We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rising Sun is good budget choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Rising Sun is good budget choice”
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We visited Glacier National Park in June 2008 and stayed at the Rising Sun Motor Inn. It is a fine choice if you want to be in a convenient location and beautiful setting, but not spend a fortune. Our room cost $139 per night before tax. We were in one of the motel type buildings, but they also have individual cabins. The room and the bathroom were good sized and clean, but the furnishings and decor were very plain. It was freshly painted and the bathroom had a new floor and new modern corner shower stall. The furniture in the room was old (desk, chairs, bed and bedside stands), but upholstery on the chairs was newer. The desk had four drawers and there was an open clothes rack for hanging clothes. There was not much counter space in the bathroom. The room did not have air conditioning, but we didn't need it as the windows opened and a fan was provided. One step outside your door and the view is magnificent, surrounded by mountains. It is very close to St. Mary Lake and Going to the Sun Road (which unfortunately was closed due to snow while we were there). There is a main building with a reception desk, gift shop and restaurant. We ate breakfast there everyday and the food was good. Across the parking lot there is a small store. There is a campground nearby, and one evening we strolled over there and listened to a ranger presentation about bears. We visited the Many Glacier and Swiftcurrent hotels while we were in the area, and decided we liked Rising Sun better than Swiftcurrent, but if money were no object we would stay at the Many Glacer next time. It is a beautiful place in a spectacular setting. However, for those on a budget, I would recommend the Rising Sun. It is not elegant, but it is adequate and the location is great.

  • Liked — The setting and location
  • Disliked — Plain decor and furnishings
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLFLWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    123
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
82
141
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We had camped in Glacier National Park before; this was our third visit there, and our first stay in accommodations other than a tent. (Rising Sun has cabins and rooms. We stayed in a cabin.) The staff was quite friendly and efficient. We were checked in in no time. The cabin (a duplex; we had 13B) was tucked away on one of the narrow roads that wind through the woods, only a minute's drive from the parking lot but distant enough from the road that we could not hear the traffic. There was no one in the other half of the duplex, so I do not know how much noise might carry from one half to the other. The room was clean, including the bathroom. There were a double bed and a twin bed. The cabins obviously were built sometime in the first half of the 20th Century (my guess is the '30s or maybe the early '40s), and are very well-maintained. The door locks solidly with a good-old-fashioned metal key. Staying there is a chance to experience what your grandparents experienced when they traveled.

The cabin made a great "base camp" where we could sleep at night and shower in the morning. The bathroom has a toilet and shower; there is a sink outside the bathroom. Had bad weather forced us to stay inside, things might have gotten a little claustrophobic; the cabin is small.
There was no air conditioning, and none was needed. We turned on the heat (just a little) at night.

The Rising Sun Motor Inn is right on the Going To The Sun Road, with countless opportunities for viewing scenery and hiking everywhere. (Glacier NP has over 730 miles of hiking trails.) Just across the road from Rising Sun is St. Mary Lake, where we took the boat cruise up the lake, past Wild Goose Island, and on up to the end of the lake, where we spent about 15 minutes exploring the little waterfall that feeds into the lake. Glorious scenery everywhere! The St Mary Visitor Center is just a few minute's drive East of the Rising Sun Motor Inn. We went there and observed an Osprey feeding her hatchling in the nest just outside the Center!

All in all, the Rising Sun Motor Inn, at a little over $100 a night, was a good place for us. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Quiet, clean, old-fashioned.
  • Disliked — Small.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank BBQDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We stayed in one of the duplex cabins and I don't have much to add to previous reviews. Our next door neighbor was a park employee, so there was some noise from his stereo. This is not the place to forget your bug spray as the room had quite a few mosquitos. Dinner at the restaurant was tasty. The nearby hike to Virginia Falls (I think) by way of St. Mary Falls was beautiful.

I think the price and any shortcomings are more than offset by being able to stay in such a beautiful location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Only twin beds
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Don't let the name turn you off - it's actually a cute little place. It's in a great location with great views, it has a nice restaurant and grocery store, and the rooms are clean and comfy! I'd stay here again!

  • Liked — Comfort of room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank stephnmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We stayed at The Rising Sun Motor Inn for days #3, 4 & 5 of our 12-day adventure in Glacier/Waterton Lakes National Parks. From our last stop at Lake McDonald, it was a gorgeous drive on the Going-to-the-Sun road. The drive had beautiful views with frequent turnouts and stops at the Logan Pass information area to see more beautiful vistas, mountain goats and big horn sheep. There was some road construction on the GTTS road, but traffic was light because we were traveling the second week of September after the main tourist season.
We stayed in a 1940's era duplex cabin that was very cozy with a double bed and a twin bed. It was quiet except for when our neighbors checked-in. We wish there was a place to lounge, but it’s a motor inn so it didn’t have a lobby. Just so you know in case it bothers you, the bathroom sink is in the bedroom area. There a couple of motel sections too, but we didn't stay in one so I cannot offer a comment. The front desk people were exceptionally nice. They even arranged for me to get my camera battery charger (which I left at home) express mailed from Virginia to the East Glacier Lodge and then sent here with their mail and they seemed concerned until we got it.
We ate one lunch at Two Dog Flats Restaurant which is where registration is located (Pulled pork barbeque sandwiches $15 + tip for two) and three breakfasts (Omelet & French toast with huckleberry jam $14 + tip for two. Pancakes & French toast $12 + tip for two) Excellent! Best so far on the trip.
It is conveniently located near St Mary, MT (laundry, groceries, pizza and the Park Cafe), East Glacier (lodge, gift shops and railroad station) and the Two Medicine park entrance (with an easy, short walk to Running Eagle Falls). Not many people go to Two Medicine because it is out of the way. But you should go if you have time. It has some great lake views.
Nearby walks to Sunrift Gorge (very short) and 3 miles round trip to St Mary & Virginia Falls were definitely worthwhile. There are many more strenous hikes nearby and there is a nice picnic area right across the GTTS road from the Motor Inn directly on St Mary Lake.
Lots of animals in this area too…deer walking all around the cabins, hawks and we even encountered a grizzly walking down the GTTS road just east of the Two Dog Flats meadow. We drove slowly toward her; she stood up on her back legs (in our lane by the way!) and looked at us for a few seconds. Then she walked into the woods on the side of the road and stood up again, checking us out and so did her cub. Ten seconds later after other vehicles stopped to observe, both of them ran deeper into the woods.
It is also an easy drive back up to Logan Pass if you want to see it at times when it isn't so busy, like earlier in the morning and in the evenings.
If we ever return to Glacier, we'll definitely spend a couple of nights at the Rising Sun Motor Inn. September after Labor Day is a great time to visit because the crowds are gone and the weather is cool and sunny.

  • Liked — Location, wildlife, friendly staff, morning sunrises
  • Disliked — Noise from next door, no place to lounge
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PapaJerryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

So why am I rating this place a "5"? Because they do a great job at what they do...which is operating lodging in a national park. Not a big-city Hilton, or a full-service resort. This is perhaps two steps above camping, folks!

I've seen some reviews of other Glacier properties commenting on lack of Air Conditioning and television. If you can't live without this stuff, don't visit most national park lodging, you're not going to get it.

High prices for what you get? Sure. But remember, they have a 3-4 month season here, that's it. And they wouldn't stay in business long if they charged 40 bucks a night. I paid $99 on Labor Day weekend per night and have no complaints.

We stayed in a room attached to the general store. Clean, very comfortable beds (2 doubles) and a spotless bathroom with a shower. A dresser in the room, a nightstand, a chair and that's all you get!

Nice porch to hang out on in the evening, and most people are up with the sun to get out and enjoy the park. Which means you hear folks going down the hallway at 7:00 in the morning. This is a place to sleep, not a resort to hang around in during the day, and not even really a place in which to sleep late!

Restaurant across the parking lot had good food at fairly reasonable prices for a park - $30 with tip for dinner for two with one beer being the only alcohol and no dessert.

So I'm givingt this place a "5" for being excellent AT WHAT THEY PROVIDE. Which is not the same standard as a fancy hotel. But for a good "in the park" experience, with a great location, I'd recommend it anytime.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank IrishFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

This is a fine place to base yourself out of if you want to be near the east side of the park. We stayed in one of the hotel rooms which was clean and serviceable. (My one complaint is that the bed had the hardest mattress I have ever slept on - I came home with a large bruise on my left hip that I am fairly certain I got from sleeping on this bed). People have complained about noise in this hotel, we didn't experience this, even though our room was directly next to a side entrance. However, I did notice that some of the rooms have windows that open out to a public porch where their are tables and chairs set up. I can't imagine it would be easy to sleep in with people chatting over their morning coffee right outside your room (not that you would want to sleep in with a whole park to explore!)

The hotel itself has a camp store with basic groceries, etc for packing cold lunches (no cooking facilities in the rooms). There is a restaurant on site which is a great place to fuel up on breakfast. It also serves lunch and dinner, but the menu did not look good - for a casual diner type meal I'd recommend either Two Sisters Cafe or the Park Cafe, both located North of the east entrance to the park on rte 89. There is not much to see right in this area. Although across the street from the motel is a great place to watch the sun rise (hence the name). It is also a short drive to Logan Pass where there is some great hiking for all abilities.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Hard Beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homebody00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
22.6 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
354 reviews
23.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
248 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
812 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lake McDonald Lodge
Lake McDonald Lodge
#1 of 7 in Glacier National Park
594 reviews
23.5 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins

Property: Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Address: Going-to-the-Sun Road, East Glacier Park, MT 59417 (Formerly Rising Sun Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1940, Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins sits adjacent to spectacular St. Mary Lake inside Glacier National Park and is surrounded by soaring mountain peaks. In addition to 72 cabins and motor inn rooms, you will find the Two Dog Flats Grill, campstore, and gift shop. Red Bus tours, boat cruises, and numerous other activities are available at this centralized location. All guestrooms at Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins are rustic, yet comfortable. In keeping with the era in which the rooms were built, they offer guests limited amenities and old-world style accommodations resulting in a one-of-a kind National Park lodging experience. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Motor Hotel East Glacier Park
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing