We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“owner was a no-show”
Review of Circle R Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Circle R Motel
Oviedo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“owner was a no-show”
Reviewed September 13, 2007

I would like to be able to give a proper review of this property, but to be honest, I never stayed there! Here's my sad story.
I booked a room for two nights over the phone and confirmed the reservation a week before arrival in September. I took the train to Glacier NP and chose this motel because it was an easy walk from the railroad station. The train arrived right on time, 6:45 P.M. on a cold and rainy evening. I buttoned up and made the 1/4 dash to the motel only to find the office locked up tight. A little card tacked to the door read: "We have gone to a Bar-B-Q, be back at 8:30." After a 22 hour train ride and a walk in a rain storm all I wanted was shelter. I walked through the cold, driving rain to one of two restaurants in town and had dinner. Walked back to the Circle R at 8:30 and waited on the porch for a while before taking another wet walk to the only bar in town where I shot pool for a while with a great group of Blackfeet Indian guys, the nicest folks I met on the whole trip! Then it was back to the Circle R and more waiting in the rain. Finally went to the only place open in town, the second restaurant and asked the manager if he knew where I could spend the night. He directed me out back where I saw a row of tiny ramshackle looking cabins with a sign that said "Backpacker cabins $12." I said I'd take one. He said "That will be $25." I spent the night on a lumpy bed in a cold shelter with a sign over the sink that said "boil water before drinking." Went back over to the Circle R the next morning and confronted the owner who told me not to worry, he would take the charge off my credit card! Well! - Thanks a lot Buddy!
If you are visiting Glacier NP I would suggest that you skip East Glacier all together and make your base in the beautiful Flathead Valley about 30 miles west. The train stops in Whitefish, MT where you will find lots of accommodations and restaurants and lots to do, like river rafting, hiking and boating on beautiful Flathead Lake.

  • Disliked — it was closed!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank geomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    17
    15
    11
See reviews for
21
23
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago suburb, il
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

My husband and I took the train from Chicago to East Glacier. We needed an inexpensive place to stay overnite and Circle R was just that! Unfortunately we lost the key to our suitcases and the owner was right there with the tools to open it. We stayed in the newer section of the hotel and we were very happy with our room. The convenience of getting off the train and having your hotel right there was great! We rented a car (two doors down from the hotel) and we were on our way the next day. I thought it was a great convenient alternative to East Glacier Lodge.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank midwestmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

I made a reservation for 4 nights. When I arrived, I was told by the teenager running the entire place that I had been placed in a different room each night (meaning I'd have to switch rooms every day). I asked him how that happened and he didn't know. No one else was there to ask.

I told him that I'd need to contact the chamber of commerce to find another place to stay because of their error. He wouldn't let me use the phone, told me I had to drive to the gas station to use the pay phone (my cell couldn't pick up a signal).

How can you mess up someone's reservation that bad and then not allow them to make one local call???

I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shelneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Glacier Park hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

stayed here for a few days to go to glacier national park. it was thw lowest priced motel, around $34 a night. they have a newer section which is much more expensive. i stayed in the older section. the walls are thin, the motel has no ice machine or laundry, and they advertise having cable tv but only 6 channels. it was an ok place to stay if your main criteria is low price. the owners were nice and approachable if you have questions.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.1 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
244 reviews
21.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in East Glacier Park
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circle R Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle R Motel

Property: Circle R Motel
Address: 402 US Highway 2, P.O. Box 444, East Glacier Park, MT 59434-5046
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Circle R Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circle r Hotel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing