We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, Beautiful, True Mountain West Hospitality”
Review of Bison Creek Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Glacier Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bison Creek Ranch
East Glacier Park, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rustic, Beautiful, True Mountain West Hospitality”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Bison Creek Ranch was great- A-frame cabin was clean- comfortable beds, huge lawn area- food was excellent in the restaurant- great steaks, fried chicken, omelets, sausage, huckleberry rolls and pancakes, etc. made from scratch. Owner and family very classy , and just had wonderful warmth and friendliness- other A-frames close by but had friendly Canadians who petted our dogs and shared the grill- very quieit nights with distant train rolling by a few times- A very tame, friendly horse roamed free on the lawn and let you pet it- the 2 pug dogs and spaniel were friendly but a little intimidated by our 2 huge golden lab and malamute/chow cross dogs-great old road to hike up behind the cabins to the river- town was close by for ice, beer, gas etc. Glacier Park was beautiful- Great photos of Mountain Goats, grizzly bear, antelope, buffalo, saw a bighorn sheep jump the highway, and a moose- saw amazing Blackfoot Indian artifacts and artwork in Browning- love to go back- thanks!

Room Tip: A-frames bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrizzlyGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halsey, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in mid September, 2011. The rural setting, quiet and scenic was just right. The rooms were very clean (we stayed in one of the older cabins) albeit rustic, but that is just what we wanted. For $65.00 per night in the East Glacier area, with a very nice breakfast included, that is definitely a bargain. The host is a very congenial and interesting man, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit there. I would definitely recommend this facility and would return there when in the area.

Room Tip: This is not a luxury set up, but it is definitely CLEAN, comfortable, and more than sufficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Spent one night there and although Keith the host was very pleasant, would not recommend staying there. We had one of the 'Gandy Dancer' cabins and were throuroughly turned off by how unclean it was, especially for the price. Rate was $95/night and we also had to pay additional $24 for our two toddlers (both under 4) I wouldn't let my children take their shoes off it was so filthy - bug carcasses throughout, cob webs in the kitchen, bathroon hadn't been cleaned from previous guests (not our short black hairs in the sink....) . The shower water kept warm for only roughly 5 minutes. I guess if I hadn't had shelter for a couple weeks I'd be more appreciative, but unless you like bugs and dirty living quarters, plan to go somewhere else. Beds were not very comfortable either, very poor mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Had a magical time. Perfect place to escape to. No phone, no WiFI, no TV, no AC, no pool, no crowds, modest price. Loved It!
Two seniors expecting to camp stumbled on this fantistic cottage colony and stayed
3 nights, didn't want to leave. Quiet setting, great views, clean and neat cabins, owners on sight are good folks. Breakfast included. Dining room offeded awesome menue - cooked to your request by a great cook.
Kid and dog friendly - all blends with the "Inn" cat, 2 dogs, and wandering horses.
Will return. The Traudt's.

Room Tip: It's a blend of 1950's & 60's - Route 66 meets Andy Griffith - perfect step back in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wornham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Very friendly hosts, good food, and decent accommodations. The grand kids really liked this place even though there was no internet or cell phone service. Because Amtrak was 8 hours late, we arrived at 2:30am, but owner was waiting up for us. This kind of friendly family welcome pervaded place. Breakfasts very good (although you take what you get) and dining room had good family dinners. We all though it was a great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGranddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We have stayed here twice, and we LOVE this place!! It is a family owned business, and the family is very nice. They got (I believe) 3 dogs and a cat that are very sweet and good to people. I played fetch with one of them! They offer the best free breakfast ever that I know of -- it's a hot breakfast, too, by the way, that they switch up every morning. They run a restaurant that opens in the evenings, so you can have dinner there too. Great dinners too! It's secluded and smaller than other lodging places. Great place to view millions of stars on a clear night. Cabins are cozy. Hot water. Flushable toilets. If you like being out in nature, in a serene area, with not a lot of city distractions, this is the place for you! If you love TV and Wi-fi, maybe not.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colbyRachmaninoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Had a one night stay at Bison Creek Lodge and would not stay with them again or recommend it to anyone else.
The chalet was not very clean (cob webs) and the bathroom was way too small even for average sized persons. The ceiling fan switch is positioned very high and I had to stand on a chair to reach it. In addition, the door knobs and locks need attention. We had great difficulty getting the door unlocked from the inside. Had there been a fire, we no doubt would have had to break a window to exit.
However, the dinner at their restaurant was very good and priced reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noladyohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
2.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
229 reviews
19.5 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
541 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
224 reviews
2.5 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#3 of 6 in East Glacier Park
74 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bison Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bison Creek Ranch

Property: Bison Creek Ranch
Address: 20722 US Hwy #2 W, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bison Creek Bed & Breakfast is a family owned business, originated by the Schauf family in 1952. We are located 1 3/4 miles W of East Glacier Park, MT on US Hwy 2. Quite out of town location with over 200 acres to roam, great views, and focused on Montana hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bison Creek Ranch Hotel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing