We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old But Charming”
Review of Glacier Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glacier Park Lodge
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed in this historic lodge in late July. For those who desire a modern hotel, with all the amenities and conveniences, this is not the place for you. For those of you willing to take a trip back in time and live the old fashioned way for a few days and get to experience a piece of history, I would highly recommend the Glacier Park Lodge.

The rooms are absolutely HUGE (more than enough room in ours for two queen sized beds and a trundle) but are, as I said, old fashioned. Small bathroom, pipes running along the ceiling, no TV (thank goodness!). But.....the view out the windows, the peace and quiet, and just the magic in this beautiful old place make it totally worthwhile.

If you are looking for peace and quiet, I would recommend getting a room on the top floor of the annex -- there are old hardwood floors throughout the entire lodge and you can hear every little step and squeak from the rooms above you. In the height of summer, be sure and ask for a fan, which they will happily provide -- it cools off quickly at night and the fan is as good as air conditioning, in my opinion.

The lodge employs a large number of domestic and foreign exchange students during summer, so service can be iffy. If you need something and it's not done, don't be afraid to make another request -- it will happen, it just may be a bit slow (we had to request a fan twice over a two hour period, but eventually TWO showed up in our room!).

The lodge restaurant was great for breakfast each morning, but due to the other not-so-favorable reviews on this site, we skipped it for lunch and dinner. We did, however, find a wonderful diner/restaurant in the town of East Glacier, called Buzz's (directly in front of you as you go under the train bridge into town), which had incredibly delicious food. It was gourmet food at diner prices! I would highly recommend it.

i'd also recommend the spa services at the lodge. I had a 15 minute massage which was reasonably priced and probably the best massage I've ever had! Lovely after a long day's hike!

I absolutely love this place, and am looking forward to staying there again. As I said, there's something magical about it. But you need to leave your ideas about modern hotels back in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ZeldaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2007

This si truly a living piece of Rocky Mountain history. If you can accept that fact, then you will understand that it is not intended to be the next glitzy roadside replica of every other motel down the road. The lobby completes that statement in spades!. Beautiful old mountain inn with a big fire in the fireplace in early July. Rooms are large & comfortable. Gronds are beautiful, and staff is helpful and friendly. Not the greatest value, but to spend an evening in a time capsule from last century it's effective at the price. In Kalispell an hour away ther's plenty of modern hotels restaurants, but if you want a taste of history and the past, this place delivers at a reasonable price for the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kingfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Just returned from our daughter's wedding at the East Glacier Lodge. The event planning staff, especially Susie Roberts, bent over backwards to assure that all our concerns and needs were addressed...not an easy task when you're planning the wedding from Minnesota/Wisconsin! The wedding was held on the lawn, with beautiful trees and a natural birch arch framing the view of the mountains. The reception was held in the Feather Room in the lower level of the Lodge...at first glance a pretty uninspiring room, but we were able to add lights and decorations to add some ambiance. The dinner buffet was excellent. The food was all well-prepared and abundant. We especially enjoyed the chicken with red onion and huckleberry marmalade and the grilled salmon. The banquet staff couldn't have been more accommodating. None of our guests stayed at the Lodge, opting for cottages and houses in the immediate area instead, but we were definitely pleased with the wedding and reception. We would also recommend Serrano's Mexican Restaurant, which is always busy but worth the wait...try the Serrano's burrito! The Two Medicine Grill is also a great stop for breakfast or lunch, as is the Whistle Stop Cafe. Don't forget to pay a visit to the "Spoon Lady" while in East Glacier.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Bridesmom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

It was my first time staying in National Park lodging and had heard Park lodging was not so great. I admit I was dissappointed when I entered our overpriced room, but what made up for it a hundred times fold, was the atmosphere in the lobby during the evening hours. It was incredible. There were people reading, playing games and someone was playing a piano. It was busy, but not a hectic busy. It was relaxing, soothing and wonderful!!! We all loved it and the room was not so bad after all. I slept well, which was a feet in itself. It was quiet and the beds turned out to be very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brutus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

This is a late review, but having just read all of the terrible and unfair reviews of this grand old lodge, I felt compelled to try and balance the picture. First of all, this is a log structure built in the early 1900's which is located in the wilds of the Rocky Mountains. If you come here to be pampered, you are in the wrong place. But if you are looking for an architectual gem, a genuine piece of American history (not a manufactured Hollywood replica) all located in a wonderful mountain setting, then the Glacier Park Lodge is for you.

No elevators? We had a third floor room and tried something really novel: we found a healthy-looking worker and asked him to carry our bags up the stairs and then gave him a nice tip. Wow, I wonder if this will catch on?

No air conditioning? We stayed here in July and by opening the window our room was cool enough to require a heavy blanket. Plus we had the added advantage of breathing real mountain air.

No TV? Enough said.

Outdated plumbing? Even on the third floor, with a little fanagling and patience we had nice hot showers during our stay.

Ambiance? It doesn't get any better. Just walking around this masterpiece is a once in a lifetime experience. And that is before you even step outside and begin to enjoy the surrounding wilderness. In the early morning I would sit in one of the great old chairs in the hall that connects the main lodge to the annex and watch the mountains come alive outside the big glass windows.

Friendly staff? Most of the staff is made up of college students working here during the summer. We found almost all of them to be friendly, hard working and eager to please.

All things considered, it would be hard to find a better overall lodging experience than the Glacier Park Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Engineer111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

This isn't a typical hotel. A "grand lodge" built in 1912 by the railroad to promote Glacier as a new tourist destination, it's located in an area of unsurpassed natural beauty but limited "modern conveniences".

This hotel is for you if you are looking for a sense of history and convenience to the fantastic Glacier National park, and it's right next door to the Amtrak train station if you don't want to drive.

Quibbles? They are minor. They could have put a TV in the room and a fresh coat of paint on the halls, but the reality is I didn't come to this place to spend my time indoors - and when I *was* indoors, the lack of a TV (and all the comfy places in the amazing lobby) actually helped me read and unwind.

The only thing I really wasn't pleased with was the quality of the food at the restaurant in the hotel - we ordered a sausage sampler appetizer (I think it was odd things like Elk, Buffalo, etc.) and half the sausages arrived totally uncooked. But you that's not the only place to eat nearby - the two restaurants on the other side of the rail underpass (one Mexican, the other more typical but home-cooked fare) were very good and we just ate there the rest of the time.

By the way, although there is a lot of rail traffic near the hotel (trains seemed to go by at least 4-5 times a day), and our room was in the annex nearer the tracks, the trains never disturbed us. They don't screech or honk their horns and there's no clanging rail crossing.

For active types I recommend a hike - we did the Vista Point hike at Two Medicine lake and although it was pretty strenuous it was a fantastic view. For the less active (or heck everyone actually) I also recomend taking the "Red Bus" tour on Going to the Sun Road. It leaves right from the front of the hotel and you'll see the best mountain scenery in the USA.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sashazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We wanted to stay in the historic lodges at Yellowstone and Glacier Parks.
OK, the lobby here is awesome!! Relaxing and inspiring. And, the views are dramatic. I enjoyed reading in the front of the fire.
The bathrooms will never confused with any big name chain operation.
We stayed two nights -in the final week prior to winter closure. It was like the set of the "the Shining" (very few guests).
The food was not great, in fact, the breakfast- buffet eggs were barely warm.
Have a glass of wine in the lobby, watch the sunset from the bar, but avoid eating or staying at this lodge until it is refurbished and the the food service is improved.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grandcanyondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#6 of 6 in East Glacier Park
258 reviews
21.2 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
586 reviews
12 mi away
Glacier Peaks Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
244 reviews
22.9 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Lodge

Address: 499 Mt-49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range: $217 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the western charm of the historic Glacier Park Lodge, which was completed in 1913. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery makes Glacier Park Lodge a truly unique vacation destination. Although steeped in culture and history of the Great Northern Railway and Blackfeet Indians, Glacier Park Lodge features modern amenities such as a heated swimming pool, nine-hole golf course, in-room telephones, nine-hole pitch-n-putt golf course, gift shop, lounge and the outstanding Great Northern Rib and Steak House. Glacier Park Lodge is in East Glacier Park, Montana on Highway 2. Glacier Park Amtrak Train Station is located just across the street from the hotel where guests are picked up daily in our antique red Checker taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glacier Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Hotel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing