We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not pleased with the condition of the chalet” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bison Creek Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Glacier Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bison Creek Ranch
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not pleased with the condition of the chalet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Had a one night stay at Bison Creek Lodge and would not stay with them again or recommend it to anyone else.
The chalet was not very clean (cob webs) and the bathroom was way too small even for average sized persons. The ceiling fan switch is positioned very high and I had to stand on a chair to reach it. In addition, the door knobs and locks need attention. We had great difficulty getting the door unlocked from the inside. Had there been a fire, we no doubt would have had to break a window to exit.
However, the dinner at their restaurant was very good and priced reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noladyohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Cute little mom and pop establishment. A. frame cabins are dated and not very well built...watch your head when going up stairs! Be careful coming down as well as stairs are very steep. A curious thing...same key opens all A frame cabins and possibility all rustic cabins as well. Don't ask how I found that out as it is a long story. I don't think this is dangerous but then you never know who else is staying there the same night as you...just a heads up not to leave valuables in your cabin.

Breakfast was so-so and the friendly dog Ponder will keep you and any children in your party entertained.

You could do better than this place but then you could do a lot worse. Check it out....it may grow on you.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at Bison Creek while on vacation to Glacier National Park. It was like going to Grandma and Grandpa's house when you are a little kid. No internet or phones to bother you, just beautiful scenery and hiking. You can really relax like you are a kid again. Nice owners who cook great food. Large lawn for the kids to play on. Friendly dogs and horses for the kids to play with. The rooms and beds were clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, just like being at Grandma and Grandpa's house. No fancy prices, either. Good value, and we will definitely be back to enjoy the nightly campfire and s'mores. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oreegonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Bison Creek Ranch was a great place to stay while visiting Glacier National Park. Breakfast was provided and the staff did an excellent job of preparing something different everyday with plenty of coffee and fresh fruit. My favorite was biscuits and gravy. The Evening menu was unique and excellent also. My wifes favorite was the walleye, she ordered it three times during our week stay. The prices were reasonable and the service commendable in a family setting. A real peaceful place to unwind after a hectic day of travel and site seeing.

Helpful?
Thank Marshallr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

I came here with my family and it was perfect. The A-frame cabins were the perfect size for us. They were simple and cozy... just what one needs when going on an adventure. From our porch we had breathtaking views of the park. There was the friendliest dog that greeted us and loved the attention that my little brother gave him. We had breakfast at the in where we talked to Molly one of the family members who runs the Inn and she was just awesome super sweet girl. I highly recommend this Inn as a place to make some lasting memories. And they have really cool horses.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Our room was small, but clean. It had everything we needed for a peaceful night's rest. Dinner was wonderful, and we enjoyed talking with the owner who gave us some great route suggestions to add to our motorcycle ride through the park.

We took a little time to wander around the property and enjoyed the company of a sweet dog as we admired some of the beautiful old buildings and gorgeous views.

This B&B is rustic charm at its best. If you are looking for a Stepford Wives big city hotel look somewhere else. If you want eccentric, fun and friendly you found it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KWBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
415 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed here for a few nights while visiting the Glacier national park. While the setting is great (rural area out of town, very quiet place with great views), the location is far from ideal for visiting the park - nearly an hour's drive to the east entrance of the park and 1.5 hours from Many Glaciers, so it's a long drive to do every day. When we checked into our cabin (an A-frame cabin) we were impressed with the room (nice sitting area with a pullout sofa, small equipped kitchen, a double-bed room, and two twin beds in a loft). We were much less impressed, however, with the cleanliness of the room - the bathroom was not properly cleaned (there was hair in the sink and on the walls), and the used tissue papers under the beds proved that the rooms were not cleaned well either.

While the kitchen had a sink, a stove and an oven, we did miss a microwave. We also discovered that many things were missing from the kitchen - we only had one spoon, the pots/pans had no lids, and the dining table only had 2 chairs (even though the room sleeps 6) so we couldn't all eat comfortably together. We were only provided with half a roll of toilet paper, and while they cleaned the room during our 2-night stay, they didn't provide any more of it.

Also, the beds are not very comfortable, and mosquitoes are a major problem - there are many of them, and due to the structure of the A-Frame cabin (very high ceiling) it's impossible to hunt them.

Breakfast is good if you are flexible - they have a set menu-of-the-day (one cooked item plus bread, fruit, juice and coffee/tea) so you basically have no choices. On our first morning the owner was actually very kind, asked if the kids will eat what's on the menu and did provide us with the substitutes that we asked for. On our 2nd morning, however, when the owner was not around, they wrote down what we had asked for, but then served us all with the standard 'dish of the day' (even though we said specifically that the kids won't eat it). They claimed that “the cook already prepared eggs for everyone” (did he actually pre-cook the scrambled eggs before we got there ??), said that they ran out of milk (when we asked if the kids could have the cereal they had the previous morning), served us different drinks from what we had ordered, and forgot to serve some basics (e.g. teaspoons and coffee creamer) until we specifically asked for them. Apparently the owner of the place cares about hospitality and service much more than his staff does.

To summarize, despite the location which is far from the park entrance, the setting and view are great and the A-frame cabins have a great potential. The owner of the place is very kind, but his staff should become more service-oriented and improve room maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ogol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
1.7 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
20.6 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.8 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelers Rest Lodge
Travelers Rest Lodge
#1 of 10 in East Glacier Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bison Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bison Creek Ranch

Property: Bison Creek Ranch
Address: 20722 US Hwy #2 W, East Glacier Park, MT 59434
Location: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bison Creek Bed & Breakfast is a family owned business, originated by the Schauf family in 1952. We are located 1 3/4 miles W of East Glacier Park, MT on US Hwy 2. Quite out of town location with over 200 acres to roam, great views, and focused on Montana hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bison Creek Ranch Hotel East Glacier Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing