the Union Grill was closed - will try harder to schedule next time. Dorothy has SO many great ideas for involving the community in this historic place, would love to come up again when some of the activities are going on. We were there in mid-March, definitely "off-season", snowy, and were the only people staying that night. Could have been creepy if you are into ghosts, but it was a friendly aura! Absolutely, DO NOT MISS this place! Would be great for a family reunion, too.

Room Tip: Get one with a river view, if possible. So peaceful to see the Missouri flowing by. Don't know i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Some wonderful 19th century opulence in the heart of Montana next to the Missouri River. Surprisingly comfortable rooms (try to get one with a view of the river), creaking floors, and a generally spooky atmosphere (all of which I enjoy) adds up to one of the great hotel experiences available.
The jewel-in-the-crown is the Union Grill restaurant; one of the better dining establishments I've ever entered. Weather permitting, dine on the riverside patio.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Helena, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband surprised me with a peaceful and romantic stay at the Grand Union. Our first stay. Hotel, room and dinning were simply exceptional! We walked hand in hand next to the Missouri in the crisp air with the sun gently warming our faces. This town is bursting with history. You can almost hear and feel the hustle and bustle of times long past. So exciting to us. The icing on the cake was seeing, once again, our instant friend from years ago, Dorothy! My husband did not tell me where we were going, once there and already in awe of the hotel, out from behind the desk appears Dorothy! I almost cried. With Dorothy's help, there was wine and flowers waiting for me in the room. Very touched. Thank you staff for an amazing stay. Dorothy, you rock girl!

Sincerely,
The Sittons

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I have been going to the Grand Union for years, it is our number one choice for date nights! The rooms are so romantic and beautiful it is a wonderful place to go and order a bottle of champagne and relax and rejuvenate. The Union Grill has never disappointed us and we defiantly have never left hungry. The staff is top notch and the food is absolutely AMAZING, the new Chef Nick has taken the food to the next level, the heart and soul he puts into his cooking shows. Since we ate there last we haven't stopped raving about how great our meal was! We are counting the days till we can go again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Union for their 130th anniversary and it was one of the most memoriable experiences we have ever had in our travels. The hotel is wonderful and the people who work there are outstanding! Dorothy Meyer at the front desk helped to make our stay fun, relaxing and most enjoyable. She is exceptionally hospitable and goes above and beyond in making people feel welcome. Combined with her warmth and efficiency she is alot of fun!! My husband and I will definitely be visiting again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Grand Union Hotel in Fort Benton is a marvelous time travel into the past. As you enter the front doors of the hotel, you walk into a lobby that congers up images of the Wild West. The hotel has a lovely dining room with a dinner menu that is most appetizing. The staff are most courteous and helpful. There is an array of rooms to chose from, each with its own personality. My wife and I enjoyed staying in those rooms that overlook the mighty Missouri river. The scenery is beautiful. We give the Grand Union a thumbs up recommendation.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the south side overlooking the Missouri River. A beautiful view! You will not be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Union Hotel

Property: Grand Union Hotel
Address: 1 Grand Union Square, PO Box 1119, Fort Benton, MT 59442
Location: United States > Montana > Fort Benton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Union Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Grand Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing