We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely to look at,but not too closely”
Review of Glacier Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glacier Park Lodge
Macon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
383 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“lovely to look at,but not too closely”
Reviewed July 3, 2007

This si truly a living piece of Rocky Mountain history. If you can accept that fact, then you will understand that it is not intended to be the next glitzy roadside replica of every other motel down the road. The lobby completes that statement in spades!. Beautiful old mountain inn with a big fire in the fireplace in early July. Rooms are large & comfortable. Gronds are beautiful, and staff is helpful and friendly. Not the greatest value, but to spend an evening in a time capsule from last century it's effective at the price. In Kalispell an hour away ther's plenty of modern hotels restaurants, but if you want a taste of history and the past, this place delivers at a reasonable price for the experience.

  • Liked — the lobby
  • Disliked — train noise at night
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kingfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    249
    162
    78
    66
See reviews for
243
332
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota/Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Just returned from our daughter's wedding at the East Glacier Lodge. The event planning staff, especially Susie Roberts, bent over backwards to assure that all our concerns and needs were addressed...not an easy task when you're planning the wedding from Minnesota/Wisconsin! The wedding was held on the lawn, with beautiful trees and a natural birch arch framing the view of the mountains. The reception was held in the Feather Room in the lower level of the Lodge...at first glance a pretty uninspiring room, but we were able to add lights and decorations to add some ambiance. The dinner buffet was excellent. The food was all well-prepared and abundant. We especially enjoyed the chicken with red onion and huckleberry marmalade and the grilled salmon. The banquet staff couldn't have been more accommodating. None of our guests stayed at the Lodge, opting for cottages and houses in the immediate area instead, but we were definitely pleased with the wedding and reception. We would also recommend Serrano's Mexican Restaurant, which is always busy but worth the wait...try the Serrano's burrito! The Two Medicine Grill is also a great stop for breakfast or lunch, as is the Whistle Stop Cafe. Don't forget to pay a visit to the "Spoon Lady" while in East Glacier.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bridesmom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brutus07
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2007

It was my first time staying in National Park lodging and had heard Park lodging was not so great. I admit I was dissappointed when I entered our overpriced room, but what made up for it a hundred times fold, was the atmosphere in the lobby during the evening hours. It was incredible. There were people reading, playing games and someone was playing a piano. It was busy, but not a hectic busy. It was relaxing, soothing and wonderful!!! We all loved it and the room was not so bad after all. I slept well, which was a feet in itself. It was quiet and the beds turned out to be very comfortable.

  • Liked — The evening lobby atmosphere
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brutus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

This is a late review, but having just read all of the terrible and unfair reviews of this grand old lodge, I felt compelled to try and balance the picture. First of all, this is a log structure built in the early 1900's which is located in the wilds of the Rocky Mountains. If you come here to be pampered, you are in the wrong place. But if you are looking for an architectual gem, a genuine piece of American history (not a manufactured Hollywood replica) all located in a wonderful mountain setting, then the Glacier Park Lodge is for you.

No elevators? We had a third floor room and tried something really novel: we found a healthy-looking worker and asked him to carry our bags up the stairs and then gave him a nice tip. Wow, I wonder if this will catch on?

No air conditioning? We stayed here in July and by opening the window our room was cool enough to require a heavy blanket. Plus we had the added advantage of breathing real mountain air.

No TV? Enough said.

Outdated plumbing? Even on the third floor, with a little fanagling and patience we had nice hot showers during our stay.

Ambiance? It doesn't get any better. Just walking around this masterpiece is a once in a lifetime experience. And that is before you even step outside and begin to enjoy the surrounding wilderness. In the early morning I would sit in one of the great old chairs in the hall that connects the main lodge to the annex and watch the mountains come alive outside the big glass windows.

Friendly staff? Most of the staff is made up of college students working here during the summer. We found almost all of them to be friendly, hard working and eager to please.

All things considered, it would be hard to find a better overall lodging experience than the Glacier Park Lodge.

  • Liked — Historical architecture and setting
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Engineer111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

This isn't a typical hotel. A "grand lodge" built in 1912 by the railroad to promote Glacier as a new tourist destination, it's located in an area of unsurpassed natural beauty but limited "modern conveniences".

This hotel is for you if you are looking for a sense of history and convenience to the fantastic Glacier National park, and it's right next door to the Amtrak train station if you don't want to drive.

Quibbles? They are minor. They could have put a TV in the room and a fresh coat of paint on the halls, but the reality is I didn't come to this place to spend my time indoors - and when I *was* indoors, the lack of a TV (and all the comfy places in the amazing lobby) actually helped me read and unwind.

The only thing I really wasn't pleased with was the quality of the food at the restaurant in the hotel - we ordered a sausage sampler appetizer (I think it was odd things like Elk, Buffalo, etc.) and half the sausages arrived totally uncooked. But you that's not the only place to eat nearby - the two restaurants on the other side of the rail underpass (one Mexican, the other more typical but home-cooked fare) were very good and we just ate there the rest of the time.

By the way, although there is a lot of rail traffic near the hotel (trains seemed to go by at least 4-5 times a day), and our room was in the annex nearer the tracks, the trains never disturbed us. They don't screech or honk their horns and there's no clanging rail crossing.

For active types I recommend a hike - we did the Vista Point hike at Two Medicine lake and although it was pretty strenuous it was a fantastic view. For the less active (or heck everyone actually) I also recomend taking the "Red Bus" tour on Going to the Sun Road. It leaves right from the front of the hotel and you'll see the best mountain scenery in the USA.

  • Liked — Historical background, location at Glacier Park
  • Disliked — Food at the restaurant
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sashazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinez, california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We wanted to stay in the historic lodges at Yellowstone and Glacier Parks.
OK, the lobby here is awesome!! Relaxing and inspiring. And, the views are dramatic. I enjoyed reading in the front of the fire.
The bathrooms will never confused with any big name chain operation.
We stayed two nights -in the final week prior to winter closure. It was like the set of the "the Shining" (very few guests).
The food was not great, in fact, the breakfast- buffet eggs were barely warm.
Have a glass of wine in the lobby, watch the sunset from the bar, but avoid eating or staying at this lodge until it is refurbished and the the food service is improved.

  • Liked — lobby
  • Disliked — food
  • Tips/Secrets — eat at the nearby Mexican joint
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grandcanyondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Glacier Park hotels

Minneapolis/St. Paul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

I didn't read the reviews of the Lodge until I returned from my stay. I have to say I was surprised. My husband and I spent four days/3 nights at the Lodge in mid-Sept. We had a great time. We came by train, and loved being picked up by a stretch Checker cab. It was a pleasant surpirse. We had expected to walk the couple of blocks to the front door of the lodge. The driver was pleasant and helpful. Checking in was a breeze. We joked about the stairs to the 3rd floor (which because of the height of the 1st floor is more like walking up to the 4th floor) but we knew in advance that there were no elevators. We also knew that the rooms were rustic, no TV, hair dryer, etc. Because we have stayed at other properties built in the early part of the 20th century, we expected that the bathroom conversions would be small, and they were. We have also been quite comfortable staying at properties that have not added private baths but are still using the "bathroom down the hall" system. The rooms were very simple but the carpeting and bedspread were new. I would have been very disappointed to arrive at the lodge only to discover that rooms were like the Holiday Inn at home. And besides I didn't come to the Glacier National Park area to sit in my hotel room.

As for the room rate, who doesn't know that taxes aren't included when you are quoted a price? I thought the price was a bit high but so high that I would avoid staying here again.

We enjoyed the restaurant and lounge. Although the food is pricey, it was of good quality and the service was excellent. Maybe if you stay here in the early season the staff is still learning their jobs. We did not run into a single staff person that was a disappointment. In fact we received stellar service from the concierge desk, wait staff (both restaurant and lounge), and the attendant in the convenience store.

We also enjoyed the quiet time sitting by the fireplace reading, visiting with new friends or playing cards. This is the sort of vacation that people sought out in the past. A place to relax and the time to do it.

The highlight of the stay was the Circle Tour that we took with the Red Bus Touring Company. Tom, our "jammer", (also known as the driver and guide) was outstanding. We were having such a good time, that with our blessing he extended the trip by an hour and half at no extra charge.

Would I stay there again? In a heartbeat. Maybe you need to be a certain kind of traveller to enjoy this lodge. We loved it.

  • Liked — location, lobby, and service
  • Tips/Secrets — slow down, enjoy the scenery
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
21.2 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
22.9 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#3 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Lodge

Property: Glacier Park Lodge
Address: 499 MT-49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the western charm of the historic Glacier Park Lodge, which was completed in 1913. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery makes Glacier Park Lodge a truly unique vacation destination. Although steeped in culture and history of the Great Northern Railway and Blackfeet Indians, Glacier Park Lodge features modern amenities such as a heated swimming pool, nine-hole golf course, in-room telephones, nine-hole pitch-n-putt golf course, gift shop, lounge and the outstanding Great Northern Rib and Steak House. Glacier Park Lodge is in East Glacier Park, Montana on Highway 2. Glacier Park Amtrak Train Station is located just across the street from the hotel where guests are picked up daily in our antique red Checker taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Glacier Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Hotel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing