We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harley-Davidson s”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Was part of a Harley -Davidson group of 3, from Chicago, we made reseration almost 1 year in advance and you split up all 3 of us when was totally unnessisary. I stayed in some sorta 10 room lodge and the other stayed in back yard cabins. NO WIFI, No Bar Unless we bought a 6 pak from the rickety store. and were afraid to be busted, seems these parks don't like drinking.
We closed the resturant ( 9 pm) and a beer there, but the waiter made us buy food to look like real customers? very rude.We met a fellow traveler woman from Dallas Texas who was on her own and quite safe at your lodge ( no riff raff ). If you can send me her phone or address she left her digital camera on table and we now have it and would like to return it. Her 1st name is Karen
and stayed the same night we did but in the far cabins in back. It was July 14th ,2012. the room i was in had no carpet, and metallegs on bed so sqeaking and door opening every 30 min is no way to get sleep there. Other than that the views are fantastic, and was 75 degrees all day 50 at night. TedEnright@ aol.com

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TedsHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 285 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in cabin #13A for just one night on our way from Lake McDonald to Many Glacier. The cabins are very affordable and provide basic lodging. Compared to other park lodging, there's nothing particularly historic or architectural and no view whatsoever.

However, the staff were perhaps the most friendly and accommodating and the food at the restaurant, Two Dog Flats, was some of the best we had at a Glacier Park Inc location (yes, better than the Great Northern Dining Room at Glacier Park Lodge and better than the Ptarmigan Dining Room in Many Glacier).

The highlight of our stay was when we saw the most beautiful Western Tanager perched on a bush just outside our cabin's front door.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MinneSurfSider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thanks for the great compliment on our dining room! We look forward to seeing you again, and earn a higher rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The weather really changed when we arrived in Glacier National Park - wet and very windy. Accommodations were quite full, and we were lucky to get the last room at the Inn - a handicapped room, which meant much more space. One problem - no wifi service. We were able to get that at the Park Cafe and Grocery.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

There are not many lodging choices in the National Park, and this lodge left much to be desired. However it was clean and very convenient. The screen door slamming in the cabins of the neighbors was very annoying in the wee hours of the morning. Overall it was OK, but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

We are sorry about the "slamming, screen doors. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, but disappointed to read that the room you were in at Rising Sun Motor Inn was not quite as restful as you expected. We take your comments seriously and are committed to ensuring that our guests have a memorable visit. Your comments help us in achieving this goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Every year a friend and I visit a National Park. We have been to Glacier 3 times now and the staff at the Rising Sun Motor Inn gave us another reason to come back yet again. You know the old addage: "You can tell a lot about someone by how they treat their mother"... not only did I see the wonderful relationship between a mother and an aunt visiting their son/nephew who worked there, but I saw the same spirit in the the approach to the people who were staying there. We stayed in one of the motel rooms for a week and were pleased throughout our stay.
There is easy access to all of the park and always warm and clean room to return to. We will be returning. Hopefully to the same manager.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolyn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good, comfortable beds. Management was nice. Please know that if you stay in a "cabin", with will be a DUPLEX with VERY thin walls... we went to bed just after 8:30 (it gets dark and after hiking all day and exploring to be done the next, most people do go to bed pretty early). The couple in the duplex next to us came in about 8:50pm and we could hear their entire conversation. We could hear every bag that was put down and up on the shelves. The toilet flush and the water faucet come on. Finally about 9:40, I got up and knocked on their door and had to ask them to be a little quieter! St. Mary's is only about 5 minutes down the road... I would just stay there or close by! Will NOT be staying here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks you for your kind comments on our management team, and for future stays, we do have single cabins available. Thank you for taking the time to comment. Your business is important to us and we do appreciate your input. We want you to know that we do read all responses and your thoughts and concerns are very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins for two nights. The cabins are very cute and clean. The location is beautiful, and I wished we had stayed longer. The staff was courteous and helpful. The only drawback is that the cabins are two units in one building, and the walls are pretty thin, so we heard our neighbors quite a bit, even though they weren't particularly loud people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EmilyK2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
22.1 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
22.6 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
371 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Glacier National Park
413 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lake McDonald Lodge
Lake McDonald Lodge
#1 of 6 in Glacier National Park
608 reviews
7.7 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins

Address: Going-to-the-Sun Road, East Glacier Park, MT 59417 (Formerly Rising Sun Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range: $94 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1940, Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins sits adjacent to spectacular St. Mary Lake inside Glacier National Park and is surrounded by soaring mountain peaks. In addition to 72 cabins and motor inn rooms, you will find the Two Dog Flats Grill, campstore, and gift shop. Red Bus tours, boat cruises, and numerous other activities are available at this centralized location. All guestrooms at Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins are rustic, yet comfortable. In keeping with the era in which the rooms were built, they offer guests limited amenities and old-world style accommodations resulting in a one-of-a kind National Park lodging experience. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Motor Hotel East Glacier Park
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing