We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priceless”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glacier Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glacier Haven Inn
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Priceless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the Inn Aug 1-5, 2014 while we explored Glacier Park. The hotel was super clean and comfortable. We slept well even though a train and highway border the inn (ear plugs and a fan help). Can't say enough positive things about the family that owns and works at the hotel.They are gracious, kind and knowledgeable about the area and what to do. My husband and I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

I have stayed at luxury hotels that did not have the attention to detail that Glacier Haven Inn does. The motel is run by a family that manages to make you feel as if you've stepped into their home, had dinner in their dining room, and a good night's sleep in the best guest room at the motel. No joke, these people are a cut above. Clean, comfortable beds, quilts that are spotless and that look handmade. Microwave and fridge are in the room, so after a nice home-cooked meal, remember to bring back a piece of REAL homemade Huckleberry pie. Randy or Julie will tell you how to heat it up for that unique midnight snack. As it is a small place, the restaurant hours are limited so if you're the snacking type, you should buy something to put in the fridge. The railroad runs behind the motel, but you'll find you can hear that wherever you stay. The motel is close to the road, but I turned on the fan for some white noise. My girlfriend and I stayed in Room 7.

Room Tip: Room 7 was very clean and comfortable with all hand built molding and special touches. NOT your aver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaCroppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

On our trip to Glacier Nat. Park we stayed at this lovely little family owned motel. Again, TA reviews helped me locate our lodging. This is the CLEANEST motel I have ever stayed in. I am not sure how they keep it so clean but they do. The rooms have a "cabin" feel with cozy beds, refrig., & microwave. Even though this lodging is on a highway, I would consider the location very good. Not a lot of restaurants close by however, the café on site has good reasonably priced meals. Owners were kind and very social. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mybagispacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

On a recent trip to Glacier Park we stayed two nights at the Glacier Haven Inn. This Inn was a great place to stay. The owners were most helpful in providing information about how to enjoy our time at Glacier. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne - Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We were so pleased with this motel. We booked over the phone, then received a very informative email confirmation from Randy and Julie, advising various tour options available that they would be pleased to help with during our stay. Julie checked us in and what a beautiful and proud Montana girl she is. The information she gave us on how best to spend our couple of days at Glacier was outstanding. If going we recommend entering the park through the west gate, stopping at Apgar Village then driving around Lake McDonald and up to Logan Pass, scenery is amazing and it is only then that you realise the enormity of the park. Going this way has you on the outside of the road and you are not trying to take in the view through other cars, there are many pull offs on the way. From Logan Pass you then take the Road to the Sun, road a little rough but ok, this takes you across the top to St Mary where you take in the lake, beautiful. If you are visiting in the right season head out to Many Glacier to do the two lake tour, so very peaceful. All hikes are well marked and the visitor centres can give you great information about each (length of hike etc). There are a number of small places to eat so that is not a problem. Glacier Haven Inn is so cute, rooms are of a good size, rustic with great mountain charm, amazingly clean and comfortable. We had a great stay and would come back again. Thanks Julie for your help

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Made a reservation one night and called next morning to cancel had to change my plans !!! Owner said NO REFUND had to give 31 day notice OMG I understand if I had made reservation months in advance but less than 24 hours PLEASE!!!! Very inconsiderate would not refund my money.
DON'T STAY HERE

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Essex hotels

Veguita,NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Julie was a wonderful hostess and very helpful. The room was small but clean. We thought the train would bother us but were so tired from active days that we slept well. The homemade huckleberry coffee cake and cinnamon rolls were to die for!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veguita_NMTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
6.2 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
5.0 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
17.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#2 of 7 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
18.2 mi away
Glacier General Store and Cabins
18.4 mi away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#2 of 4 in Hungry Horse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Haven Inn

Property: Glacier Haven Inn
Address: 14305 US Highway 2 E, Essex, MT 59916-9717
Location: United States > Montana > Essex
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glacier Haven Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 miles from West Glacier, we are centrally located between East Glacier and West Glacier.Our fully remodeled, wildlife themed rooms feature a queen bed with a full or twin bed, full bath, satellite TV with HBO, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The fully remodeled, three-bedroom cabin is your home away from home. This cabin can sleep up to 8 people. It has a full kitchen, living room and laundry facilities. We even have a great camping cabin in our RV Park next door. While you gaze into Glacier National Park, the cafe will satisfy your taste buds with home-style meals. There is a fresh breakfast buffet and we offer home cooked meals for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glacier Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing