We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel”
Review of Glacier Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glacier Park Lodge
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I am glad I got a chance to stay here because it is a historic hotel with wonderful massive trees framing the lobby. The front grounds are beautiful with two big tepees and lots of flowers all around the huge lawn. There are rolling hills along the back with a pool to the side, which kind of seemed out of place, but I would guess kids would like that. The rooms were "historic" too, meaning not updated. Our floors creaked, the bathroom was old and small and we were right by a stairwell which was a little noisy at times. There was a nice big porch right outside the door. Our room had no coffee maker, and I bet the others don't either due to the old wiring. They did NOT give you free coffee coupons like Many Glacier did for rooms that did not have coffee makers.
This hotel cost us more, but it was our least favorite of the NPS hotels we stayed at in Glacier. However, I was still glad to have stayed here due to the historic nature of the hotel, which is why I gave it a very good rating. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
There are newer reviews for Glacier Park Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at a different Glacier lodge and needed a fourth night in the area, so we stayed here. It was close to the end of the season, but the fireplace in the lobby was roaring, and everyone congregates there anyway. This is because there are no TVs in the building and very limited Internet access. Great place to soak up the atmosphere of an early 20th century National Parks lodge. Right across from the Amtrak station and the offices for the Red Bus tours throughout the park. We enjoyed the dining room, especially our waiter, who was a true professional.

Many Glacier Lodge may be a little more convenient to better trail heads.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you are going to Glacier National Park, this a a Lodge you definitely need to visit or stay at! Loved, Loved, this lodge. Food was great, grouds were beautiful, hotel is magnificent, and our room was so neat. There were five of us who stayed in one big room with 4 queen sized beds! It was a "fun slumber party." Downside to it -- NO ELEVATORS!! We were on the 3rd floor!

Room Tip: There are no elevators at this resort!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Like Many Glacier Hotel to the north, Glacier Park Lodge is a historic old hotel with a fantastic lobby of big trees in a beautiful setting. Be prepared for no TV in the rooms and limited WiFI hot spots. It would be helpful to guests if Glacier Park Lodge noted on its website that it doesn't have an elevator and that guests may have to walk up several flights of stairs. The food was priced on the high side and, while generally tasty, was skewed a bit toward the spicy side. To save our stomachs, we had to go to the nearby Luna's and the Whistle Stop Café to get slightly plainer (yet tasty) meals. There is entertainment in the lobby at nights, fires in the fireplaces when the weather turns cool, and reasonable rooms with comfortable beds. In many ways, this is a hiker's hotel. Be prepared for facilities to shut down earlier than most resorts. There's no ice or room service after 11 p.m. Take a good book to read if you're a night owl.

Room Tip: With today's computer systems, the hotel should be able to guarantee accessible rooms for people...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a great place if you'd like to unplug from the world. Typical national park lodge built in the early 1900's main lobby with three story vaulted ceiling and old time charm. Rooms were spartan with no phone air conditioning or TV, for that you'll need to visit the main floor of the lobby and watch TV in the bar. Wifi available but weak and unavailable in the rooms. Advise you pack light as there are no elevators for luggage although bellman are available to pack them up the stairs. A wide variety of dishes available at the restaurant food and service were very good, but during the time we visited there was a moderate fly problem in the rooms and restaurant. If you plan on using the electrical outlets in the room, make sure you have an adapter for two prong plug. Grounds very beautiful with a small golf course on site.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Glacier Park Lodge earlier in September. It is a beautiful hotel but it needs updating and needs to be more accessible. I requested a room on the main floor so that I didn't have to do steps. We were given one down a flight of stairs. When we got to our room, we even had to go up a stair to get into the bathroom. We ended up going up the flight of stairs to eat, to get out of the hotel, and even to get ice.

I have stayed in National Park Lodges before so I expected the no A/C and no internet. What I didn't expect was the front desk to be unresponsive to those with accessibility issues. When we checked in, there was a woman sitting there on her laptop who said they had a person in their party that used a walker and they had been waiting 2 hours to get a room.

The Lodge is beautiful, most of the staff was very helpful, the restaurant was good. They just need to work on being more ADA complaint.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Sharla M,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay with us at Glacier Park Lodge on Trip Advisor. We were disappointed to read that you felt the lodge was not ADA compliant and apologize for the disconnect with the reservation, requesting a room on the main floor and for the inconcenience. We have made notice of this situation with management, and will be sure to make certain this is addressed with the appropriate parties. We hope you had a wonderful remainder of your trip.

Best Regards,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park, Inc.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We just got home from a ten-day road trip to three national parks, Glacier being one of them. We stayed in four lodges, all in the parks, and this was by FAR our least favorite. We are savvy travelers and I understand that the lodge is an historic building but it is in major need of updating. The original architecture is amazing but it stops there. The furniture is outdated and awkward. We got to our room having to schlep our luggage up three flights of stairs to get to our room. To say it was tiny and dingy is an understatement. We had to shimmy around the queen size bed, there was hardly anywhere to even put our suitcase and the bathroom looked like what I have seen in the movies in a prison cell. The sink was tiny and about 2-1/2 feet off the ground. The shower was metal and also tiny. We had dinner at the restaurant and our server was very friendly and food was pretty good. The lighting in the dining room is equivalent to what you'd see in a high school gymnasium and the tables and chairs looked like what you'd find in your great-grandmother's kitchen. We also had two servers having a crazy loud conversation two feet from our table and they were both eating with their hands at the station by the kitchen. Not very pleasant! After staying at three other lodges- for the same price- we would definitely stay somewhere else on our next visit.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so pick a room on the first or second floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FancyNancyinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear FancyNancyinSF,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay with us at Lake McDonald Lodge. We were disappointed to read of your experience. We do apologize for the inconvenience with the luggage, as it appears the bellman were not available to assist you at that time. We have contacted management regarding the servers whom were distracting you from your meal. We hope you will offer us another opportunity to earn your stay again in the future and that you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Guest Relations Manager
Glacier Park Inc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
21.2 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
251 reviews
20.6 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#3 of 6 in East Glacier Park
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Lodge

Address: 499 Mt-49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range: $216 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the western charm of the historic Glacier Park Lodge, which was completed in 1913. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery makes Glacier Park Lodge a truly unique vacation destination. Although steeped in culture and history of the Great Northern Railway and Blackfeet Indians, Glacier Park Lodge features modern amenities such as a heated swimming pool, nine-hole golf course, in-room telephones, nine-hole pitch-n-putt golf course, gift shop, lounge and the outstanding Great Northern Rib and Steak House. Glacier Park Lodge is in East Glacier Park, Montana on Highway 2. Glacier Park Amtrak Train Station is located just across the street from the hotel where guests are picked up daily in our antique red Checker taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Glacier Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Hotel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing