We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay”
Review of Izaak Walton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Izaak Walton Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I first want to say that I really enjoyed our stay at the Inn. We were a family group of 15 and the Inn was all we hoped it would be. Members of our party stayed in the Luxury Locomotive, Red Caboose, and Main Lodge. It was perfect for our group but there are some important things that people should know that aren't necessarily advertised. First, the Inn is very rustic and the main lodge is an old building that hasn't been updated with many modern amenities. It does not have AC (neither do the cabooses) and it has no elevator. If climbing stairs is a problem, this isn't the place for you. The lounge, bar, game room, and interesting memorabilia in the basement aren't accessible if you can't negotiate stairs. There are a handful of rooms on the first floor, otherwise, you have to take the stairs to the 2nd and 3rd floors. Help with luggage wasn't readily available and we didn't ask, so I don't know if the staff is expected to provide "bell man service". Also, there are no phones with exception of the front desk and cell phone service wasn't available, at least for my carrier. The caboose was fun for kids but be prepared to climb a ladder to reach the upper berths and the bathroom and shower are tiny. The luxury locomotive was truly luxurious but requires climbing lots of stairs to reach the entrance. Hotel staff are not on duty 24 hours/day. Once the front desk staff leave for the night, you are on your own. The doors are locked for protection and you are only allowed access inside with your room key. There is only one dining room for meals. The food was good but a little pricey, especially for families. It is a working railroad yard, so trains pass through all night. It is exciting if you are a train enthusiast, not so much if you are a light sleeper trying to rest!
We loved our stay at the Inn. It was something very different than anything we had ever experienced. We took a Red Bus Tour through Glacier via the Going To The Sun Road which was great.
My advice to anyone thinking of staying at the Inn would be to call and express any special requests before booking. Although this was perfect for us and was a great experience, it may not be for everyone. I would stay again if my travels ever bring me back to that part of country. It was part of a great family vacation that we all enjoyed.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $$ if you can and book the Luxury Locomotive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    172
    68
    32
    18
See reviews for
170
237
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed Christmas Eve an Christmas day. We had 18 family members in 4 rooms. Three of the rooms were caboose cars converted into hotel rooms. They were real nice, worth the stay. We skied and snowshoed all day and gathered at the Lodge and had meals. Food was excellent, service was great. They really made us feel at home. The main hotel has every thing you need for great stay, lots of history for train buffs.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Burke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice clean rooms at an affordable rate. Staff at hotel are very accommodating.
Restaurant features fine dining with a local selection of menu items. They have specialty drinks that I found unique - and really good! We have stayed there twice and had great experiences both times. Peaceful and relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Junction, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very nice x country trails, and snow when it can't be found elsewhere in Glacier due to the altitude and geography. The rooms in train cars/engines are fascinating but pretty pricey. Local fare includes some very good huckleberry dishes, and bison dishes, with a view of the rail (and trails. Be aware that Essex is pretty much the Inn - but for snow, xcountry and lunch, its enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in the inn itself and, since both my grandfathers were railroad men, I was charmed by the railroad memorabilia and the inn's proximity to a working rail line. We took a couple of short hikes from in the inn and enjoyed them. Our room was large by national park standards. But the bathroom floor was not clean. Neither was the upholstry. We ordered dinner that night in the dining room. The menu was interesting, but the quality of the food was poor. There are better places to stay when you visit Glacier National Park.T

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank picklesMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzaakWaltonInn, General Manager at Izaak Walton Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
picklesMinnesota, I am glad to hear you enjoyed the railroad memorabilia and the trails behind the Inn but very sorry to hear other aspects of your stay were poor. This is not at all the experience we hope for our guests to receive. I have shared your review with all the staff. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were staying elsewhere but wanted to see the Izaak Walton Inn. Someone had told us they had the "best food in the park", so we decided to have dinner. The dining room was booked. After checking with the chef, they said we could sit downstairs in the bar and order off of the dining room menu. The bartender was friendly and informative. Indeed, our dinner did turn out to be one of the best meals we had on our two week trip through Glacier, Banff and Jasper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed with three old HS buddies in one of their cabooses mid-September 2012. Caboose was a little cramped for four but we figured that going in; clean, complete with all the kitchen we needed. Dined several times at the Inn and found the food very good and reasonably priced. The setting is excellent if you enjoy train action but some might grow tired of the throb from a constantly idling diesel; I actually found it soothing. Essex is a postage stamp, the Inn and a few unrelated cabins - nothing else that I could see. A little more drive than I might have wished from either of the main entrances to Glacier. All that said I plan to return with my wife but will probably try a room in the Inn proper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
1.3 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
38 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#4 of 6 in East Glacier Park
239 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Glacier Haven Inn
Glacier Haven Inn
#3 of 5 in Essex
64 reviews
22.6 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
21.2 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#4 of 10 in East Glacier Park
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Izaak Walton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izaak Walton Inn

Property: Izaak Walton Inn
Address: 290 Izaak Walton Inn Rd, Essex, MT 59916-9708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Izaak Walton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Izaak Walton Inn & Resort, a family-owned retreat bordering Glacier National Park, in Essex, Montana. Specializing in outdoor adventure and serious relaxation, the Inn hosts activities year round fitting any age, interest and experience level including cross country skiing and guided back country tours, hiking, horse back riding, white water rafting to slow float and larger boat excursions. No matter what time of year you choose to visit, what pace you'll set your journey to, enjoy the nature, the history, and the hospitality found at the Izaak Walton Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Izaak Walton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Izaak Walton Hotel Essex
Izaak Walton Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing