We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet & Cozy cabins!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Summit Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sweet & Cozy cabins!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon trip through the Canadian Rockies and Glacier NP! The price was great for the cabins. They were very clean and spacious! I believe most have their own porch to sit and relax. The owners, Ted and Mara, were very accommodating and gave great advice for the best day hikes to take! We were fortunate enough to see a mother moose and her calf in the water area behind the cabins...within seconds from our cabin! We enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Stollings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    19
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I just visited Summit Mountain Lodge in East Glacier, Montana and I can't say enough about the clean, comfortable, and welcoming accommodations provided by my hosts, Ted and Mara. The private cabins on the property allow an intimate setting if you wish yet you get a sense of community when you see someone from a neighboring cabin on the trail. Awesome views of the mountains and wildlife right outside. Minutes to the continental divide trail and the national parks! Lots to do and the new owners are happy to assist to get you pointed in the right direction for adventure. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the beaver ponds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I loved, loved, my stay here! The cabins are big & roomy, the views are phenomenal, & the beds are super comfortable! A super place to get some much needed R&R, so much so that I didn't really want to leave. And I can't say enough about Ted & Mara, they are pretty much the greatest people ever! I will definitely be coming back & I will be recommending this place to everyone that I talk to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Teddi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were just driving on hwy2 on our way to East Glacier town when we saw this place, we didn't have any reservations for that night and we decided to give it a try. One of the owners met us on our way in and told us they a had a cabin available and when I saw the cabin that was just the beginning of our wonderful time in that place. They have everything you need in a cabin super clean very quite and the views were breath taking. The train going by so close made it so charming, and if we didn't want to heart it all we had to do was to close the door..we are definitely going back next year for more days.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Natykdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Made a recent trip to East Glacier with my wife and kids. We had such a good time at the Grizzly family cabin. Our cabin was recently remodeled, and I have to say this place is very comfortable and clean. The view from this cabin's porch is amazing! I couldn't help feeling in awe every single morning waking up :)

My family and I enjoyed ourselves connecting with nature, going out for some hikes and spending some quality time together. Mara and her staff made us feel very welcomed. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone with children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TrasAventuras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stumbled upon this place and loved, loved, loved it!!!

New owners that are very accommodating and are working so hard to make this place a primo spot to stay!

Our log cabin faced Bear Creek and Summit Mountain....this was literally our only view from our porch for 7 wonderful days! We stayed in "Running Rabbit" and was very pleased with the serenity of our surroundings.

The train tracks are close by and hearing the rumble as they go by is very nostalgic. My husband saw a beautiful Moose in Bear Creek one morning while drinking his coffee on the front porch. We could also see Mountain Goats feeding on the side of the mountain as well.
Great trails to walk as you are surrounded by beautiful timber.

The cabins are very clean and comfortable. They do have heating and air conditioning as the temperatures fluctuated quit a bit during our stay so that was great to have. AND MOST IMPORTANTLY....good BEDS!!!! Yeah!

Not far from food or Glacier Park.

The owners are super nice and did everything possible to make our stay great!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any cabin. Running Rabbit was my favorite because of the viewing platfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I came across Summit Mountain Lodge while searching for a hotel online and absolutely love this place. The location is incredible, the owners Ted and Mara are delightful and the cabins have just been fully remolded. Not to mention there is great wildlife viewing right at the lodge, we saw some moose and a some mountain goats.

The lodge is also located right next to Glacier National Park and is almost on the continental divide.

Room Tip: We stayed in our own private cabin called the Lone Walker but all the cabins look nice and all look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jonsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
11.8 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
541 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
229 reviews
11.7 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
224 reviews
11.0 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
727 reviews
11.3 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Mountain Lodge

Property: Summit Mountain Lodge
Address: 16900 Highway 2 West Marias Pass, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Summit Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southeast corner of Glacier National Park on Highway 2 across from Marias Pass. This family owned retreat is one of a kind with a history going back to 1906. The main lodge has been fully remodeled with a full functioning restaurant and bar with the highlight being the large deck and the view of Glacier National Park overlooking the famous Continental Divide. The steakhouse & patio at the lodge offer seating for approx 60 people, all of whom may gaze at the splendor of Glacier National Park in clear view. Unsurpassed views offer the guests a chance to breath in the fresh air, get lost in the tranquility, spot some of the numerous wildlife roaming on the hillside or gaze at the historic Great Northern Railroad trains pass by just as they did in the 1800's. Sit back, relax and check your email on our free wi-fi if so desired while sipping on one of your favorite beverages. The restaurant, and patio areas are open all day long for leisure. *NEW - Our Glacier events room can accommodate up to 50 people and is perfect for private parties, weddings and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Summit Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing