We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the top places we stayed on our Montana trip this year”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ennis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We made our trip through Montana this year an adventure, staying mostly at Bed & Breakfasts or small motels. RVL doesn't match up to the B&B's we stayed at because they were over the top, but when compared to the other motels they were number 1. An older motel, but updated nicely and maybe the cleanest place I've stayed in years. No air conditioning in the rooms (but they don't need it most of the time), but this could be a problem during a really hot summer. The only other negative I could see was parking is really tight if they're full. No matter, they get 5 stars for my visit, and I really liked the little town of Ennis.

Room Tip: You'll be surprised by what you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rasnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 133 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

Ed and Jeannie are the best, Spent one January here in the bitter cold year of "89. Temperature varied from -40F to -20F. It was wonderful. You knew you were alive. Been coming back as often as we can. We do live 1000 miles away in LA. We are not fishermen so we don't come for that. We come for the hosts (Ed & Jeannie), for the town, the special Montana feeling, and the feel good about the place. One of our special treasures. Everything you would want in a holiday accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer section facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryKitty8933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Absolutely spotless rooms! The owners take real pride in ownership. From my initial call to Ed for a reservation, it was clear that the owners would be extremely accommodating. Ed and Jeannie were welcoming hosts. For guests that stayed more than a single night, Ed and Jeannie seemed to know everyone's names and skillfully created an atmosphere of friendliness throughout the property that transferred to guests and help. If you want to fish, Ed can arrange anything and the fly fishing shop on the premises can supply your needs. Our spacious room (#24) was in the corner and offered a wonderful view out two large back windows.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tricia097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is a lovely establihment with friendly staff. The flowers and outdoor seating make for a nice setting. There were a few negatives, there was no AC and front window does not open, in August this can be a problem. Also the TV is very small and was located in the far corner from the beds.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Classof64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Rainbow Valley Lodge oozes pride of ownership from the spotless rooms to the lush flower pots that decorate the exterior from the first days of summer. This place is cared for, as we've always been when staying here, because the owners live just a few steps from the front desk. It’s their only business and they make sure it’s run right.
When you arrive in the lobby, one of them is almost always there, whether 10 at night or for the 6AM breakfast. The rooms are large; the towels are thick; the beds appropriately plush; the carpets fresh and the bathrooms squeaky clean. The place is classic Montana, with knotty pine everywhere and shedhorn antler lamps and chandeliers in the rooms. The rooms aren’t air conditioned, so there’s a mid-summer night or two when you’ll want the windows open before bedtime and maybe enjoy sitting outside. On the other hand, there’s plenty of nights in July or August when you’ll be glad you control the electric heat in your room and that you took a jacket along to enjoy the patio in the evening.
The lobby serves as a breakfast area and a holds a surprisingly well stocked but small fly shop. The owners can offer advice on what’s working, sell you the hot flies for the river or some fishing clothes or gear, rent you a rod or arrange a float trip or guided fishing on private water.
We have returned many times and there are always other returning guests as well as those just passing through. This is small-town Montana. Don’t expect a 5 star hotel with a restaurant, room service, evening turn down, etc. At Rainbow Valley Lodge you can always count on a good room and honest advice on where to eat, fish or hunt and a firm handshake when you arrive or depart.

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchens, fridges, microwaves and/or patios. Be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGrahamK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Returned to the Rainbow Valley in October to hunt, and as usual the staff was gracious and helpful. The weather was warm, but couldn't blame that on the Rainbow Valley, and the one that controls that is infinitely of a higher power! As usual coffee and pastries were out and ready for service at 6:00AM, and the owner couldn't have had much sleep as I saw him in the office after 10:00 the night before. As usual we met several others staying there and all of them seem to be enjoyingtheir trip as most were like me and this wasn't their first stay here... It' isn't Boston or New York so the night life is quiet, but I wasn't there to tear up the town. Hope to see the nice folks at the Rainbow next July!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

PrairiePrincess must have slept on a pea when she stayed at the Rainbow Valley Lodge . . . though I doubt that's possible since the lodge is the cleanest place we've ever stayed. What else could have caused her to find so much wrong with a beautiful, friendly place? I know . . . she missed her coffee in the morning because there are no coffee pots in rooms without kitchens. Pity! There is coffee (and juice and rolls) in the office at 6 am, and the owners encourage their guests to come into the lodge for coffee so that they can interact with them. In this case, the owner offered to have a large thermos of coffee ready for the princess to pick up in the office, but she refused. For the record, there IS a refrigerator in the room she occupied, and the shower head was NOT broken. It is an adjustable angle shower head because that is a room available for guests with disabilities. The hinge holder was simply left in a loose position, and Miss Princess neither called the office about it nor figured out for herself that she needed to do to tighten the handle. As for sparse furnishings, what internet was she reading? It's log furniture, honey, to keep the Montana theme . . . get it? Yes, there is a highway passing by the lodge, but it is two lanes and is pretty quiet at night. And you failed to mention the spectacular view of the Madison Range just on the other side of that road. I know what I'm talking about, because my husband and I have stayed at Rainbow Valley Lodge every summer since we first discovered it (and the wonderful owners) 15 years ago. I'm not asking you to give it another chance; in fact, I'd rather you stay away, because you're no fun.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWWPacificGrove_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
23.3 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
755 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#3 of 9 in Big Sky
579 reviews
20.2 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Fairweather Inn
Fairweather Inn
#1 of 1 in Virginia City
54 reviews
12.7 mi away
Nevada City Hotel & Cabins
Nevada City Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Nevada City
66 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lone Mountain Ranch
Lone Mountain Ranch
#2 of 9 in Big Sky
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Valley Lodge

Address: 4781 US Highway 287 N, Ennis, MT 59729-9055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Ennis
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranch style cabin/houses. Comfortable rooms with rustic log cabin decor & knotty pine interiors. Fully equipped kitchens are available. Our deluxe cabins include our 2-bedroom units with queen beds, fridge, cable TV and phones in rooms. High Speed Internet connection is available in the Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Valley Hotel
Rainbow Valley Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing