We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rising Sun, great value and rustic and loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington MA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rising Sun, great value and rustic and loved it!”
Reviewed February 27, 2009

This was the best place we stayed on our 2 week tour of Montana. Glacier National Park is the best and Rising Sun Motor Inn was terrific.
My husband and I stayed in the room to the right with a double bed and our teenage sons had the room next door, with two twin beds. each room had a desk and a sink. the bathroom has a nice shower and toliet.
It's nice and quiet, with hiking trails out the back. My 15year old son got up every morning to watch the sun rise over the mountains, great view over the valley. He saw herds of elk and was surprised by a couple of deer running down the path with him.

Great location as you are on the rising Sun road. (But the road was still closed with tons of SNOW and they were trying to open it for the 4th of July weekend!!) we still hiked off the rising sun road and there are the most waterfalls you will ever see!!
we drove up to Canada, Watertown Peace Park for the day.

Make sure you have a cooler for drinks, snacks and meals as there are places to eat but sometimes you miss a meal.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubbysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    120
    60
    17
    6
See reviews for
78
135
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stayed in a Rising Sun cabin and when we first saw it thought that it looked basic. And that 's what is is. A duplex cabin with 2 comfortable beds and a good shower. Nothing extra like TV, phones, coffee maker. It is an excellent location in Glacier National Park to get up early to photograph the sunrise at Wild Goose Island (a much photographed location and for good reason). It is close to St. Marys which means the Park Cafe is near with some of the very best pies that I've ever eaten. It's also not far from Many Glacier (hikers paradise) on the east side of Glacier. We were happy with our stay there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalicoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We stayed in a cabin during Labor weekend 2008. The cabin was comfortable and included a double and a twin bed and a desk. Our cabin was carpeted and the bathroom was recently renovated. It was nice to turn the heat on and warm up as it was cool (low 40s) and rainy outside. I would describe this cabin as cozy and simple and it felt that it belonged in Glacier National Park.

The electrical wiring system in these cabins appears to be in need of an upgrade. When a hairdryer was plugged into the outlet by the sink, the fuse blew and the electricity went off. The electric heater system must be wired to a different fuse as this did not turn off. If you are looking for a clean and comfortable place to rest after a long day of hiking, Rising Sun Motor Inn is perfect. However, I would not recommend this place for a romantic gateway as there is not a fancy lodge or fireplace. We ate at the restaurant at Rising Sun and the tastey food and fare were similar to other restaurants in the national park. The hotel is also in a great spot for hiking at St Mary lake or driving the Going to the Sun Road to Logan Pass. These cabins are a great value and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatlPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We stayed 3 nights in Sept. just after the tourist season and had a great stay. The room exceeded my expectations and I think we were about the only ones in the hotel. We were next to the general store so we got woke up early by people checking out or talking on the porch, but we wanted to get up and get an early start, so it wasnt a big deal. The sound does carry with the wooden floors, but otherwise no complaints. Clean and plenty of hot water, excellent location and proximity to sights and Two Dog flats which had decent food, which was nice not to have to drive after a lond day of hiking.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — People who talk loud outside.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wisertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis Mn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights in Sept 08, and it was fine. This is a "rustic" place -- small duplex cabins, nothing fancy. It met our needs and expectations: somewhere relatively inexpensive to stay at night while we visited this beautiful park.

The good points:
- It's on Going to the Sun Road, so it's a good location. Seemed to be fewer people on this side of the park (east of the continental divide). Lots of places to hike.
- It's clean, comfortable, and inexpensive. Beds were fine.

A couple of things to think about:
- If the weather is bad, you are stuck in a very small room -- there's no public gathering place (like the lobby of a lodge) where you can hang out. There's a restaurant and a small store on the property, but nowhere to just sit, enjoy the view, read a paper, etc.
- The electric heater has four settings: off, hot, very hot, and very very hot. I was up several times a night turning it down from level one to off, and then and back again when the room got too cold. This might not be a problem in the summer, but in early September the nights got cold.

When we made our reservations, we didn't know whether to stay here or at the Swiftcurrent. I'm glad we chose this one because it's considerably closer to the main part of Glacier than the Swiftcurrent. But the Swiftcurrent is near the Many Glacier Lodge, which is a great hangout place if the weather is bad. Didn't see the Swiftcurrent rooms so I can't compare them.

Places to eat:
- The Two Dogs Cafe restaurant on the property is fine. Not exciting, but the menu will cover a group's needs.
- The Park Cafe in St. Mary, about 5 miles away, is great -- very good breakfast, excellent pie. We ate there several times.
- The Two Sisters Cafe about 4 miles north of St. Mary is also terrific. Great food, funky and fun little place, wonderful pie (what is it with pie in Montana?). We went back there several times too.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Electric heater
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tenderfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, MD
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

It is a great budget choice and within the Glacier National Park. Simple, but clean with good showers. Not far from some of the beautiful scenery and hikes at Logan Pass. Quiet location, great restaurant. Enjoyable for a couple of nights as you travel from east to west through the park. NO TV in rooms.

  • Liked — when you go outside it was totally dark
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md29nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We visited Glacier National Park in June 2008 and stayed at the Rising Sun Motor Inn. It is a fine choice if you want to be in a convenient location and beautiful setting, but not spend a fortune. Our room cost $139 per night before tax. We were in one of the motel type buildings, but they also have individual cabins. The room and the bathroom were good sized and clean, but the furnishings and decor were very plain. It was freshly painted and the bathroom had a new floor and new modern corner shower stall. The furniture in the room was old (desk, chairs, bed and bedside stands), but upholstery on the chairs was newer. The desk had four drawers and there was an open clothes rack for hanging clothes. There was not much counter space in the bathroom. The room did not have air conditioning, but we didn't need it as the windows opened and a fan was provided. One step outside your door and the view is magnificent, surrounded by mountains. It is very close to St. Mary Lake and Going to the Sun Road (which unfortunately was closed due to snow while we were there). There is a main building with a reception desk, gift shop and restaurant. We ate breakfast there everyday and the food was good. Across the parking lot there is a small store. There is a campground nearby, and one evening we strolled over there and listened to a ranger presentation about bears. We visited the Many Glacier and Swiftcurrent hotels while we were in the area, and decided we liked Rising Sun better than Swiftcurrent, but if money were no object we would stay at the Many Glacer next time. It is a beautiful place in a spectacular setting. However, for those on a budget, I would recommend the Rising Sun. It is not elegant, but it is adequate and the location is great.

  • Liked — The setting and location
  • Disliked — Plain decor and furnishings
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLFLWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
22.1 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
291 reviews
23.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#4 of 6 in East Glacier Park
239 reviews
22.6 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
590 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lake McDonald Lodge
Lake McDonald Lodge
#1 of 7 in Glacier National Park
569 reviews
8.8 mi away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#2 of 7 in Glacier National Park
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins

Property: Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Address: Going-to-the-Sun Road, East Glacier Park, MT 59417 (Formerly Rising Sun Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1940, Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins sits adjacent to spectacular St. Mary Lake inside Glacier National Park and is surrounded by soaring mountain peaks. In addition to 72 cabins and motor inn rooms, you will find the Two Dog Flats Grill, campstore, and gift shop. Red Bus tours, boat cruises, and numerous other activities are available at this centralized location. All guestrooms at Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins are rustic, yet comfortable. In keeping with the era in which the rooms were built, they offer guests limited amenities and old-world style accommodations resulting in a one-of-a kind National Park lodging experience. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Motor Hotel East Glacier Park
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing