We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Very Sad”
Review of Glacier Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glacier Park Lodge
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Hubby & I are on a month long road trip to 7 classic National Park Lodges. This breaks my heart. What a great old beautiful lodge that couldn't even be created today, but have the people who run it ever been to a really classy hotel? We paid nearly $400/night for a suite (actually 2 adjoining rooms.) We had our own private balcony, which was rare, & great. But give me a break, the bedding was Motel 6 quality, not even a mattress pad under the sheets, the pillows smelled, & the bedspread also looked like a Motel 6 bedspread. The sofa bed in the living room had tears in the fabric & the seat pillows didn't even cover the sofa-bed "works." There are many international visitors staying here, & I was embarrassed for what they must've thought of the quality of lodging associated with one of our grand old National Parks. When we arrived, the bellman came out, asked if we were checking in, & when we said "Yes," his reply was "Cool," & he proceeded to ignore us as we got our luggage out & carried it in ourselves. I understand it's hard to get help in resorts that have a limited, & short season, but at least there should be SOME training of staff. What a disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roberta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Birdyann,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your stay with us at Glacier Park Lodge. We were saddened to read of your unpleasant experience with the bedding, and apologize for the quality of bedding and sofa upholstery. We strive to maintain these items to the best of quality we can provide, and management has been notified to look into the suites and make the appropriate adjustments. We apologize for the encounter you had with the bellman on your way out of the lodge, and we will make sure to stress this experience with our staff for training purposes. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we hope you will offer us an opportunity in the future to earn your business again.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park, Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

back to Glacier Pk Lodge.
We got this year a nice roomp despite a late arrival, but I've explained that for me it's the time of reservation which is essential not the time of check in...
Room is large, view on the mountain, quite, shared balcony.
Bathroom is tiny but the problem is at the shower...Tiny tiny and fixed...So, depending your height you will be able to have a correct shower...or not!!!
Read a book in the hallway is a must.

Room Tip: Inssit by mail that the first who have RESERVED should have the best room, not the first at check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed in several National Park lodges and they are all awesome to behold. The following is why I rated it only "average".This one is extremely popular - likely for it's ease of car access and being located only1000 feet from the Amtrak train station. I would recommend booking a room here in the off-seasons because it is nearly impossible to obtain a room in the summer. The lodge was built by Louis Hill, son of James J. Hill the Empire Builder and in cooperation with the Blackfeet Tribe. It is located on the Blackfeet Reservation and outside the park. We were able to obtain a room through a independant booking agent for an additional fee on top of the very expensive room price. Even though trying to book directly on the GPL website 5 months in advance and continuing to try several tiimes they were always sold out for August when we were traveling through Glacier Park by Amtrak. The room promised sounded great with a balcony. We had to wait four hours for the room to be ready. The room we received was probably one of the worst (though we did get a shared balcony). It was in the North Annex, on the lowest level, as far as it could be from the main lobby right next to a public stairwell. The people in the room directly above us could be heard all night walking around. There were people tromping up and down the stairwell, talking loudly late at night and very early in the morning. The room had been updated with a cheap hollow core door, cheap plastic tiny shower and an extremely teeny tiny sink. The room was also very hot and we had to leave both windows wide open (no AC) all night. The freight trains passing through nearly every hour all night also kept waking us up. During the day the lodge is wonderful to walk around with HUGE vertical timbers on the inside and nicely manicured grounds outside. A disappointment was that there is no access to hiking trails from the Lodge which we did not discover until inquiring with two different staff people who contradicted each other on that fact. I think if you are fortunate to obtain a upper floor room in the main lodge on the mountain view side you would have a better experience than us, though I'm sure you might pay a very high price to get it.

Room Tip: I would only stay here again if : 1. the room is in the main lodge building 2. it's is on the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltheworld012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a unique hotel, where you must appreciate the quirkiness to enjoy. True to its 100 year heritage, it is very much an old-style hotel. The building itself and the lobby are magnificent and impressive. The room was adequate in size and furnishings, but being an old hotel the bathroom was small.

There was very much a lack of privacy between rooms. My room was part of what could be a multiple room suite in the annex with connecting doors to adjacent rooms. Though I'm sure a nice feature for large families, the doors themselves were paper thin. It seems to me they could greatly improve the sound insulation just by installing some more solid doors.

Very few amenities. I was fine with no phone or TV as I went to Glacier to get away from the world for a few days. No A/C, but I don't think it generally gets too hot there. My room opened onto a balcony, shared with adjacent rooms, that had a nice view of the mountains. It was nice to sit there and relax for a while. Wi-Fi coverage was very spotty. You could only really get signal in common areas. I don't think it would destroy the ambiance of the hotel to add some wireless hotspots closer to the rooms.

This is a good place to use as a jumping off spot for Glacier. I my first day at Glacier at Two Medicine, then spent the night here. I drove Going-To-The-Sun the next day, and stayed the next night in West Glacier.

I was not disappointed with my stay at Glacier Park Lodge. I would have rated it higher, but I do think the rooms are slightly overpriced for what you get even when you consider the location and the history.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Reviewed August 18, 2013 NEW

Of all the lodges I have stayed at in our beautiful national parks, Glacier Park Lodge, is my least favorite. I don't expect much from one of our historic treasures, don't need television in room, nor wifi but a small coffee pot would have been nice. For what you are charged for a room, they leave a lot to be desired. Rooms are dated, beds not comfortable (headboard rattled everytime you moved). The bathroom is extremely small - the sink was very tiny with a glass shelf right above it that overhung part of the sink so that it was very difficult to use without getting water everywhere. Faucet leaked. The shower was extremely small. I didn't have a problem with no A/C as evenings cooled down into the 40's so you could sleep comfortably. The food in the restaurant was reasonably adequate. Luna's down the street is also a great casual place to eat. They also were one of the few businesses in the area that had wifi for those who have a difficult time being logged off while on vacation. :0) My recomendation would be visit the lodge for its historical signifiance in the area and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cordelia1849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is our second stay at Glacier Park Lodge which is celebrating its 100th birthday this year and much of its charm is owed to its historic significance to the Park. The lobby is imposing with large fireplace, which even in summer, feels very nice during the cool evenings. Most of the guests enjoy congregating here after dinner, listening to live music, reading or just relaxing after a long day of outdoor activity. Connecting the main lodge to another wing, there is also a long loggia with big windows allowing nice views and overlooking the outdoor pool and front lawn on opposite sides. Comfortable chairs and tables are arranged here for reading, playing cards, or morning coffee. I was able to log onto wifi in the main lodge only after many tries and assistance from the front desk clerk. There are two golf courses; an executive par 3 and a regular 9-hole layout with some great views of the mountains. Breakfasts and dinners in the main dining room were quite good, well-prepared and nicely presented. The fruit on the breakfast buffet was quite fresh and delicious. The wait staff is extremely friendly and anxious to please. The Lodge is perfectly located for access to many excellent hikes, horseback riding and Going-To-The-Sun Road. You do have to drive a few miles to get to Two Medicine Lake hikes, which are the closest ones to the hotel. These are beautiful trails, so well-worth the time to get to them. Amtrak delivers guests right to the front door. There are a couple of rental car agencies in East Glacier if you arrive by train and need transportation. The famous Red Buses are also available for tours of the Park. Tours and activities can be easily arranged at the front desk. The general atmosphere of the Lodge is quite inviting.

Rooms are, of course, quite dated. Our double queen room was on the 3rd level....no elevators...felt sorry for our bellboy who had to hustle our heavy luggage (several weeks on the road does not permit traveling light) all the way up. Our double queen room was spacious, but had small ribbon windows and no balcony. Small closet and super small bathrooms, so limited laydown space, making it necessary to work out of your suitcase with a minimum of unpacking.
The biggest negative is the lack of sound-proofing. The walls are paper thin and it is impossible to talk at a normal tone without your neighbors hearing you. In fact, we returned from downstairs one evening around 9:30, and as soon as we unlocked our door and walked into the room, we had a knock on the adjoining door telling us to get quiet because they were trying to sleep! Then someone on the other side of us must have dropped a pocketful of change on the floor and we could have sworn they were in our room. If the Lodge remodels, we do hope that they find a way to provide a bit more privacy for their guests.

The experience of staying at any of the lodges in the Park is worth some inconvenience. Just be prepared for basic accommodations, but enjoy a lovely time in one of the most beautiful parks in the U. S. We never tire of the majesty of the scenery here in Glacier.

Room Tip: For those of you who cannot manage stairs, be aware that there is no elevator in this Lodge. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at 3 different Glacier Park Inc. properties while we were in Glacier, this being the last one. When we pulled up to it, we were in awe. It looks gorgeous, and seemed well worth the VERY high price. Then we got inside. There was one person working at the front desk, and 7 people in line to check in, so it was a VERY slow check in. The main part of the lodge is nice, but not as nice as Many Glacier. The rooms are horrible. They are dated, cramped, and uncomfortable. The beds are horrible, but the rooms are so nosiy you can't sleep anyway! We went downstairs to listen to some music, only to find 2 bats flying around the gift shop/great room area. I know that some new company just won the contract for all the Glacier Park properties, so I hope they make some BIG changes, because this place turned out to be a dump.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, don't get a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerrylandMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear MerrylandMama,

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Glacier Park Lodge. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the grounds of the property, however, we were disappointed to read of your unpleasant experience inside. It is unusual for there to be only one person during check-in and and apologize for the long wait. We understand that our guests enjoy a quick check-in process, so they can carry on with their plans during their trip. It is also very unusual to hear of the bats flying around the gift shop. We apologize for the distraction. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park, Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
csunell@glacierparkinc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
258 reviews
21.2 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
585 reviews
12 mi away
Glacier Peaks Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
244 reviews
22.9 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Lodge

Address: 499 Mt-49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range: $217 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the western charm of the historic Glacier Park Lodge, which was completed in 1913. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery makes Glacier Park Lodge a truly unique vacation destination. Although steeped in culture and history of the Great Northern Railway and Blackfeet Indians, Glacier Park Lodge features modern amenities such as a heated swimming pool, nine-hole golf course, in-room telephones, nine-hole pitch-n-putt golf course, gift shop, lounge and the outstanding Great Northern Rib and Steak House. Glacier Park Lodge is in East Glacier Park, Montana on Highway 2. Glacier Park Amtrak Train Station is located just across the street from the hotel where guests are picked up daily in our antique red Checker taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glacier Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Hotel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing