We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit overpriced, but otherwise great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dancing Bears Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dancing Bears Inn
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced, but otherwise great”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I'd planned to spend one night here during an unusually cold snap in December (minus 30 below), but my car wouldn't start when I tried to leave. They let me stay the whole day in my room without charging me, and the manager spent hours on the phone with me trying to find mechanics, replacement vehicles, etc. Could not have been more helpful. The room itself was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, though somewhat expensive (about $120 out of season). Other than that, this would have been an easy five stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicochetMontana, Guest Relations Manager at Dancing Bears Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us! We will strive for the 5 stars on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    70
    32
    11
    10
See reviews for
56
105
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The managers, Randy and Desiree, went above and beyond to make sure that all of our needs were covered. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and cozy with everything you need including a flat screen tv and kitchenette area with a fridge, microwave, and sink. They are pet friendly too. We will definitely stay here again if we make it back to the area.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MSeelye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicochetMontana, Guest Relations Manager at Dancing Bears Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
809 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A little pricey for what it is but a quaint room that was clean and well managed. The front desk clerk helped me out to find what I needed as well as cut me a small break on the room rate. Given the limited choices in this area, this was a welcomed stay during my trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicochetMontana, Guest Relations Manager at Dancing Bears Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us! We will strive for the 5 stars on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I traveled through East Glacier, MT a couple of weeks ago and needed a place to stay. Only so many hotels open this time of year, I pulled in to the 1st one - glad that I did! The Dancing Bears Hotel had a very friendly and helpful staff and some REAL NICE rooms. Don't let the "mom & pop" looks of the place scare you. They have redone all the rooms - with big screen TVs, real nice linens, enough blankets and pillows for a great sleep and just a nice homey atmosphere.
Many tourist who come through the area and go to Glacier National Park feel like they need to stay at the concessionaire's hotels in the Park (East Glacier Lodge, Many Glacier Lodge, lake McDonald Lodge, etc.). I can tell you from personal experience that these rooms are A LOT LESS ATTRACTIVE than those offered at the Dancing Bears Lodge. The rooms at concessionaire hotels are old, drafty, no TVs, terrible bedding (that has been washed way too many times), chintzy little towels, etc. - AND they charge probably twice as much as you would pay at the Dancing Bears.
Take my advice and stay at the Dancing Bears, then go hang out in the lobby of the fancy East Glacier Lodge - you will sleep much better!

Room Tip: Any room will be better than those at the Glacier Park Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicochetMontana, Guest Relations Manager at Dancing Bears Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

There aren't many choices of places to stay in East Glacier. Dancing Bears Inn is just round the corner from the train station and the more expensive Glacier Park Lodge, where many park tours depart from. The owners were really friendly and helpful. Nice clean room, lovely complimentary toiletries, good free wifi connection, all day snacks, fridge and microwave in room. Leaving my bags all day prior to check in wasn't a problem. Only negative was that the rooms aren't serviced every day unless you specifically ask. Would happily stay again.
Be aware that unless you're prepared to rely on the organized park tours and shuttle bus into the park offered by Glacier Inc (which I was), you need a car!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicochetMontana, Guest Relations Manager at Dancing Bears Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us! We will strive for the 5 stars on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had stayed two nights at the Mountain Pine, but they were closing for the season and so we moved over here, and thus were able to compare the two establishments. Dancing Bear was considerably pricier, but the room was larger, had much better wi-fi, better furnished, had nicer toiletries, and they offer breakfast and snack foods from early morning until late evening (very nice), which one must take to their room to consume. On the down side, the train can be easily heard and the elementary school is just behind the Inn (we could here the kids playing early in the morning).
I noticed some reviews complained of their rooms being too small, but our room had two queens beds, several chairs and a table, and was larger than many hotel rooms I've stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicochetMontana, Guest Relations Manager at Dancing Bears Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us! We will strive for the 5 stars on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebensburg, PA
Level Contributor
335 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Dancing Bears and were very pleasantly surprised. The managers, Randy and Desiree, are very friendly and pleasant, the rooms are fresh and comfortable and the breakfast gets the job done. In addition, the inn is close to the train station and an entrance to Glacier National Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cambria5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicochetMontana, Guest Relations Manager at Dancing Bears Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us! We will strive for the 5 stars on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
21.3 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
530 reviews
20.8 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#3 of 6 in East Glacier Park
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
90 reviews
23.1 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dancing Bears Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Bears Inn

Property: Dancing Bears Inn
Address: 40 Montana Ave, East Glacier Park, MT 59434-5039
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dancing Bears Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a very nice family run motel. We pride ourselves on small town hospitality and clean updated comfortable rooms. We offer a continental breakfast, satellite TV, free WiFi, air conditioning, fridge and microwave. We also have irons, hair dryers, coffee pots and irons available upon request. We also have rooms with jacuzzi tubs. Our goal is to make your stay with us a great one and are here to serve you. We are local to the area and love to help you plan you vacation in Glacier in any way we can, whether it be helping you set up a tour with one of the tour bus companies or giving you tips on great trails to hike or place to see. We hope that when you leave Glacier your trip is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Dancing Bears Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dancing Bears Hotel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing