We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again - NOT recommended”
Review of Bison Creek Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Glacier Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bison Creek Ranch
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Spent one night there and although Keith the host was very pleasant, would not recommend staying there. We had one of the 'Gandy Dancer' cabins and were throuroughly turned off by how unclean it was, especially for the price. Rate was $95/night and we also had to pay additional $24 for our two toddlers (both under 4) I wouldn't let my children take their shoes off it was so filthy - bug carcasses throughout, cob webs in the kitchen, bathroon hadn't been cleaned from previous guests (not our short black hairs in the sink....) . The shower water kept warm for only roughly 5 minutes. I guess if I hadn't had shelter for a couple weeks I'd be more appreciative, but unless you like bugs and dirty living quarters, plan to go somewhere else. Beds were not very comfortable either, very poor mattresses.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 71 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

Had a magical time. Perfect place to escape to. No phone, no WiFI, no TV, no AC, no pool, no crowds, modest price. Loved It!
Two seniors expecting to camp stumbled on this fantistic cottage colony and stayed
3 nights, didn't want to leave. Quiet setting, great views, clean and neat cabins, owners on sight are good folks. Breakfast included. Dining room offeded awesome menue - cooked to your request by a great cook.
Kid and dog friendly - all blends with the "Inn" cat, 2 dogs, and wandering horses.
Will return. The Traudt's.

Room Tip: It's a blend of 1950's & 60's - Route 66 meets Andy Griffith - perfect step back in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wornham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Very friendly hosts, good food, and decent accommodations. The grand kids really liked this place even though there was no internet or cell phone service. Because Amtrak was 8 hours late, we arrived at 2:30am, but owner was waiting up for us. This kind of friendly family welcome pervaded place. Breakfasts very good (although you take what you get) and dining room had good family dinners. We all though it was a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGranddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We have stayed here twice, and we LOVE this place!! It is a family owned business, and the family is very nice. They got (I believe) 3 dogs and a cat that are very sweet and good to people. I played fetch with one of them! They offer the best free breakfast ever that I know of -- it's a hot breakfast, too, by the way, that they switch up every morning. They run a restaurant that opens in the evenings, so you can have dinner there too. Great dinners too! It's secluded and smaller than other lodging places. Great place to view millions of stars on a clear night. Cabins are cozy. Hot water. Flushable toilets. If you like being out in nature, in a serene area, with not a lot of city distractions, this is the place for you! If you love TV and Wi-fi, maybe not.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colbyRachmaninoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Had a one night stay at Bison Creek Lodge and would not stay with them again or recommend it to anyone else.
The chalet was not very clean (cob webs) and the bathroom was way too small even for average sized persons. The ceiling fan switch is positioned very high and I had to stand on a chair to reach it. In addition, the door knobs and locks need attention. We had great difficulty getting the door unlocked from the inside. Had there been a fire, we no doubt would have had to break a window to exit.
However, the dinner at their restaurant was very good and priced reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noladyohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Cute little mom and pop establishment. A. frame cabins are dated and not very well built...watch your head when going up stairs! Be careful coming down as well as stairs are very steep. A curious thing...same key opens all A frame cabins and possibility all rustic cabins as well. Don't ask how I found that out as it is a long story. I don't think this is dangerous but then you never know who else is staying there the same night as you...just a heads up not to leave valuables in your cabin.

Breakfast was so-so and the friendly dog Ponder will keep you and any children in your party entertained.

You could do better than this place but then you could do a lot worse. Check it out....it may grow on you.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WVGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at Bison Creek while on vacation to Glacier National Park. It was like going to Grandma and Grandpa's house when you are a little kid. No internet or phones to bother you, just beautiful scenery and hiking. You can really relax like you are a kid again. Nice owners who cook great food. Large lawn for the kids to play on. Friendly dogs and horses for the kids to play with. The rooms and beds were clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, just like being at Grandma and Grandpa's house. No fancy prices, either. Good value, and we will definitely be back to enjoy the nightly campfire and s'mores. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oreegonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
19.5 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
583 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
254 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#4 of 10 in East Glacier Park
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
243 reviews
2.5 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
83 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bison Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bison Creek Ranch

Address: 20722 US Hwy #2 W, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bison Creek Bed & Breakfast is a family owned business, originated by the Schauf family in 1952. We are located 1 3/4 miles W of East Glacier Park, MT on US Hwy 2. Quite out of town location with over 200 acres to roam, great views, and focused on Montana hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bison Creek Ranch Hotel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing