We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was amazing, Rude/incosiderate guests ruined the stay”
Review of Glacier Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glacier Park Lodge
Reviewed June 29, 2008

This review is for the East Glacier Park Lodge.

Bottom line? Tourists too often leave their brains, common sense and common courtesy at home when going on vacation. Visiting a hotel with thin walls AND rude guests is just a recipe for a bad experience.

I'm sure you already know that the building is absolutely beautiful, the main hall is VERY impressive/grand and the view is fantastic. You may also already know that the hotel is closing in on 100 years old and has thin walls as well as retrofitted bathrooms/indoor plumbing. This is all part of the charm and character of the building and I have nothing bad to say about the hotel itself. The room was great, we shared a balcony with only one other room and had an amazing view of the mountains. Our room was quite large too, though the bathroom was small compared with todays standards. I had a hard time taking a shower in the very small stall, but I'm also 6'4" and athletic in build (wide shoulders)... though my 5'2" and slim wife said she had no idea how I could have showered in there.

The main complaint about the experience of staying in the hotel were the Other guests. Since there's no way you can control other people, you are very likely to encounter the same issues we found. Parents who don't parent, their kids running wild through the entire hotel. Running down hall ways and up and down stairs, screaming and generally being as annoying as possible and disturbing people in all directions were the worst. The hotel was FILLED with these families. Then there were the people who drug their rolling suitcases down the stairs in the morning... obviously so out of shape that they couldn't lift their 80 pound bag, filled with junk they never needed, and disrupting the rest of anyone within 100 feet of the stairs. I've never been more disgusted with humans than while staying at this lovely historic hotel. And to think that travel is supposed to be Down due to the falling dollar and rising fuel costs! I just can't even imagine how much worse this building is during peak season.

If you're into "families" and can deal with unrestrained brat kids, then maybe you can still enjoy this lodging. On the other hand, if you value civilized behavior, along with peace and quiet, then you would be well advised to stay far, far away from this hotel. Visit and take pictures, enjoy dinner or a round of golf... but find somewhere else where you can actually get more than a couple of hours of sleep.

With any luck, the cost of living and travel will soon make it prohibitively expensive for irksome families to travel and the experience will improve for the rest of us. One can only hope that occurs sooner rather than later. In the mean time, if you're a couple looking for a romantic, quiet get-away, please look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrianMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2008

The Glacier Park Lodge in East Glacier is a major treat, but there are some provisos. If you demand a neat perfect hotel, this is not for you. If you want fine dining and grand hotel amenities, go elsewhere. BUT if you want to experience some real honest to God American history, and do it in pretty good comfort, this is a fine place. (I dare say, this advice holds for most park lodges). Park lodges, like this one, were built nearly a century ago, usually near rail stops. and as such, while they have been modernized, they are not Marriotts. But this is a part of Americana you just don't find much elsewhere in the land. The main lodge building is a huge two story interior, open in the center, massive tree trunks holding it up, wonderful light, and huge fire places. In the grand old days, you stepped off the Empire Builder train about 300 yards outside the main entrance, and either walked or took a carriage up to the front. You still can although the trains do not run on time, of course, and arrival times seem all over the place. Most folks of course, arrive by car. When we were there, the train station had a very cute rambunctious St Bernard puppy to greet all visitors. The front was carpeted in flowers and lawn and still is, to a large degree. The service staff is quite good and helpful. We were put in a room right in front of the ice machine, never a good thing, and you would just not believe the amount of ice folks seem to need late at night. Next day, I asked (and being nice always helps) if it were possible to be put in a different room. Indeed, and we got a nice one at the end of the hallway, with a balcony. Good thing to remember and ask for. The rooms are lodgy, open plumbing runs across the ceiling, baths are updated with shower stalls, but see the top of this piece: you did not agree to stay in a Marriott, ok? There is a nice pool for a cooling dip in the summer heat, on the balcony, have a drink and watch the thunderstorms roar through and clear. The restaurant is quite good for a national park effort; you won't find foodies flocking to the door but you won't be disappointed either. At the end of a long day enjoying the wild, swimming in the lakes or boating or hiking, you come back here, grab a shower, spruce up and have a drink on the veranda or on your own balcony, and listen to the world go by. And the stars at night, are indeed big and bright. It does not get much better than this anywhere I have been in this world. Prices are not low for all of this, but then again, you know the prices when you enter into the bargain. Bottom line: yes, you can stay nearby for less at motels and cabins, many of them interestingly uncomfortable, but you won't be in a lodge in which to laze about. Which, for me, after all, is the whole point of a vacation. To be lazy. We will go back in a heartbeat when our schedules permit.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travel035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I agree with most of the other reviews, the public rooms were wonderful, but the bedrooms were poor,and not very clean.We had an annex room which was tired.We had to wait too long in line to get a table in the dining room. why on earth can't they allow booking of tables? when we told the waitress that we were starving, she served us very quickly.
we booked this through Xanterra,but they do not run this, and we paid more than if we had booked directly with Glacier Park.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank dobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Spending two nights at the Glacier Park Lodge in Montana was one of the high points of our cross country train trip this September. My husband is in a wheel chair therefore we are somewhat limited in our travel options. Luckily he loves trains, and when I found out that the Empire Builder stops right at East Glacier it was a perfect stopover along our trip from Boston Ma to Seattle WA. The grandeur of the hotel has been noted by many of trip advisor's entries so I won't expound on that, but I would like to focus on the accommodations for my husband. We were picked up right at the station and taken to the lodge, then given a great room #106 on the main level. A corner room with two double beds and a huge bathroom (large enough for the wheelchair to be in with no problems) and very clean. I cannot say enough good things about the staff, friendly and very helpful in all ways. Frankly I had read some very negative remarks on this site about the lodge and I was appehensive but decided to take a chance on staying there. I am so glad I did!!! Otherwise we would have missed a golden opportunity to see one of the most beautiful places in America. Go there if you can, you wont be sorry

3  Thank nhlady68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

If you are looking for all the modern convenieces of a hotel/motel, this place is not for you. There are no elevators, coffee makers, hair dryers, TV, WI-Fi or internet access. Our room was large and access to a large verandah, however the bathroom was very small - very small sink and shower. We had to put our toiletries on the window ledge. Since there are no elevators and we were on the top floor of the northern wing, the bell hop had to cart our luggage to the steps and then carry each item up 2 flights of steps to our room.

As in my title, the hotel is very majestic - the lobby is spectacular and very homey - lots of places to sit and read or visit with other guests. They have a very nice gift shop and a little general store, where you can purchase coffee and breakfast items and they open early in the morning.

The hotel has a nice lounge where you can order food from a grill menu - we ate in the lounge the first night there and the food was very good. There is also their regular restaurant, however we did not eat there - the menu was a little pricey and nothing appealed to us. There are some restaurants within walking distance on the main street of East Glacier, one being Serrano's, a Mexica n restaurtant - we heard it was very good but a long wait time every night.

The hotel staff was VERY friendly. We arrived 2 hours ahead of the normal check in time, however they accomodated us and put us in a room upon our arrival. We booked a special rate they had advertised on their website and unfortunately we were given a room on the top level of the northern wing and as far away from the lobby as you could get. We did find a parking lot in the back of the building, which was closer to our room, however you had to climb 3 very steep flights of narrow wooden steps to get to our floor. Would you believe my 75 year old husband collaseped/fainted the second night when we returned from dinner and climbing all those steps. He suffered a cut to his head but he seemed to be OK - very scary.

We had friends that recommened this hotel to us, however I would probably not stay at the hotel again. I am just one that likes all the amenities a modern hotel offers. The other lodges in the park seemed a little nicer, so we might opt for one of those next time - especially the Many Glacier Lodge.

One more thing-we took a tour through the hotel on the Little Red Bus. It was called the Big Circle Sky tour - it was an all day tour - $75/person - well worth the time and money.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank WDMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

We stayed at the GPL for one night. Room was outdated, bathroom had only a tiny shower stall...if you are even slightly overweight, don't plan on being able to take a shower! Housekeeping invaded our room at 8:00 in the morning even though it was obvvious we had not checked out. Windows were tiny. Basically room was way overpriced for its spartaness. BUT...the lobby with the huge wood timbers was impressive and filled with character. Reading nooks were cozy and plentiful and the huge fire in the stone fireplace in the evenings was relaxing, Cozy and made you feel like you were a traveler in the old days. We stayed at two of the park lodges: Many Glaceir and Glacier Park Lodge. I would return to Many Glacier but probably not to this one.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelkat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Just returned from a four day stay in East Glacier at the Glacier Park Lodge. I was a little apprehensive about our stay after reading some earlier reviews, but my wife and I had a terrific time. Check in at the hotel was very smooth and the staff was extremely helpful in answering our questions about attractions, etc. The lodge was built in the early 1900's and is a beautiful old structure that is well cared for and a great piece of history. We had an annex room with a queen bed, desk, and bathroom. The bathroom was small, but the plumbing worked fine. The staff was mostly college aged from the US and other countries, but they were very attentive and knowledgable. The rooms are pricey. Ours was $200 per night with all of the taxes added on. You will not get Hilton services for this price, but you do get a chance to stay in a historic setting surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery in the United States.

We never ate at the lodge because of the horrible reviews that we had read about the food. We at breakfast each morning at the Villager Restaurant in town, which is a short walk from the lodge. The food there is home cooked and excellent. Highly recommend the pancakes! There is a wonderful Mexican restaurant in town called Serrano's. We ate there twice and they had excellent food.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank veggie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
21.2 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
257 reviews
12.0 mi away
Glacier Peaks Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
244 reviews
22.9 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Park Lodge

Address: 499 Mt-49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range: $217 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the western charm of the historic Glacier Park Lodge, which was completed in 1913. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery makes Glacier Park Lodge a truly unique vacation destination. Although steeped in culture and history of the Great Northern Railway and Blackfeet Indians, Glacier Park Lodge features modern amenities such as a heated swimming pool, nine-hole golf course, in-room telephones, nine-hole pitch-n-putt golf course, gift shop, lounge and the outstanding Great Northern Rib and Steak House. Glacier Park Lodge is in East Glacier Park, Montana on Highway 2. Glacier Park Amtrak Train Station is located just across the street from the hotel where guests are picked up daily in our antique red Checker taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Glacier Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Park Hotel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing