We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little room but lack of amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jacobson's Cottages
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice little room but lack of amenities”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed one night. The room was very clean but lacked amenities like hot water to make a drink. Very nice setting but a little disappointing. Lady owner a bit odd and not that friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

From other reviews, I was hesitant. Once we stepped into our #3, all I can say is that we enjoyed a charming room and surroundings. Clean. Good price @ $61 on 9/18/11. I really enjoyed the cabin privacy ambiance: no adjacent room noises. There is no wi-fi, but folks can walk to Brownie's, about a block away. Otherwise, take a walk since restaurants and great views are within reach. I would return to this place and take a step back to enjoy the simplicity. The room decorations were sweet and sort of kitsch.

Room Tip: Room #3 was quiet and near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The idea of staying in a cottage in the mountains holds an idealic appeal to me. Unfortunately Jacobson's Cottages did not come close to fulfilling my expectations. Here are my complaints:
1. Our unit (#10) has two rooms with two queen-sized beds. One of the rooms has a table and chairs and tv. The other room has a heater in the wall with a refrigerator about 6 inches away from the heater. The evening we stayed at the cottage was quite cool and we needed the heater on. It took a long time for the heat to reach the room where we were sitting at the table and consequently the refrigerator became very hot. I was afraid of fire breaking out in the wiring so I turned off the heater and remained cool for the whole evening.
2. The beds are too firm to sleep comfortably. We both tossed and turned most of the night trying to get comfortable. Likewise the pillows, which needed to be doubled over to get any thickness.
3. The most annoying of all was when I checked-out in the morning I told the owner that the toilet has a slow leak and refills itself with a whooshing sound about every 10 minutes which kept us awake. She told me she is aware of the plumbing problem and they must get it repaired.
4. Another plumbing issue was the water temperature in the shower. It was either scalding hot or icy cold, with about 2 seconds of just right in between.
All in all, not a good experience. Find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The cottages are petit, but the ones we stayed in had two queen beds, plus a bathroom and a microwave and fridge. They are definitely a little outdated, but they're clean and nice. It's pretty affordable, at around $80 a night per cabin, and it's family-run. Upon check-out we did have to wait quite a while because they were easily overwhelmed when several customers needed help at once.

The only (small) problems we had were:
* Our cabin was right next to the road; literally about 4 feet off of the road, so every truck that drove by was loud. (Cabin #9)
* The water temp in the showers was either scalding hot, or very cold.
* The toilet in our room became clogged easily (with only tp!) and we had to ask for a plunger.
* Either coyotes or dogs barked at length during the night, but it's not like the motel can help that.

It's not a bad place to stay, and seems like it'd be good for a family. It's near to a couple of different places to eat.

However, for myself and my family, if I return I'll save up and make reservations well in advance in order to stay at the East Glacier lodge, or even Many-Glacier lodge.

All in all, it's not the best, but can be quite adequate for someone on a budget.

Room Tip: We brought blankets and pillows, etc, from home (Spokane, WA) which made the rooms seem a bit nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsAtkins85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had a brand new 2 bed cabin with bath that was well-insulated. It's located at the quiet end of town. You can walk to the Whistle Stop which is a good restaurant. The proprietors (heavy smokers) were helpful, when needed. We were hiking in Glacier N.P. and realized, belatedly, that we should've stayed closer to the Many Glacier section of the Park. If you are staying in East Glacier, this is a decent option.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilytooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This place is cheaper than some other options, which is in it's favor, and we eventually got hot water, but it is worse than your standard Days Inn or budget hotel. I did like the exterior - with all the cottages going round in a horseshoe - but the inside was simply outdated. I don't particularly need a TV, but the one in there must have been from the early 1990s. The couch inside was a little dirty and the beds were really springy.

We did not encounter any serious problems with the room that would make it deserve 1 star, but this place is nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RainyDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Very clean (we stayed in #3), great location, friendly staff, and a step back in time. Regarding value, I compare it to Motel 6--no frills but they do the basics very well.

Room Tip: We stayed in #3--very clean, nice towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praline39588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
0.8 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
248 reviews
21.3 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in East Glacier Park
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#4 of 10 in East Glacier Park
963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobson's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobson's Cottages

Property: Jacobson's Cottages
Address: 1204 Highway 49, P.O. Box 216, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jacobson's Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Jacobson's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacobson`s Cottages Hotel East Glacier Park
Jacobsons Hotel East Glacier Park
Jacobsons Motel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing