We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel near East Glacier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Pine Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at this neat clean motel for three nights on my trip to Glacier park. This motel was set in a green flowery woodsy setting. My room was very comfortable and clean. The owner was very helpful on local suggestions as well as giving us info and brochures on Glacier. This was a great gem of a motel for exploring East Glacier. I would definitely consider this lodging when revisiting the area

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 367 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Spent three nights with family at the Mountain Pine based on simple hotel needs and strong Tripadvisor reviews. While we were not disappointed, we will probably look elsewhere for any future stays.

To begin, service was as many have reported, amazing. The elderly couple who run the motel are terrific, and will bend over backwards to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. They will readily give you advice on anything, where to visit, hike, eat, etc and will listen to any concerns you may have. For example, upon arrival we mistakenly thought there was a microwave in the room, and although this was never advertised he provided one promptly free without question.

The room itself, a two queen in our case, was appropriately sized; slightly bigger than your run of the mill chain-hotel. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of outlets, however the decor and TV were both very outdated. Wifi is available and free, and I found the speed to be surprisingly quick given the somewhat remote location. The shower/bath was separate from the sink, a feature our family enjoys, however the shower head was rather low. Also, while water pressure was much better than average, water temperature was prone to random fluctuations if your neighbor decides to shower at the same time you do. We were surprised to find shampoo/conditioner was not automatically stocked in the bathroom, and while I'm sure it was available at the front desk we ended up using our own.

Moving on to sleep quality, the beds were truly comfortable and warm. However, there is only a generic old-fashioned heating system in the room, with no fan or A/C unit (not that you would likely need the latter). While this was fine for our stay, the lack of any white noise made for an extremely quiet environment. For couples or single travelers this is great, but with kids moving around kicking sheets or noisy neighbors this could lead to some difficulty falling asleep.

Generically speaking I would highly recommend staying in East Glacier over other Glacier N.P. locations. While you are around 30-45min away from attractions like Going-To-The-Sun road and Many Glacier, the drive to these locations is stunning; and nearby Two Medicine is an often overlooked beautiful location.

To conclude this hotel gets a 4 out of 5 simply because its outdated rooms and limited amenities are not up to my 5 rating standards. However, with amazing service, fair price, and awesome location I still highly recommend this location for a wide variety of visitors. Enjoy the mountains!

Room Tip: Above review based on room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank weatherguy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have to say up front that we did not end up staying here but we did check in and back out. Although we were charged by mistake in the process, the owner was very quick to credit our account as soon as I contacted him. He could have, understandably, charged us for the short notice in canceling our stay.

The options in East Glacier are EXTREMELY limited so if you're a bit picky, like me, you should plan on adjusting your expectations or traveling some distance to get to the east side of the park from where you are staying.

The Mountain Pine Motel is straight out of the 50's and while clean looks kind of like it hasn't been updated since. It is a classic Motel (with a capitol M) and the room looked like bathrooms may have been added sometime after they were built. They are shower only and the small CRT TV can only be seen from one bed. While you might question why you would be watching TV in a beautiful national park, but after a long day of driving and hiking some feet up, down time was needed. Also, East Glacier is not a place where there are shops to stroll in or parks to sit in.

This is not a BAD place to stay. Just not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2ndstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is the second time we stayed here and will certainly go back. It is a family owned hotel in the middle of East Glacier. It is close to the park entrance and the owners are eager to help you with things to do in the area.. The rooms are inexpensive and very clean. They don't have places to eat, etc - but right across the street is Brownies Store, where they have the best danish in the world. It is also by the laundry in town, in case you need to wash clothing.

Room Tip: Don't be put off if this place doesn't have a five start rating. It is super clean, run by a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chancelund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The first thing we want to say is this motel... not a 5 start resort.
The buildings are set in the northern part of East Glacier and set off from neighbors by pine trees. The buildings themselves are showing their Montana age, but inside the rooms were very nice. The only complaint in one of our rooms was (and I'm about 6'1") the shower head. Even my 5'4" tall wife had to squat a bit to get her hair washed.

The owners were very friendly and helpful when it came to answer questions or making suggestions about the area.

With a family of 5 rooms are often hard to come by. We had one of their "suites" (two adjoining rooms) which gave us plenty of room and everyone got to sleep in a bed. And the price was only slightly more than we paid at other "value" hotels on our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rattlebones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I were the Mountain Pine's first guests of the 2013 season. Terry, Cole and Mrs Doris are the archetype of "host." Could not have been more accommodating to us.

Our room was sparkly clean, spacious and well cared for. They obviously want to make their guests feel comfortable.

We found the Mountain Pine by random choice - but we'd go back and will recommend them to friends.

Gene Williams
Tallahassee, Florida

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room was clean and quiet although not so spacious. Different furniture and chairs could made the room feel a bit more spacious. The rate is quite inexpensive. The location good. The hosts were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pika_candid_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.6 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
254 reviews
21.3 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
583 reviews
20.7 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in East Glacier Park
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Pine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Pine Motel

Address: Highway 49, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in East Glacier Park
Price Range: $81 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Pine Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain Pine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Pine Hotel East Glacier Park
Hotel Mountain Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing