We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're here for the park, not the room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had one side of a duplex cabin with 2 beds. Basic describes it. If you don't want to rough it a little, don't stay here! Rough is a tent with an outhouse and no showers. This is a room with a shower, toilet and sink. Breakfast at the main building was nice. We were there at the end of the season so no crowds and everyone relaxed. Order the box lunches the night before so you can have a picnic in the park!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiftyfun__10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 285 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in late August. The location is incredible with its access inside the park. The check-in process was seamless and the staff was very professional. Our cabin was located on the back side of the property. We had about a 6' front entrance that we shared with the cabin that was attached to ours. The inside had a full and twin bed, a nice desk and a very small shower. The water was hot and the cabin was as clean as it could be. Because it was an older, shared cabin, we could hear the footsteps every time that the people in the other cabin walked and I am sure that they could hear us. We tried to be very quiet so as to not disturb them. Two things that would have been nice to have were a coffee maker in the room and the outside of the cabin cleared just a bit so that it would provide a small sitting area to enjoy the surroundings. I realize that they are trying to maintain the natural surroundings and I appreciate that but some of the other US parks provide a little more open space. All things considered it was a great experience and we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roseatexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We loved it here in our cosy little cabin it blended in with the natural surroundings and sitting on the porch under the stars at night was wonderful. Don't expect luxury, it's a NP cabin with all the comforts you need. It's in a great location on the east end of the Going to the sun road by St Marys Lake. For a NP property, we were more than happy with the value it offered. An easy walk across the road to the Lake shore and there is also a lovely walk nearby to St Mary Falls. We visited the west side of the park in the morning after a night in Kalispell and we were going to Many Glacier area of the park next day making it an ideal overnight location that would also work out well heading east to west. The 'Two dogs flat' dining room offered good food at a reasonable price and the staff were friendly, it was the icing on the cake ! Can't wait to return !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gomms13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed one night, just last week. Basic, but clean and comfortable. Got lucky #13, which faced the mountains and water. Actually had a black bear cross our path less than 50 yards from our front door. Great place for star gazing, from the front porch.
Also, just five miles from the east gate, allowing additional dining options if desired.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bschmidt502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Perfect place for a bed and shower. Comfortable beds and quiet dark surroundings. There is a restaurant nearby that has good, reasonably priced food. Wi-fi works OK, but it comes from a satellite so it is a bit spotty. A general store can get you set up for snacks, lunch and any other basic necessities favored by hikers. Off the Going-to-the-sun highway so you can drive to Logan Pass in about 20 minutes. It take about 40 minutes to drive to Many Glacier from here. No TV here, but who needs it and cell phone service is non-existant. They do have pay phones where $1 will buy you 4 minutes. Staff at the front desk and wait staff are hot and cold - it all depends on who you get.

Room Tip: Request a south facing room well away from the restaurant for quiet and great sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HemisphereRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Clean cabin with just the basics you need staying in a national park. Who needs a TV when you are surrounded by such superb scenery outside ! Also found that the traffic was much more manageable driving from the east side to Logan Pass (and much easier road). Was quiet and few lights so great night sky watching just outside our cabin. Highlight was the restaurant at Rising Sun (Two Dog Flat) - delicious food and the friendliest servers ! We even stopped there to eat again and again after we had to move to different location due to no cabins available.
We knew the servers and their stories by names ! I would definitely stay and eat here next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

No frills. You won't find a television in the room for starters, or even an air conditioner, but there is a box fan if you get toasty. Service was very friendly. It was great to get a head start in the morning because you are already in the park. I liked staying near the east glacier entrance because most people start from the west glacier side, so the traffic was much more manageable. Good place for breakfast in the building where you check in. If I was coming through Glacier again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank spatula259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
24.6 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
22.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#6 of 6 in East Glacier Park
258 reviews
22.1 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Glacier National Park
416 reviews
21.7 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
368 reviews
5.2 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins

Address: Going-to-the-Sun Road, East Glacier Park, MT 59417 (Formerly Rising Sun Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range: $94 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1940, Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins sits adjacent to spectacular St. Mary Lake inside Glacier National Park and is surrounded by soaring mountain peaks. In addition to 72 cabins and motor inn rooms, you will find the Two Dog Flats Grill, campstore, and gift shop. Red Bus tours, boat cruises, and numerous other activities are available at this centralized location. All guestrooms at Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins are rustic, yet comfortable. In keeping with the era in which the rooms were built, they offer guests limited amenities and old-world style accommodations resulting in a one-of-a kind National Park lodging experience. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Motor Hotel East Glacier Park
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing