We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carol is a Lovely Hostess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Emigrant B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
469 reviews
345 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“Carol is a Lovely Hostess”
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Carol is a lovely hostess, but without the delightful company of the other couple staying there, Paradise Gateway would have been a big disappointment.

Our room was small and its decor had not been re-thought in a long, long time. It was not a comfortable place to hang out, and I was not inspired to take a photo of it.

Our bathroom was private, but we had to go down a hallway to use it.

There was a large, pleasant common room where we enjoyed lively conversation with a delightful couple from Phoenix, AZ.

Carol prepared an amazing breakfast--Dutch babies and loads of other goodies. We ate everything, but the effort was largely wasted on us because we would have much more preferred a poached egg and a piece of wholewheat toast.

Another boo-boo was that we weren't warned that Calico Hot Springs is the only decent place to eat within twenty-five miles and that advance reservations are essential. As a result our only dinner option was a third-rate meal in a gloomy saloon on the highway.

The B&B's setting on Yellowstone River is delightful and there, in the evening, we were treated to something I had never seen before--a double rainbow. We also enjoyed the ducks in the pond and the rabbits hopping around.

The Paradise Gateway web site states the B&B has four rooms, but I was told there are only two--the Wildflower room and Blueberry Parch, in which we stayed. We were not shown the Floral Garden room. The Tulip room must be the little room across the hall from our bathroom that appeared to have no window.

Our host, Pete Reed, made a brief appearance at breakfast. He seemed to be very knowledgeable about what to see, but he was such a big rush to get away that he didn't have time to share much of it. He also did not seem to understand that people older than him who live at sea level cannot enjoy hikes of the kind he takes having lived at a high elevation for many years.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    14
    4
    8
    3
See reviews for
49
111
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The room we had was essentially in the basement of the main house. It was big enough, however the bed had a ton of useless pillows on it that you have to find a place for within the room. They wound up on the only chair in the room and in the antique pram. The pram was cute if you're into that stuff, but I would have preferred to have some more useable furniture - like another chair...

The hostess prided herself on obnoxiously large portions of food that she insisted on putting on your plate. She was probably the most pretentious piece of work we've ever run across at a B&B. The husband was just short of rude.

Overall, this was 5 on a scale of 10...we did the B&B thing instead of the hotels around Yellowstone for a unique, comfy experience...so much for that. Was not crazy about the fact that Pete (the 'host') chastised us for having a good time chatting with the couple that was staying next to us until the ungodly hour of 10:30 PM....

These people were the type of B&B hosts that make you feel like they're doing you a favor by letting you stay there. I wouldn't recommend them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CCMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The location and view is superb even for the Yellowstone area. The accommodations are excellent and the hosts are exceptional. We even caught fish out the back door. Hiking, rafting and other activities are within reasonable distance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed at the Paradise Gateway for two nights and it was just perfect.
After we arrived we got some ice cream and a lot tips where to go and what to do. It seemed like Pete, the owner, was as excited about having us as we were about being there. The main house which features two rooms is lovely decorated and there are some additional cabins on the property. Petes wife Carol is responsible for breakfast and this was just a delight. It was literally like heaven. Their hospitality was outstanding and I highly recommend the Paradise Gateway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Outstanding accommodations in perfect location! We really enjoyed the rec room equipped with huge bar & pool table. And the fishing was very good just down from the back patio - We caught and released a 19" Brown Trout one evening. Eric Adams - Montana Fly Fishing Guides - provided great fishing guide service, outfitting our large group, picking us up in the morning, & putting us on the fish.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim45086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This was a true getaway. We stayed at the cabin and fixed our own meals, but they also provided condiments and ice cream. We just loved the surrounding area as did our dog who enjoyed romping in the fields.
The sunrises and sunsets in big sky country are amazing!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this B&B. The facility is fantastic. The bedroom, bathroom, and guest living quarters were amazing. The bedding was so comfortable. The food Carol prepared for breakfast was superb-and so plentiful. She even made special food for another couple that was staying there that had special dietary needs. They offered ice cream as an evening treat along with a campfire out back. Pete gave us a guided tour of yellowstone park that we will remember forever. The best part was enjoying the company of these two wonderful hosts.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nilesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emigrant
11.8 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
#1 of 10 in Livingston
198 reviews
19.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
720 reviews
24.0 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
681 reviews
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
19.9 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast

Property: Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast
Address: P.O. Box 84, Emigrant, MT 59027-0084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Emigrant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Emigrant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the North gate to Yellowstone National Park Paradise Gateway Bed and Breakfast and Guest Cabins give our guests a choice of lodging. The scenic facilities are nestled in the majestic Absaroka and Galitan Mountain ranges in the heart of Paradise Valley. Your front yard is the pristine Yellowstone River! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing