We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glacier Park Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Dancing Bears Inn(East Glacier Park)
$149
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Glacier Motel & Cabins(East Glacier Park)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Pine Motel(East Glacier Park)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Izaak Walton Inn(Essex)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Whistling Swan Motel(East Glacier Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sears Motel and Campground(East Glacier Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Circle R Motel(East Glacier Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveler rating
301
376
251
124
98
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
376
251
124
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hoteldining roomfront lawntree trunksgrounds are beautifulguest roomscommon areasdouglas firoutdoor poolmain lobbythe red bus tourpitch and puttmodern conveniencesgift shoptrain stationempire builderrooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
917 - 922 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent one night at the lodge with a group of 28 with Rockporttours.com. From the time we stepped of the train and so saw the lodge to the time we left we had a great time.We had to wait for our rooms to be ready so we walked to the little town on the other side of the tracks. When we arrived rooms were not ready but cookies were ready. When we go to our rooms in the it was like stepping back in time.Our room was to the side of the main lodge on the ground floor. It was a huge room with two queen beds. They were really comfortable. The bathroom was a good size for a hotel of this age. We loved to that we could go outside and side on the porch and enjoy the cool weather. The views were something out of a dream. We truely loved this hotel. No internet and no TV but the grounds were were so pretty. All the flowers. We slept so well and our package included breakfast in the main dinning area. The food was really good. The hotel was more then what i had expected. Would love to go back and spend more time.

Room Tip: You have to remember you are in the mountains and no tv or internet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajnTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were thrilled when we grabbed a last minute cancellation on a recent trip through G.N.P. and equally awed when we drove up to the property and took in the magnificent lodge. The exterior and interior great room are stunning and should not be missed as the ambience transports you back to an elegant past.

We garnered a first floor room (#515) in the annex and the breezeway between buildings was a lovely public space as well. The lack of elevators could certainly be an issue – especially if you’re on an upper floor. We were pleased with the (very) large porch off our room and took advantage of the view (garden and pitch-n-putt golf) with beverages as the sun set. The room was actually quite large – but that mostly just made the lack of furniture/amenities more obvious (even with two queen beds). There was absolutely no where to put suitcases other than on the floor which was a little odd. The hard wood floors (probably original) were nice but a small area rug would be nice on chilly mornings and our room had a water damaged area (near window) that could use some repair. A large walk in closet seemed like an amazing waste of space – especially with the cramped adjoining bathroom. The bathroom was extremely tight (especially the shower stall) and while the original fixtures were quaint – they would be more service-able if upgraded.

We had dinner in the lovely dinning room where the service was excellent (Kaitlin was a super star) and we enjoyed a gorgeous window table. The meal was mostly average especially for the higher than average cost. We also had breakfast which was delicious and hearty – but our server was mostly A.W.O.L. The loud (lousy) music in the dining room at breakfast was really unnecessary (and other guests asked for it to be turned down – only to be turned back up?).

One real distraction, that was most notable in the dining room, was the use of fluorescent lighting throughout the hotel. While the use of energy saving fixtures should be commended – it unfortunately ruined the ambiance. The cool fluorescent light in the dining room transformed the space into the equivalent of a fast food outlet and the lodge rooms into a mostly Motel 6 mood.

Another bummer we discovered (early) in the morning was that our shared porch was also the gathering spot for tour bus groups. Came back from breakfast to find luggage and guests piled up outside our door and a bus idling (forever). Needless to say – that prompted our departure from the lodge.

Beautiful, elegant, historical and absolutely worth and a peek – just might be more comfortable options for the overnight stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alameda1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Glacier Park Lodge. We take your comments seriously and are committed to ensuring that our guests have a memorable visit. Your comments help us in achieving this goal. We hope you will consider returning to Glacier National Park in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We knew the lodge would be rustic. It was built in 1910. The bathroom was extremely cramped. The space between the toilet and the shower was less than the width of a ring binder. See photo.

The most troublesome issue was finding a dirty wash cloth on the floor when we entered the room. Two phone calls (one hour apart) to the front desk netted promises of someone coming "immediately."After two hours and no action by the hotel, I walked to the front desk and asked for the used wash cloth to be removed. Given that the cost of the room was over $200 I found this totally unacceptable. The hotel offered free breakfast and a lot of blaming others.

The room was pleasant and we enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs on the balcony. The food and service at the restaurant were very good.

No elevator is a real pain when lugging suitcases.

Room Tip: Be prepared for no elevator and to hear people walking in other rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wivoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Glacier Park Lodge. We take your comments seriously and are committed to ensuring that our guests have a memorable visit. Your comments help us in achieving this goal.
We are committed to continuous improvement and delivering the best experience possible and I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered. Please be assured that I have shared your comments with our Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Unfortunately, our room on the third (and last) floor was facing the train station through which trains were passing all night. Here we had to decide whether to close the window and sleep in the heat (no air condition available and the ventilator as loud as the trains). It is fine if you take strong sleeping pills with you.
No wifi was available. Even being on holiday we were in need to check / answer emails. Nearby coffee shops / restaurants provided internet connections, thus we had our breakfasts and some dinners outside the hotel.
Very friendly students were taking care of the guests. The rustic hotel is beautiful from an achitect. Point of view, a must to visit it. Bathrooms are quite tiny, but that is what we expected from an old hotel, as well as the absence of a TV monitor in the room.
The one dinner in the restaurant was good and not too expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the main entrance (towards the train station)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbernal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at Glacier Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, but disappointed to read
that the room you were in at Glacier Park Lodge was not quite as restful as it
should have been. We do appreciate your other positive comments about the staff, it’s always gratifying to read that our employees are providing quality care for our guests. We value your opinions and patronage and do hope that we have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Visited this 100 year old hotel for first time----stayed a week and used as base for Glacier National Park. We have been to Glacier before--so knew what the old lodges were like. The natural beauty and history are what we were after----those who only travel in style would not like. Food and service were great---people could not be nicer----Montana IS different!!!

Room Tip: Try and get 1st floor---was hot and no A/C in lodge---we had a large room on 1st floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews