We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and Nothing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Emigrant B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We booked the Paradise Gateway for our Honeymoon on a friend's recommendation. Our friend is good friends with the owner. We barely looked at the website and called to make the reservation. We booked the Trout Room and received a confirmation letter saying, "Thank you for booking with the Paradise Gateway Bed and Breakfast in our Trout Room."

Great. A couple months later we received a call from B&B asking if we had reservations there. We said yes, and specified the dates. The gentleman then said he's glad he called because he didn't see them in there. Hm. A couple months later, we called the B&B since they offered to make dinner reservations for us at Chico Hot Springs. The gentleman once again couldn't find our room reservation until I gave him the confirmation number. Bu't then he couldn't make the dinner reservation, and said the owner would make it and call us back to confirm.

We never got the call back, but had enough wedding stuff to stress about. When we got to the B&B we checked in and found out that we were a mile down the road from the actual B&B. We asked about dinner and the gentleman still didn't know anything about it and said the owner would call back when she got in. She never called back. The next morning we called and finally got the owner. She said "Yeah... 6:30," as if we should have already known. I then asked when breakfast was served and she said it wasn't included. I was rather surprised since they answer the phone as "Paradise Gateway B&B" we got the confirmation letter that said "Paradise Gateway B&B" and never once did they point out that it's in a seperate cabin and did not include breakfast.

So I was disappointed, but got over it. We went to dinner that night and were seated at the worst table in the restaurant- behind the hostess stand. We told the host that we were honeymooners and were immediately redirected to a nicer table with a lovely view and were taken care of. The owner of the B&B obviously never specified that we were celebrating an occasion.

The next day we met the owner and had a nice chat about our mutual friend. I then said how "disappointed we were that we couldn't have breakfast, could we pay extra to have it one day?" She was rather curt in saying no, she had too many people to cook for in the main B&B and told us to eat up the road at the Livery Stable Bar. She was kind of rude and after reading some other comments on Trip Advisor, now I know I'm not crazy.

You'd think having a mutual friend and being honeymooners, she'd let us pay extra to eat her stupid pancakes.

All in all, we felt like we were second class guests because we weren't in the main lodge. Our friend raved about the place so we were expecting great service, maybe an amenity for being honeymooners or a note or something. We were told we'd be taken care of and maybe taken fly fishing or told about the activities to do around the area... we got a big packet of info on ALL OF MONTANA which was kind of useless. The room was well appointed and we LOVE the area and will return to the area for our honeymoon, but definitely not to the Paradise, where they really couldn't be bothered to help us in the least and we felt more like we were an imposition than guests.

Oh! And we asked if they accept dogs and they said no. We get there and there was a huge outdoor kennel and we find out that they do accept dogs with a deposit.

The price was way too much for a room with bad service, no housekeeping, no hot tub and no BREAKFAST!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KelleyKell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 210 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2009

This B&B is worth the 45 minute drive from the north entrance to Yellowstone Park. There is nothing that Carol and Pete Reed have not thought of to make your stay perfect. Pete is happy to help you plan your day and actually does guided tours on his own at times. Carol's breakfasts are HUGE, but delicious and beautifully presented. We stayed in the main house and had a glass of wine ready for us when we returned from a day of touring, ice cream when we came home from dinner, and a fire pit when it got dark . The fire pit is located on the banks of the Yellowstone River and was wonderful, complete with marshmallows to roast!! Make sure Carol makes a reservation for you at Chico's Restaurant only 10 minutes away. Delicious. We stayed in the Wildflower Room. Very quiet and just off the lower level gathering area. Bathroom beautiful. Do not miss this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnmjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Fantastic Food, the ground and furnishings were great, Pete and Carol were fun and provided excellent recommendations for the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This is a wonderful place to stay in Montana located near Chico Hot Springs and Yellowstone National Park. It’s on the banks of the Yellowstone River and the views are magnificent.

The owners are professional and extraordinarily helpful and kind. The facilities are immaculate and very beautifully decorated in a very home atmosphere. The breakfast was fantastic. I highly recommend the Paradise Bed and Breakfast. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDanielleVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

What a wonderful surprise when we stayed at the B & B. It was just lovely and right at the banks of the Yellowstone River. Very comfortable and the Reed's were gracious, lovely and kind hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Lovely location and nice accomodation. The literature and website do not make it clear that rooms in the cabins don't have breakfast included. We did enjoy the wild huckleberry ice cream they gave us at check in.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I highly recommend the Paradise Gateway B&B. We were only able to stay one night but I imagine this would be even better for a longer visit. The rooms were beautiful and spacious and our hosts were friendly and very informative about Yellowstone and the area. The breakfast was amazingly delicious and the homemade lemon gelato & tea in the evening was divine. We were fortunate to be able to book less than a week before our visit and the communication with our host was flawless. We truly enjoyed getting to know the other guests at the evening bonfire, in our shared lounge and at breakfast. It was so hard to leave!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank MaeveOKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emigrant
19.9 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
22.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
761 reviews
16.2 mi away
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Yellowstone Basin Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
2.2 mi away
Yellowstone Country Bed and Breakfast
19.9 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#2 of 6 in Gardiner
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 84, Emigrant, MT 59027-0084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Emigrant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Emigrant
Price Range: $234 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the North gate to Yellowstone National Park Paradise Gateway Bed and Breakfast and Guest Cabins give our guests a choice of lodging. The scenic facilities are nestled in the majestic Absaroka and Gallitan Mountain ranges in the heart of Paradise Valley. Your front yard is the pristine Yellowstone River! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Paradise Gateway Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing