We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Historic Lodge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glacier Park Lodge
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Historic Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We decided to stay in the Glacier National Park Lodge since it is the only one in Glacier National Park that we had not stayed in. We also had not hiked much in Two Medicine so to try something different It was adequate but just did not have the feel of Many Glacier. It was very quite at night but something was just missing with this lodge experience. We did not splurge on a mountain view but did not expect to be looking over the kitchens vents. The hotel is adequate and I would stay here again if we decide to visit Two Medicine again. The lobby is amazing with its soaring supports but overall it has lost some of its original elegance. This is probably due to changing times in it caters now to the train, bus and golf crowd. More chairs outside to watch the sunset be nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimothySpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    248
    162
    78
    66
See reviews for
242
332
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just had to stop and check out this beautiful lodge on our way to Two Medicine. We just loved the teepees out front. As you walk into this massive lodge your eyes go up to take it all in! Great view of the mountains from the back porch. They were setting up for a wedding so there was a large tent out on the lawn. If we make it back to Glacier, we'll have to try and stay a night here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bodyhealer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent four nights at Glacier Lodge. No you do not have air conditioning but who needs it when it is so cool at night and they provide a big fan in your room. The Glacier Lodge was beautiful and everyone working there was very friendly. Amtrak had forgotten to book us for the first night we arrived and we had to take a third floor room; I requested to be moved to the annex and we were moved the next morning. You don't have to eat at the restaurant; eat in the lounge or go to one of the two small towns within walking distance. The food was much less expensive and delicious. We had two 8 hour tours and the tour directors were very knowledgeable and the scenery was beautiful. The last day there, we were treated to a chili and cookie cook-off. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying their stay at this historical spot.

Room Tip: As for a room in the 500 Annex on the garden side. Very quiet and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilynn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The reviews I've read are harsh. No the rooms aren't luxurious but very comfortable, spacious and part of what's charming about this lodge. The giant trees that have supported this structure for 100 years are awe inspiring. Yes if you stay in the original lodge its noisier but the noise is from great live music that stops at a decent hour. All in all our two nights there were very enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Returning to this area after 50 yrs could not have been more welcoming had it not been for this establishment & it's superior staff. It was my husband's first visit to Glacier so the bar was set high! We had a marvelous peaceful experience; awesome scenery and audacious surroundings from the entertainment in the "Parlor/Lobby" to the individual rooms. We were so very impressed with the personnel, from the "jammers" whom we depended on from arrival to departure including tours to the so very helpful staffing whether that be in the Shops, Linda especially, or the Bar/Lounge, Jessica for sure. Most accommodating were the Dining Room staff, from greeting to the serving; Addie, Rebecca & Josey! We would be remiss if we did not give accolades to Chef Nate, this man's culinary creations were unbelievable in this setting & belong in any 5* dining establishment!
Our only dissatisfaction was in the "slowness" of the internet connections... maybe we are way too dependent on this technology. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NonaCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear NonaCarole,

We appreciate you leaving your kind words and feedback on Trip Advisor. We were glad to read that you returned and were impressed with the experience and the staff. Thank you for giving notice to the specific members of our staff that helped enhance your experience at the lodge. We are working on providing better wi-fi in the lodge, and hope that the next time you return, it will be improved.

Best Regards,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
csunell@glacierparkinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

As someone else has stated in their review, this is a great bucket list experience. The history is incredible as the hotel is celebrating its centennial. The lobby is even more remarkable up close and personal. We loved sitting on the porch in the wooden rocking chairs. However, the rooms seem to also be celebrating their centennial. There is no A/C and given we were there when temps were in the upper 80's, A/C would have been great. At least there was a fan in the room which helped some. If you have ever showered on a cruise ship, you will find the shower very similar. in other words, you can't bend over and if you are more than 150 pounds, you may not even fit. At $200 per night for a very basic room, one would hope for a bit more comfort. Also, there is no elevator so you need to find a bell boy or carry your own luggage. Glad we experienced it, but once was enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

As others note, this place was built for the workers who built the railroad nearby 100 years ago. Rooms are small, and amenities few. The architecture is impressive, the service isn't. The restaurant is great if you want the $35 steak or $20 breakfast buffet. There is a bar with sandwiches etc. We had more luck with the funky little eateries in the town (10-15 min walk). We saw glimpses of some of the other in-park lodges in the course of our sightseeing--they are all old and rustic and beautiful, but several others are better located than this lodge for activities other than bus touring. But while we'd not return to this lodge, we enjoyed it for what it is--History.

Room Tip: Get a room in the upper floors of the main building unless you like long walks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
21.2 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
23.0 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Lodge

Property: Glacier Park Lodge
Address: 499 MT-49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the western charm of the historic Glacier Park Lodge, which was completed in 1913. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery makes Glacier Park Lodge a truly unique vacation destination. Although steeped in culture and history of the Great Northern Railway and Blackfeet Indians, Glacier Park Lodge features modern amenities such as a heated swimming pool, nine-hole golf course, in-room telephones, nine-hole pitch-n-putt golf course, gift shop, lounge and the outstanding Great Northern Rib and Steak House. Glacier Park Lodge is in East Glacier Park, Montana on Highway 2. Glacier Park Amtrak Train Station is located just across the street from the hotel where guests are picked up daily in our antique red Checker taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Glacier Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Hotel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing