We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, quiet, and clean with a convenient location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Western Cabins & Lodges
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ennis
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet, and clean with a convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in Enis, MT because of it's close proximity to Virginia City and Nevada City. The El Western cabins were a very convenient place to stay. The cabins appear very rustic but they're super clean and very comfortable. The bathroom is a little small but very adequate. If needed, you can choose a cabin with a kitchenette or Lodges are available across the street. The cabins are mostly duplex style (see photos) but there were no noises from our neighbors. The staff were friendly and round up an ironing board for us. Enis is well known for its great fishing. It's a cabin and one of the better cabins I've ever stayed in. We'll stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We came through from Yellowstone on a road trip. I'm really glad we decided to stay here. It was a great place and the woman who runs it was very knowledgeable and helpful when I asked her questions about what we planned to do in Montana to make sure it would fit into our schedule. There were three of us, so the room with the twin and the double bed (Trout Lodge) worked well for us. This was one of the best finds on our trip for a comfortable, easily accessible hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlynn117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSON
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was our first time to stay at the El Western while visiting Ennis. It was a wonderful stay. We stayed in a Superior Creekside Cabin which was rustic yet nice. Beautiful grounds, running stream and Tippet the Golden Retreiver welcomes you when you arrive. We booked our next stay prior to leaving. You won't want to miss this little gem while fishing the Madison!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetontails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

First the accommodations are comfortable and clean. You wouldn't believe how much unbelieveable charm they have. Park right in front and instantly feel at home.

Second the proprietors are some of the greatest people you could meet. We spent an hour in the evening just chatting and playing with the dog in the lobby. They're a small business that's been in business for years and years - and it shows. They know what they're doing period.

It was our first trip to Ennis, and we love the smaller places to stay - this was easily one of the best ever. Can't wait to visit here again - for fishing the Madison, relaxing, and just sitting on the couch and taking in the view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hksjza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a cool place!! Cabins fit the bill perfectly, entirely cute, comfortable. It’s a cute little complex, not big at all. And you can tell, this is a fisherman’s paradise. I think everyone I saw staying was ready to go angling the Madison River. I’ve been a lot of places, but the Madison Valley is a contender for truly one of the great spots in America. El Western Cabins are located on the other side (east side) of the Madison River, maybe just a mile or two from the all too cute town of Ennis. I walked it and was not difficult at all. The location is perfect. Ennis Lake is not that far too north of town, you already have the Madison River and then Virginia City is a gorgeous 20 minute drive away. I had actually taken the decision to drive to Virginia City for dinner, and it’s incredibly worthwhile to do so. The accommodation itself was perfect, surprisingly good bed, bathroom was great, good shower, my cabin was so cozy and not too primitive either. Just a terrific place in truly one of the most beautiful spots in America!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idreamofeuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

We've been staying at the El Western for 30 plus years. John and Kris are the most gracious caring hosts we have ever encountered. The grounds are immaculate and the accommodations are incredible. Whether you are looking for an overnight cabin, or a plush three bedroom house the El Western is the best spot in Montana for a family reunion or a couple's getaway. Oh, yes, and then there is the best fishing in the West. The El Western is the best in all ways.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhoagland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

This was our first trip to Ennis, MT to try out fly fishing on the Madison River. We checked reviews and decided on this place and are very glad we did.

Ennis is a small town that during the summer comes alive due to the River. It is a place where people wave and speak to you on the street like they have known you for 20 years.

The El Western is a fully restored and renovated place with a log cabin exterior and flat screen TVs and nice furnishings inside. My wife said it had the cleanest hotel bathroom she had ever seen. They have beautiful grounds outside with flowers planted everywhere and lush green lawns. There is a small creek coming off the river that runs thru the back of the property. We walked out to look at it with our coffee in the morning and found a small herd of Antelope sharing the view with us.

It seems everyone who stays there comes for the fishing and most have all been coming back for years. The rooms have small front porches with chairs and sitting out on them we met other guests who told us the best places to fish, what flies to try, good tips on restaurants etc. It felt more like a family reunion even though we had never met them before.

The management and staff were very attentive and friendly. The rooms have full kitchens so we decided to pu some steaks and grill out one night. Several others had the same idea that day and all the bbq grills were in use. The manager rather than telling us to wait for one of them, immediately took off down the road in his jeep and came back with another grill for us, without us even asking.

This is a very popular place. We booked our rooms two months in advance and they had no open rooms while we were there. It is by far the nicest place in the area. We will definitely stay at the El Western again for our next trip to Ennis!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biztravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
11.8 mi away
Fairweather Inn
Fairweather Inn
#1 of 1 in Virginia City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
23.5 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Nevada City Hotel & Cabins
Nevada City Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Nevada City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sportsman's Lodge
Sportsman's Lodge
#6 of 10 in Ennis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
19.5 mi away
Lone Mountain Ranch
Lone Mountain Ranch
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Western Cabins & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Western Cabins & Lodges

Property: El Western Cabins & Lodges
Address: 4787 US Highway 287 N, Ennis, MT 59729-9055
Location: United States > Montana > Ennis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless and beautifully maintained, the log cabins and lodges of El Western are a unique blend of authentic “Old West” style and modern comfort. Hand-peeled logs and knotty pine paneling with original furnishings compliment the tile baths, thick towels and fluffy pillows. For more than 60 years, travelers seeking a truly Montana experience with mountain vistas and impeccably maintained cabins and grounds have enjoyed the hospitality of El Western. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing