We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, loud "Has Been" historic hotel - Do NOT stay here!”
Review of Glacier Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glacier Park Lodge
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dirty, loud "Has Been" historic hotel - Do NOT stay here!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

How sad that the National Park Service has allowed this piece of American history deteriorate to such a low level. We've traveled to and stayed at many historic hotels at National Parks (Yellowstone, Grand Teton, Grand Canyon, etc.) and the Glacier Park Lodge was one of the worst, most depressing, anti-family hotels I've ever stayed at. To start with, the room was not comfortable and more importantly, the bathroom looked like it had not had a good scrubbing in many years. To give you a sense of it, my teenager wanted to wear flip flops in the shower!

Others have noted that the walls and doors are paper thin but no one has noted that in the main lodge, they play live music until at least 10 pm each night. While it sounds like a nice concept, a banjo or piano playing under your door when you (or your children) are trying to sleep so you can explore the park the next day is horrible. And, unless you complain (which I was forced to do when the music didn't stop at 10 pm when the front desk staff promised it would after I complained the first time) the hotel staff won't stop random guests from loudly singing and playing the piano AFTER 10 pm.

Oh, did I mention that the hotel also gave a key to our room (I guess they have put aside safety for tha historic charm of real keys) to a random stranger who walked into our room while we were changing? Yes - it's all true and the hotel management could offer no explanation for how that happened!

The next morning, I spoke to a couple of the front desk staff and management. The first person I spoke to defended the noise by saying essentially that it was my fault because I booked a room in the main lodge. Little did I know that there was going to be amateur music night until past 10 pm. The property manager did apologize and said that music is only supposed to run until 9 pm.

I would never stay at GPL and I would recommend you avoid staying at this hotel too. The West side and Whitefish offer better alternatives that are cleaner, safer, where you can actually get a good nights sleep and where the management doesn't make excuses or blame the guest for its poor performance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hnehpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Hnehpets,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us at Glacier Park Lodge. We were disappointed to read of your experience and would like to offer an apology for the inconvenience with the music being played after 9pm, as promised otherwise, and also for the mistake that was made with the room key. We understand that the safety and privacy of yourself and your family are extremely important, and assure you that this is a highly rare situation. We have made the front desk staff aware of how to address the customers who have had similar experiences and they are aware that using language that suggests it is the fault of the customers is unacceptable and not within our standard procedures. We hope that if in the future you come to East Glacier, you will allow us to show you a room that might better suite your needs and an experience that is of utmost accommodation.

Best Regards,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park, Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
csunell@glacierparkinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    293
    185
    93
    80
See reviews for
312
382
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

East Glacier Lodge was built by the Northern Pacific railway in 1914 in hopes that it would bolster tourism out to the Glacier National Park area from the Eastern areas of the US. It is a stately lodge, built from 60 foot Douglas Fir trees holding up an immense lobby that one has to just wander around and gaze at in awe (since it was built so long ago). A great place to "chill out", read a book, listen to the almost nightly music, have a brew from the nearby bar/lounge, or just relax in one of the many easy chairs, some near the fire, scattered around the lobby. There is no a/c, or room televisions, and wi-fi is spotty unless you're sitting near the router which is behind the main reservation desk. But this is a historic lodge with a boatload of history so one can overlook those amenities and enjoy the place as it is. It overlooks the mountains of Glacier NP (it is actually outside of the park boundary) but access to the park is very easy via the east or west entrances at Apgar or St. Mary's, with St. Mary's being the closer (about 18 miles away). If you like to visit the famous old lodges of the West, put this one on your list!! Oh, I should mention that we traveled to Glacier NP by Amtrak, all the way from central Pennsylvania (the East Glacier station is about 100 yards from the front of the lodge).

Room Tip: Specifically ask for your room location when making your reservation, especially if traveling by tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Glacier Park in mid August. It was fairly warm while we were there but with the windows open and the supplied fan on we were comfortable. Our room and bathroom were spotless. Yes the bathrooms are small but adequate. The showers are small but had great water pressure and hot water. Small basket in bath with shampoo, creme rinse, lotion, shower cap, soaps and sewing kit. Very clean medicine cabinet and small glass shelf above sink for your things. Our room had a full bed and a single. The bed was comfortable with nice linens and spreads. Noise wasn't a problem except about 10pm when the next room checked in and decided to unpack for an hour and kept banging around. We ate in the lounge two nights. Both times it was quite warm as the sun streams in on that side in the afternoon and there is no AC. The menu was varied and the server was pleasant. Ate breakfast in the dining room both mornings. Both the continental and the full buffet were good and worth the price. The coffee cups are gigantic. Service was good. Grounds are beautiful and relaxing. Did not miss TV. Did miss an elevator and no internet in room. All in all it was worth the $$ to stay in a historic lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msf073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a Bucket List place, meaning I would recommend everyone stay here once & only once. The property is rich in history. The all-wood lobby is beautiful. The hallways and many rocking chairs on the balcony give a sense of relaxation that cannot be found at a national chain. But, the food is overpriced, the value of the room is not so good at $189 & up. Given that this is a 100-year old hotel, we knew not to expect modern amenities such as a closet or bathtub, but the room was flat out barren. Even the Hampton Inn has stock art on the wall.

Other positives: The hotel lobby had free wi-fi. Walking distance to Amtrak East Glacier station, Dollar rental car, and some inexpensive local restaurants. Luggage storage for Amtrak riders & shuttle service for people unable to walk to the train station. Evening live music in the lobby.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the main lodge area rather than the north wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroad24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Hubby & I are on a month long road trip to 7 classic National Park Lodges. This breaks my heart. What a great old beautiful lodge that couldn't even be created today, but have the people who run it ever been to a really classy hotel? We paid nearly $400/night for a suite (actually 2 adjoining rooms.) We had our own private balcony, which was rare, & great. But give me a break, the bedding was Motel 6 quality, not even a mattress pad under the sheets, the pillows smelled, & the bedspread also looked like a Motel 6 bedspread. The sofa bed in the living room had tears in the fabric & the seat pillows didn't even cover the sofa-bed "works." There are many international visitors staying here, & I was embarrassed for what they must've thought of the quality of lodging associated with one of our grand old National Parks. When we arrived, the bellman came out, asked if we were checking in, & when we said "Yes," his reply was "Cool," & he proceeded to ignore us as we got our luggage out & carried it in ourselves. I understand it's hard to get help in resorts that have a limited, & short season, but at least there should be SOME training of staff. What a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Birdyann,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your stay with us at Glacier Park Lodge. We were saddened to read of your unpleasant experience with the bedding, and apologize for the quality of bedding and sofa upholstery. We strive to maintain these items to the best of quality we can provide, and management has been notified to look into the suites and make the appropriate adjustments. We apologize for the encounter you had with the bellman on your way out of the lodge, and we will make sure to stress this experience with our staff for training purposes. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we hope you will offer us an opportunity in the future to earn your business again.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park, Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Glacier Park hotels

Vannes
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

back to Glacier Pk Lodge.
We got this year a nice roomp despite a late arrival, but I've explained that for me it's the time of reservation which is essential not the time of check in...
Room is large, view on the mountain, quite, shared balcony.
Bathroom is tiny but the problem is at the shower...Tiny tiny and fixed...So, depending your height you will be able to have a correct shower...or not!!!
Read a book in the hallway is a must.

Room Tip: Inssit by mail that the first who have RESERVED should have the best room, not the first at check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
772 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed in several National Park lodges and they are all awesome to behold. The following is why I rated it only "average".This one is extremely popular - likely for it's ease of car access and being located only1000 feet from the Amtrak train station. I would recommend booking a room here in the off-seasons because it is nearly impossible to obtain a room in the summer. The lodge was built by Louis Hill, son of James J. Hill the Empire Builder and in cooperation with the Blackfeet Tribe. It is located on the Blackfeet Reservation and outside the park. We were able to obtain a room through a independant booking agent for an additional fee on top of the very expensive room price. Even though trying to book directly on the GPL website 5 months in advance and continuing to try several tiimes they were always sold out for August when we were traveling through Glacier Park by Amtrak. The room promised sounded great with a balcony. We had to wait four hours for the room to be ready. The room we received was probably one of the worst (though we did get a shared balcony). It was in the North Annex, on the lowest level, as far as it could be from the main lobby right next to a public stairwell. The people in the room directly above us could be heard all night walking around. There were people tromping up and down the stairwell, talking loudly late at night and very early in the morning. The room had been updated with a cheap hollow core door, cheap plastic tiny shower and an extremely teeny tiny sink. The room was also very hot and we had to leave both windows wide open (no AC) all night. The freight trains passing through nearly every hour all night also kept waking us up. During the day the lodge is wonderful to walk around with HUGE vertical timbers on the inside and nicely manicured grounds outside. A disappointment was that there is no access to hiking trails from the Lodge which we did not discover until inquiring with two different staff people who contradicted each other on that fact. I think if you are fortunate to obtain a upper floor room in the main lodge on the mountain view side you would have a better experience than us, though I'm sure you might pay a very high price to get it.

Room Tip: I would only stay here again if : 1. the room is in the main lodge building 2. it's is on the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
21.2 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#4 of 6 in East Glacier Park
244 reviews
20.7 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Lodge

Property: Glacier Park Lodge
Address: 499 Mt-49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the western charm of the historic Glacier Park Lodge, which was completed in 1913. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery makes Glacier Park Lodge a truly unique vacation destination. Although steeped in culture and history of the Great Northern Railway and Blackfeet Indians, Glacier Park Lodge features modern amenities such as a heated swimming pool, nine-hole golf course, in-room telephones, nine-hole pitch-n-putt golf course, gift shop, lounge and the outstanding Great Northern Rib and Steak House. Glacier Park Lodge is in East Glacier Park, Montana on Highway 2. Glacier Park Amtrak Train Station is located just across the street from the hotel where guests are picked up daily in our antique red Checker taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Glacier Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Hotel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing