We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Gem in East Glacier Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain Pine Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Surprising Gem in East Glacier Village”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent four nights at the Mountain Pine Motel in August 2013 as part of a six week trip through North Western USA. The characterful motel benefits from a quiet location on the edge of East Glacier village and was an excellent base from which to explore the eastern end of Glacier National Park. Our room was comfortably furnished and exceptionally well serviced. Although there is no AC it was not needed. The effective heating system did, though, prove useful on cooler nights. Bug screens meant that windows could be left open as required. Nothing was too much trouble for the very hospitable and helpful owner and his family who also provided much useful local information. Interestingly, we also stayed on the west side of Glacier National Park where accommodation was considerably more expensive. We would highly recommend the Mountain Pine. Of the local restaurants, Lunas (two minutes walk away) and, our favourite, Buffalo Creek (2 miles south on highway 2) provided good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    147
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
76
174
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Glacier National Park. We didn't want this trip to break the bank but we wanted to stay some place clean, quiet and close to the Park. Mountain Pine Motel was the perfect choice. Nothing fancy but if an immaculately clean and a well managed place to stay is what you are looking for-this is it. The owner, Terry Sherburne, is a great guy-helpful and accommodating. The Mountain Pine is close to restaurants, Dollar Car Rental, laundry and small local stores. The historic East Glacier Lodge is within walking distance. The lodge offers daily tours to anywhere in the Park. As far as TV is concerned, you can watch TV at home!! The gorgeous sights of Glacier National Park await you! The Mountain Pine Motel is a relaxing and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElaineFN_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Okay fellow travelers, I have now lost count of the number of times ( at least 10) I have traveled from Virginia to stay numerous nights at the Mountain Pine Motel. I don't believe I will ever be able to say enough about its charming atmosphere and pristinely clean rooms. The aura and energy of the place with its lovely lawn and its lovely owners are actually the best lure of the place.

Certainly, if you want to pay twice the nightly rate and want paper-thin walls, go on down to the Glacier Park Lodge. My family and I prefer to walk down there to enjoy the lounge and the lobby because staying there once was enough for us.

If you want to enjoy a modern facility with a cosmopolitan atmosphere and cutting edge design offered in big city hotels, just don't go to Glacier Park at all because there is no such place in the entire area. And if you want to watch T.V., stare at your computer or stay in touch with the present era, just stay home. The whole point of coming to Glacier Park and this charming motel to begin with is to tune out the rest of the world....but that is my opinion. I love Mountain Pine and everything it has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Foamergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were invited to a wedding in East Glacier, MT, and the locals referred us to Sherburne's Mountain Pines Motel. Operated by the friendly and helpful Sherburne family, it is a spartan property which is impeccably maintained by its owners. Amenities don't abound, but they aren't needed (TV service is minimal, cell service non-existent), and the entire property was in tip top condition and clean as a whistle. Shower water pressure was excellent, also. The Sherburnes are knowledgeable about the area and you won't find a friendlier gang. The Glacier Park Lodge is a park system option down the road that appears nicer than Mountain Pines, but rooms are tiny, quality of food is poor and no TVs. Locals prefer to stay with the Sherburnes. There are multiple dining options within a short walk of the motel. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MorayJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stay at this motel! It is just what you need if you are just looking for a place to sleep. There is nothing fancy, but everything is in great condition. You can tell the owners have taken care of everything they own for many years. We LOVED the area. EAT AT LUNA'S! We ate there for breakfast twice and for lunch once. We tried the Whistle Stop once for lunch and wish we would have just went to Luna's again. It is such a great area and there are several shops and restaurants within walking distance. Such a neat experience to stay in an old fashioned motel such as Mountain Pine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ash922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The Mountain Pine Motel has a very inviting presence, and the experience does not stop there. This is an older motel, but it has truly been maintained extremely well. The rooms were super clean and comfortable, and the owners were so nice and helpful. We will be back again someday!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Would always prefer to stay in the National Park, but this was a great alternative that was relatively bargained price for the middle of summer. The room was large and clean but the internet was pretty much worthless. Note: they don't provide shampoo and some have said they don't supply soap, but we had it. Owner was very nice and helpful and provided touring ideas.

East Glacier Park is...meh. Check out the Glacier Park Lodge...that's about it. But definitely take the boat tour of Two Medicine Lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iownit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.6 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
248 reviews
21.3 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
561 reviews
20.7 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in East Glacier Park
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Pine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Pine Motel

Property: Mountain Pine Motel
Address: Highway 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Pine Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountain Pine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Pine Hotel East Glacier Park
Hotel Mountain Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing