We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Izaak Walton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Izaak Walton Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
East Glacier, Montana
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This review is for the Restaurant. The food is delicious and creative, and the wait-staff is very professional and friendly. My husband and I had their Easter Sunday special: shrimp eggs Benedict, and it was superb. We also had the Mother's Day buffet, and it was bountiful. The dishes were scrumptious and freshly-prepared, the view from the enclosed patio was so pretty, and the service was excellent (Michael gets special credit here.) The Chef really knows his business. And the mimosas were perfect.

I look forward to dining here regularly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaFolsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzaakWaltonInn, General Manager at Izaak Walton Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Hello MarisFolsom,

I am so pleased to read you really love our food and service. Our Chefs and wait team enjoy making memorable moments and I'm so glad you have had multiple great experiences here! Thank you for taking the to time to review us and I hope to see you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Julia Garvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    163
    68
    32
    18
See reviews for
165
233
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Not at all friendly. Stayed two days and left. Cold and snow but never built a fire. Would not serve us at restaurant on first night because of a gp of 17 there. Sent us to a horrible roadhouse 25 miles away as only option.
Room was ice cold and staff did not respond to repair it.
They made a big deal about their restaurant. It had a B- health dept rating.
Expensive, but not worth it

Room Tip: Don't select second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzaakWaltonInn, General Manager at Izaak Walton Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Hello Rob D,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and you encountered problems while you were here. I would love the opportunity to talk about this further. Please contact me directly at 406-888-5700 if you would like. Our team would really like the chance to make a positive impression in the future so I hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Julia Garvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for our 15th anniversary because the year before we had dinner in the restaurant and it was very good. Unfortunately, things changed greatly over the year.

I will start with the rudeness of our server. There were no chicken dishes on the menu other than a salad. I asked if a chicken dish could be made. The server tried 3 times to push the pheasant on me even after I explained I do not eat pheasant. She acted as those I was being unreasonable but would “ask” the chef. When she came back, she said the chef would swap the pheasant for the chicken but that was all he was willing to do. He was unwilling to alter anything else with the meal. Since I am from Montana, I know not everyone here eats game food and my request was not unreasonable. We decided not to stay for dinner. As we were leaving, we noticed the posted grade from the health department which was a B-.This grade was given the day of our arrival, April 11th. We looked up the survey and just one of the things was month old expired milk in the refrigerator. Again that was just one item.

We rented the luxury locomotive GN441. In the description online it says there is a tv and skylights. What it does not say is the tv is only useable for dvds and the skylights are covered in winter; not with snow, but with actual covers.

This locomotive comes with a full kitchen. There were dishes, silverware and pots that were put away with food still on them. There was a folded dishtowel in the drawer that had food stains on it. It was disgusting.

There were 2 thermostats in the locomotive. We turned off both but heat stayed on in the bedroom. We had to open a window in order to sleep.

There are 2 porthole windows in the bedroom and one in the living room but there are no window coverings. How do you not have window coverings in the bedroom?

It is an area which gets a lot of snow which is why we went. The main parking area and the road to the Inn were completely cleared. However, the driveway for the locomotive had about 4-6 inches of packed snow which was now ice. This went up to the bottom step of the stairs to our locomotive. There were 2 entrances but we couldn’t even use the other because snow went up about 3 steps of the stairs. This made walking to the car and down the driveway when we went for walks very dangerous. We had been watching the webcams for the area and at the Inn. The roads were all clear so we did not drive with our studded snow tires. Getting in and out of the driveway was difficult. There are trees you need to get around and we slid many times. We were not driving fast, just trying to park and leave.

The mattress was awful. Definitely not something you would expect to find in a room that cost so much. One side caved in so bad it was as though they were storing things on it. Once you were in it, it was difficult to get out.

I asked for a substantial refund for the problems we had. This is the response I received:

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. I will look at each situation accordingly and take necessary action, but at this time cannot offer a refund for your stay.

Thank you,

If you read the other poor reviews, you will see they got the same types of responses. The locomotives rate was $259 a night for an off season stay. There are many other places you can stay that are better and less expensive.

All 3 nights we drove to Columbia Falls and had dinner at the Three Forks Grille. They scored an A and everyone was pleasant.

It was a special occasion for us and they ruined that.

Michele

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Don't stay here if you want TV, phones in the room and a Holiday Inn type of stay. Do stay if you like railroad history, outstanding service and great food. This place is really fun, it isn't like a sterile city hotel and while expensive the food is superb.

The staff is friendly and professional.

Room Tip: The Empire Builder rooms in the Main lodge are rustic and fun. The steam radiators can be a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque_Hendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Once again, the staff, especially chef Jason, created a magical weekend of fine dining, wine tasting and fun at the Inn. This past weekend was the final wine tasting weekend for the season. It was a marvelous end to a long winter....can't wait until next season! Thanks so much for a great time!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed 2 nights last weekend in the Orange Caboose - it was cozy and magical. The Caboose was across the tracks up on the hill, so the staff helped get our luggage and skis there in a Kubota utility rig. We loved our stay. The Caboose was small and rustic but clean, the bed was good and we enjoyed the trains going by. The x-country skiing was outstanding, fun, on well groomed trails with just enough hills to be interesting. A special treat was sharing the trail will a cow moose! We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funseeker1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I got a groupon deal so rate was very reasonable. I would have been disappointed if I had paid the standard $139/night, but then I am pretty frugal. This is a historic hotel with steam heat- heat is louder than the trains- trains actually are not too bad. No insulation between rooms so you can hear conversation next door, person above running shower etc. I have had this experience in historic hotels before so knew to bring ear plugs which helped.
I booked this months in advance planning on XC skiing, however both my husband and I were injured and not able to ski- not much to do otherwise in winter, without driving at least a half hour.
There is a hot tub which is nice.
Restaurant is VERY overpriced. A cup of gumbo for $12? (and was the worst gumbo I have had). The salads and deserts were the best. Also had $32 Bison steak which we had to send back, ordered medium rare and it was bleeding, barely touched the skillet. On top of soggy fries. Not impressed, besides the salads and deserts.

Room Tip: Bring Earplugs anytime you visit a historic hotel Bring your own food and splurge on a salad for lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fearlessmsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
22.6 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glacier Haven Inn
Glacier Haven Inn
#2 of 5 in Essex
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
22.6 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Izaak Walton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izaak Walton Inn

Property: Izaak Walton Inn
Address: 290 Izaak Walton Inn Rd, Essex, MT 59916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Izaak Walton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Izaak Walton Inn & Resort, a family-owned retreat bordering Glacier National Park, in Essex, Montana. Specializing in outdoor adventure and serious relaxation, the Inn hosts activities year round fitting any age, interest and experience level including cross country skiing and guided back country tours, hiking, horse back riding, white water rafting to slow float and larger boat excursions. No matter what time of year you choose to visit, what pace you'll set your journey to, enjoy the nature, the history, and the hospitality found at the Izaak Walton Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Izaak Walton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Izaak Walton Hotel Essex
Izaak Walton Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing