We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Union Grill at old hotel in Fort Benton, MT”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Union Grille

Union Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving Montana Regional Cuisine in a Historic setting. Patio dining next to the Missouri River. Many ingredients are locally sources and our trained Chef cooks dishes according to the season. AAA three diamond rating.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Union Grill at old hotel in Fort Benton, MT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a wonderful experience in this beautifully reconditioned 1880's grand hotel. I ate in the bar (with the same menu available as the dining room) as I was dressed pretty shabbily. I was treated so well by the staff and served a fabulous pasta dish of pappardelle and spicy clam sauce. The clams were in the shell and perfectly prepared served with very decent bread and small green salad. Good wine-by-the-glass selection I was pleased with. Overall a very good experience in this hot part of the state where a bit of luxury feels oh so good!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    27
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Camrose,Alberta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food and ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great dinner and nice atmosphere. Service is a little slow but why be in a hurry at such a nice place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gordyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon MA, USA
Level Contributor
315 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“high end restaurant -- fabulous river view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a high end place -- with a named chef and many fancy ingredients listed on the menu.

We ate on the patio with a fabulous view of the river. This was the best part of the dinner.

The food was good but somewhat ordinary -- didn't seem to justify the high price tag.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shakespeare_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana
Level Contributor
161 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

From the service, the waitstaff, food - wonderful! Beautiful building and lovely room. Our waitress was so kind and thoughtful, the chef came to our table to see if everything was to our liking. Dinner started with a lovely, simple salad, we dined on the buffalo and beef sirloin, the side vegetable,s zucchini squash/blooms - Delicious. Adequate wine/beer menu.
Not overly priced for what we received.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank threeamigos59405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Always a treat!! We love stopping here and have never has a bad meal. The new menu is great. It is such a gem to find in this part of the state and worth the hour drive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Grille also viewed

 
Fort Benton, MT
 

Been to Union Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing